Old 05-12-2021, 04:43 PM   #81
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,054
Default

Yes, you are right, this couldn't be more off topic.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2021, 06:28 PM   #82
Midifail
Human being with feelings
 
Midifail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 25
Default

one more +1 for hard locking tracks/items
Midifail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 04:11 PM   #83
McSound
Human being with feelings
 
McSound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 280
Default

I'm just a newbie here but already want this feature working too. Strange, came here from Steinberg, where getting fixes is a looong way. And all the same here?
It's the first time of disappointment, it was all admiration of Reaper's features before.
McSound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 02:53 PM   #84
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 507
Default

Please? We really need this.
blumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2021, 07:39 PM   #85
danmanisa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 22
Default

+1 here too.

Don't think I've needed it before, but was very suprisped not to see an item lock option that did not result in sections being deleted when I wanted all but that track affected.
danmanisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2021, 05:40 PM   #86
MisterGTR
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 188
Default

I use regions allllll the time and like to move them about to see how song structures work...So i would like to all my little +1 to hard lock feature.
MisterGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2021, 06:00 AM   #87
paaltio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 308
Default

+1 for this from me as well. This is one of those things that's just not very scriptable around (and believe me, I've tried!).

Shouldn't have to be a choice between "do I not use region edits and the "moving later items" actions at all, or do I keep fixing video and reference audio tracks after every edit".

External video just not a viable solution for many workflows (you lose the ability to render video demos, for one).
paaltio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2021, 02:22 AM   #88
paaltio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 308
Default

Just a quick post in case this helps someone, I've ended up going around this by encapsulating all the usual insert silence etc. functions between these functions. And because it uses ext states, you can have two toolbar buttons for save and restore and do region operations in between etc.

So now I just mark any locked track with - at the start of the track name.

Had to use a weird kludge there because the track pointer doesn't restore properly, but otherwise seems to work. Not at all proper script quality given how excellent the level is these days... but if someone wants to take this idea to make a real one have at it!

Also given the track pointer gets screwed up somehow, I'm not 100% this serialization method is reliable. But given that the track chunks are text-based anyway, I would assume that part is safe.

Needs Serpent for serialization: https://github.com/pkulchenko/serpen...rc/serpent.lua (put that under e.g. REAPER/lua)

And standard disclaimer of course, not very well tested code so might screw everything up, use at your own risk! Please let me know if something seems off, as I'll be using this myself now as well on a project and seeing how it goes...

Code:
-- Author: Panu Aaltio, contact <at> panuaaltio.com
local LOCKED_TRACK_PREFIX = "-"

local serpent = require("serpent")

local function trackNameFunc(track)
    local trackName
    _, trackName = reaper.GetTrackName(track)
    return trackName
end

function saveTrackChunks()
    local i, currentTrack, currentChunk, idx
    local trackChunks = nil
    for i = 0, reaper.CountTracks(0) - 1 do
        if not trackChunks then
            trackChunks = {}
        end
        currentTrack = reaper.GetTrack(0, i)
        if trackNameFunc(currentTrack):find(LOCKED_TRACK_PREFIX) == 1 then
            _, currentChunk = reaper.GetTrackStateChunk(currentTrack, "", false)
            idx = #trackChunks + 1
            trackChunks[idx] = {}
            trackChunks[idx]["track"] = currentTrack
            trackChunks[idx]["chunk"] = currentChunk
        end
    end
    reaper.SetProjExtState(0, "PA_Scripts", "trackChunks", serpent.dump(trackChunks))
end

function restoreTrackChunks()
    local idx, trackChunks, extState, i
    _, extState = reaper.GetProjExtState(0, "PA_Scripts", "trackChunks")
    _, trackChunks = serpent.load(extState)
    for idx = 1, #trackChunks do
        for i = 0, reaper.CountTracks(0) - 1 do
            if tostring(reaper.GetTrack(0, i)) == tostring(trackChunks[idx]["track"]) then
                reaper.SetTrackStateChunk(reaper.GetTrack(0, i), trackChunks[idx]["chunk"], false)
            end
        end
    end
end

Last edited by paaltio; 10-14-2021 at 02:35 AM.
paaltio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2021, 11:10 AM   #89
pietro79
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 267
Default

Full disclosure, I haven't read every last post (yet) in this thread, but...


