Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Live Use

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2019, 07:40 PM   #1
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,588
Default How Viking Guitar uses REAPER for his live show audio and video

Hi all!

A few weeks ago I got to meet up with Erik to talk before his gig at a game expo. We made this video about his live setup which uses video, an audio backing track, and MIDI patch changes.

There's a bunch of good tips in here like using an image in item notes for an easy visual reference of what song is cued up.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kdEGFxDcqnA



https://reaperblog.net/2019/07/viking-guitar-live/
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 09:43 PM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,132
Default

Great !
Thanks for sharing this.

It might be considered to have Reaper host virtual effects instead of all that hardware cluttering on the stage floor. Pipelineaudio very successfully showed how to do this for his Live Guitar setup.

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 07-17-2019 at 09:54 PM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 11:08 PM   #3
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,588
Default

I think he's just done a show with the guitar processed in reaper as well.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 07:00 AM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,132
Default

Eagerly waiting for your video on that ....

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 08:12 AM   #5
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,588
Default

he lives in another country so it's a bit difficult for us to meet up again.


He posted this recently
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sPUQJpR0-CY
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 11:47 PM   #6
superblonde.org
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 789
Default

I'm not sure I would like the feel of my guitar tone changing automatically because a midi master is controlling the pedalboard or controlling the amp sims. Although it would be consistent. I guess it seems to me that stomping is part of the playing. Is that strange?
superblonde.org is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2019, 07:29 AM   #7
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,132
Default

No.
-Michael (When Live playing, not stomping, but switching sounds by using a different keyboard (of three) or by pressing buttons ops sliding faders or turning knobs at the control surface. -> https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...60&postcount=5)
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.