Old 08-12-2019, 07:43 AM   #1
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,371
Default Render items as .wav with embedded loop points?

I assumed this would be possible but I can't see how to do it.

I'd like to set up a bunch of items, drop markers/regions where I want the wav loop points to be and then render the items as wavs with the loop points embedded. Is that possible?
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 08:56 AM   #2
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,790
Default

As far as I know, loop points cannot be embedded into audio files in Reaper. But you can embed regions and markers into the files while rendering. Other audio editing programs like Wavosaur will recognize these markers, so once in there, you could use these markers to help create the actual loop points which can then be saved into the file.

Back in Reaper, those loop points will show up as cues which can also be imported back to the project as markers. But depending on what needs to be done with the looped files, this workflow will get unnecessarily convoluted.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 11:23 AM   #3
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,371
Default

Ah okay, thanks. That's a shame because Reaper is great for finding loops.
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 12:12 PM   #4
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,204
Default

xpander's answer is correct but it seems like it's being interpreted as a no rather than a yes. There is a dropdown box in the WAV render settings where you can choose to embed regions in the file as pairs of cue points. Other software can interpret those cue pairs as loop points.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 12:44 PM   #5
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,371
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
xpander's answer is correct but it seems like it's being interpreted as a no rather than a yes. There is a dropdown box in the WAV render settings where you can choose to embed regions in the file as pairs of cue points. Other software can interpret those cue pairs as loop points.
Thanks schwa, I got that. Just disappointed that it will require extra software. Whenever I wonder if REAPER can do a thing, the answer is pretty much always yes.



Don't suppose you fancy implementing it as a feature?
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 12:59 PM   #6
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IXix View Post
Thanks schwa, I got that. Just disappointed that it will require extra software. Whenever I wonder if REAPER can do a thing, the answer is pretty much always yes.
What is it you want to do? Import a WAV with embedded loop points, and have the loop automatically set on importing the WAV? Here is a Lua script that will do that:

Code:
item=reaper.GetSelectedMediaItem(0,0)
initpos=reaper.GetMediaItemInfo_Value(item,"D_POSITION")
reaper.SetEditCurPos(initpos,true,false)
reaper.Main_OnCommand(40741,0) -- cursor to next embedded cue
spos=reaper.GetCursorPosition()
reaper.Main_OnCommand(40741,0)
epos=reaper.GetCursorPosition()
reaper.GetSet_LoopTimeRange(true,true,spos,epos,false)
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 01:20 PM   #7
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,371
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
What is it you want to do? Import a WAV with embedded loop points, and have the loop automatically set on importing the WAV? Here is a Lua script that will do that...
Thanks, that's a useful little script to have but no. I've got fifty samples of an instrument that would benefit from having loops embedded for note sustain purposes in a sampler. I'm looking for the least tedious way of doing it!


Having just tried it with a single file though, it looks like REAPER's cue embedding will be enough. Both the sampler and Wavosaur treated the cues as the loop, so no extra software required! Just another forty nine to go!
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.