+1 for me too!


I just lost 40 precious minutes after realizing I'd accidentally trimmed items that were "LOCKED" and but out of view

Weird thing is these locked items cannot be trimmed by mouse drag, but were still trimmable by the action Item: Trim items left of cursor (40511)

EDIT: AGAIN! Another 40 mins. Gahh... I hope this feature comes soon. I can't keep scrolling up and down every time I edit, to check if I messed things up

Last edited by pietro79; 11-04-2021 at 12:39 PM.
pietro79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2021, 12:58 PM   #90
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pietro79 View Post
Weird thing is these locked items cannot be trimmed by mouse drag, but were still trimmable by the action Item: Trim items left of cursor (40511)
Yep indeed. It really depends on the action, which is really strange.
When you use a razor selection with locked items and press "delete", the locked items
are respected.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2021, 01:02 PM   #91
pietro79
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 267
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Yep indeed. It really depends on the action, which is really strange.
When you use a razor selection with locked items and press "delete", the locked items
are respected.
Thanks Stevie, when I have time to learn razor editing and implement it into my workflow, I'll keep this in mind.
pietro79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2021, 01:07 PM   #92
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pietro79 View Post
Thanks Stevie, when I have time to learn razor editing and implement it into my workflow, I'll keep this in mind.
This was by no means a way to justify the irritating behavior of the current actions.
I just wanted to point out that there are a lot of inconsistencies right now.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2021, 01:14 PM   #93
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 507
Default Razor vs hardlock

Quote:
Originally Posted by pietro79 View Post
Thanks Stevie, when I have time to learn razor editing and implement it into my workflow, I'll keep this in mind.
Razor editing is great but it lacks one huge feature for post production and composing for film/tv; the ability to edit the tempo and time signature changes. Regions is a fantastic way to edit all of the content in score or to conform; but it also edits ends up editing the video;dialogue, sfx; the thing you want to conform to. we just need a way to have two arrange windows (one for editing in time code and another for music mode) or to lock items so they can’t be edited with region edits or ripple.
blumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2021, 01:16 PM   #94
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blumpy View Post
Razor editing is great but it lacks one huge feature for post production and composing for film/tv; the ability to edit the tempo and time signature changes. Regions is a fantastic way to edit all of the content in score or to conform; but it also edits ends up editing the video;dialogue, sfx; the thing you want to conform to. we just need a way to have two arrange windows (one for editing in time code and another for music mode) or to lock items so they can’t be edited with region edits or ripple.
Yeah in that regard many features are missing really. Maybe because the devs are not so much into film/post. I hope that they will take care of that at some point.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2021, 01:31 AM   #95
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,719
Default

+1

Mandatory for video, production audio, so many things.

Cheers,

Andrew K
__________________
Cheers... Andrew K
Reaper v6.80+dev0621 - June 21 2023 • Catalina • Mac Mini 2020 6 core i7 • 64GB RAM • OS: Catalina • 4K monitor • RME RayDAT card with Sync Card and extended Light Pipe.
Thonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2021, 02:05 AM   #96
mucknog
Human being with feelings
 
mucknog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 195
Default

+1
Absolutely needed when scoring to video.
__________________
www.recordmixplay.de
mucknog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2021, 02:13 AM   #97
gandjo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 26
Default

+many

Gotta have it! Also coming from post.
gandjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2021, 03:10 PM   #98
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 507
Default For the Mods....

I apologize to the mods and cockos developers. I never really explained why this is essential.

I do score work. My cues are child projects in a larger parent project containing all the cues of the film. When I start a new subproject I copy the video, dialogue, SFX and other tracks that accompany the video file.

