Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 12-02-2010, 03:45 PM   #1
joangolfing
Human being with feelings

Default Very new--loading Kontakt in reaper

I am a total beginner. My only purpose for using this program is to record my Roland FP-4 and make quality waves and MP3's using great sounding grand pianos. I have Akoustik pianos & Sonic Implant grands.

Can you direct me to parts of the manuals that I might understand on loading these into Reaper. I have Alicia Keys ordered and have Kontakt 4 free version.

How do I get started? I have Roland UM-1 midi installed along with Asio4all, & lame encoder.

Last edited by joangolfing; 12-02-2010 at 03:46 PM. Reason: spelling
joangolfing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 04:34 PM   #2
zappsunzorn

Welcome to the forum!

You can find a quick start pdf under help/documentation/quick start

The first few sections of the normal manual should put you on the right path 1.11 and 1.12

Once you have installed the Roland following the their directions all you will need to do is activate that midi device (it should show up in Reaper). Go to options/preferences/midi devices (under audio on the left side of the preferences window). You should see your interface. Right click it and select enable.

For your VST folder (the one with all your instruments) go to options/preferences/vst

PS: make sure you do NOT put the vst plugins in the Reaper/plugins folder, that is only for reaper plugins not normal vst plugins.

Reaper can automatically set up a track for instruments, go to insert/virtual instrument on new track.

PS: in section 1.8 of the manual it shows the "ASIO configuration" button (if you are set to use asio) Sometimes you have to hit that button again with asio4all to make it work.

Last edited by zappsunzorn; 12-02-2010 at 07:49 PM. Reason: it's the preferences window not the options window...... doh
zappsunzorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 07:20 PM   #3
joangolfing