Old 05-11-2019, 01:40 PM   #1
Neutronic
Human being with feelings
 
Neutronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 657
Default Quick add FX or track template (v1.50: clear master FX)


EDIT: Quick Adder 2 is out! So unless you need the input override or track names search functionality please get the new version.

Hi everyone! I would like to share with you my "Quick add FX or track template" script.

As the title suggests, it is designed to streamline FX and track template insertion in REAPER.

Feature highlights:
- add track FX, input FX, take FX, FX chains and track templates all in one place;
- new clear relevant FX chains before adding FX;
- new apply track templates to existing tracks keeping original sends and other information (configurable);
- search for full and partial keywords with the ability to exclude unwanted terms;
- multiple tracks and takes support with floating of the first added FX only;
- ability to select tracks or items after you picked an FX;
- support for VST2/VST3/AU/JS.

How to use it with FX (see demo video above):
1. run the script;
2. search for an FX using (partial) keywords and optional /i flag to add input FX or /t for take FX (e.g. gate /i);
3. hit OK;
4. the first matching result will be added to the selected tracks / items.
Use optional:
a) 2/3/a/j/c first keyword to force searching for VST2/VST3/AU/JS/Chain only (e.g. query 3 pro-q to open the VST3 version of Pro-Q);
b) - (minus) prefix to exclude keywords (e.g. the query rvox -st would insert a mono instance of Waves Rvox compressor);
c) start a search query with a whitespace to clear relevant FX chains before adding FX.

How to use it with track templates (see demo video above):
1. run the script;
2. search for a track template using keywords and adding required . (period) prefix before the first search term (eg .soft piano);
3. hit OK;
4. the first matching result will be added to the project.
Use optional:
a) /number flag to insert multiple instances of a track template (e.g. query .bgv /4 will add four "bgv" track templates);
b) /a flag to apply a template to selected tracks (eg .violin /a);
c) - (minus) prefix to exclude keywords.

Track template insertion example:



The script is free, but donations are appreciated.

Direct download link (Right-click --> Save As...)

My repository index for ReaPack:
https://github.com/Neutronic/ReaScripts/raw/master/index.xml

Quote:
[CHANGELOG]

v1.50 – December 05 2019
+ option to clear master track FX chain before adding FX
# open plugins inside FX Chains if chains are visible

v1.47 – October 31 2019
+ option to keep the track name when applying a track template (off by default)

v1.45 - October 13 2019
# insert track templates after the last selected track or at the end of the track list
# respect folder depth level if the last selected track is also the last track in folder

v1.40 – September 17 2019
+ start a search query with a whitespace to clear relevant FX chains before adding FX
+ ignore plugins that begin with #
# show FX chain when adding it (instead of floating last FX in chain)

v1.31 - August 07 2019
# improved FX listing logic

v1.30 - August 06 2019
+ AU format support
+ video processor support
+ option to reverse the /a flag behavior
+ option to preserve layouts when applying track templates
+ safeguard against false JS files
# improved JS instances naming in FX chains

v1.25 - June 09 2019
+ added "2", "3", "j" and "c" as shorthands for vst2/vst3/js/chain fx types

v1.2 - May 31 2019
+ ability to apply track templates to selected tracks
# moved in-script help to console

v1.1 - May 22 2019
+ 32-bit support
+ .RfxChain support
+ exact match search ability using quotes
+ ability to choose the FX search order
+ in-script help with complete syntax list
# improved overall script's logic

v1.01 - May 14 2019
+ Added input_ovrd option to allow users hardcode a search query

Last edited by Neutronic; 03-24-2020 at 05:06 AM.
Neutronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 06:01 PM   #2
Pinknoise
Human being with feelings
 
Pinknoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Around Montréal
Posts: 1,117
Default

Nice work!

Is there a way to have individual lua from this ?
I maximised the number of templates and I can't put anymore on buttons.
I was able to go past the 99 number with fx chains on toolbars with this script:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....39#post2134039
Pinknoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 06:13 PM   #3
Neutronic
Human being with feelings
 
Neutronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 657
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinknoise View Post
Nice work!

Is there a way to have individual lua from this ?
I maximised the number of templates and I can't put anymore on buttons.
I was able to go past the 99 number with fx chains on toolbars with this script:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....39#post2134039
Thanks! But what do you mean by individual lua? The script is already a single lua file.
Simply download it, put it in your scripts folder and load it in REAPER.

Let me know if you meant something else.
Neutronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 01:07 AM   #4
Pinknoise
Human being with feelings
 
Pinknoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Around Montréal
Posts: 1,117
Default

Sorry for being unclear. Is it possible to duplicate the script many times to:

Edit and run the script to auto-load track template containing name: Repro-5. Edit the script to auto-load track template containing name: Synthmaster, etc.

It will allow to go past 99 Load track templates actions. And assign buttons to the individual duplicates of the script.
Pinknoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 07:05 AM   #5
Neutronic
Human being with feelings
 
Neutronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 657
Default

Ah got it! I will add an input override option to the script and you will be able to do that. Stay tuned.
Neutronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 08:41 AM   #6
Neutronic
Human being with feelings
 
Neutronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 657
Default

Just updated the script to v1.01 and added input_ovrd option to allow users hardcode a search query.

@Pinknoise this is your request.

Let's look at an example of how you would use the feature to hardcode a track template you called "Repro-5":
1. duplicate the script and rename it the way it fits you;
2. open it in the REAPER script editor and go to line 21;
3. type in .Repro-5 (period prefix is required for templates) inside the quotes for the input_ovrd local variable;
Code:
input_ovrd = ".Repro-5"
4. Save the script and run it.

Let me know how it works.
Neutronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.