So I'll have a movie, Dialogue Tracks, SFX (all set to time:h:m:s:f) then my stem busses, and my music tracks. Let's say I want to cut out 13 measures music with tempo and time signature changes.

If I region edit, the movie, dialogue, and sfx tracks all get edited. If I use razor edit none of the tempo and time signature changes accompanies the music.

There's no great way to make music edits without editing everything else. What I end up doing is moving the bites I don't want edited to another session. do the region edit, then copy the movie, dialogue, sfx, and others tracks back to see if the edit was what I wanted. This creates a situations of working on edits fairly blindly and its messy.

I've tried to make it so that the movie and other assets are in the parent project, but reaper doesn't locate to stopped locations on synced project tabs nor does it allow video from only a parent project. There's just no good way to handling this.

The two easiest solutions are:
1) Having items that are locked be immune to region edits
2) Allow Tempo and Time Signatures be included in Razor edits
blumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2022, 06:21 PM   #99
earhax
Human being with feelings
 
earhax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: earth
Posts: 471
Default

Another +1 for this.

Please, Justin, make this happen someday soon! A positional lock should be a lock - no matter what other action or function is performed!
earhax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2022, 03:25 AM   #100
Pashkuli
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: United Kingdom, T. Wells
Posts: 2,454
Default

That would be great feature to have.
+1
Pashkuli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2022, 07:27 AM   #101
daeavelwyn
Human being with feelings
 
daeavelwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 597
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juan_r View Post
+1

I have at least two relevant workflows that need set-and-forget lock that disables moving, splitting etc. of items (or whole tracks, now wouldn't it be nice?)

- Working with video would become a lot easier.

- Large arrangements where I don't realize I have messed up until it's too late and I have to retrieve older versions of the project to try and fix things. A big time waster.
Clearly, actually the fact you can't prevent item splitting make working with video a real challenge as you can easily accidentally split items that should keeped untouched while they are lock. I hope this will be implemented soon because it's really hard to work safely with video wihtout this option :-/
daeavelwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2022, 07:31 AM   #102
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,054
Default

CHeck this great proposal from Klangfarben:
https://forums.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=265909
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2022, 09:36 AM   #103
daeavelwyn
Human being with feelings
 
daeavelwyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 597
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
CHeck this great proposal from Klangfarben:
https://forums.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=265909
Yeah ! It would be so great to see those options immplemented !!
daeavelwyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2022, 05:13 AM   #104
RenTenTen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 25
Default

+1
RenTenTen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2022, 12:13 PM   #105
MinorKey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 47
Default

+1 for hard locking. 👍
MinorKey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2022, 01:45 AM   #106
inthevoid
Human being with feelings
 
inthevoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: London
Posts: 427
Default

+1! Please, this is absolutely essential for film work.
inthevoid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2022, 11:12 AM   #107
pietro79
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 267
Default

Has this been implemented yet?

I suppose it's a complicated thing to code, given it hasn't been done yet despite so many +1's since 2018. I'm not a coder in anyway but would volunteer my time testing anything.
pietro79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2022, 12:04 PM   #108
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 507
Default Hmmmm

At this point I think they’re focused on creating tools that they believe might be a functional work around like razor edit. And razor edits does work some of the time if you lock the items you don’t want to edit and view all envelopes you can edit the rest. It however doesn’t work when there are tempo, time signature changes so it’s not a fully functional alternative.
blumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2023, 08:40 AM   #109
Tim Bravo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 17
Default 2023. Still not done.

I can't believe this hasn't been incorporated by Cockos yet.

It's. So. Obvious.
Tim Bravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2023, 01:24 PM   #110
pietro79
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 267
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim Bravo View Post
I can't believe this hasn't been incorporated by Cockos yet.

It's. So. Obvious.
Oh my goodness, speak of the devil. You woke this thread up and it happened to me again!! I lost another hour of work. I'm sitting here undoing undoing undoing 60 minutes of editing to get it back to the point just before I accidentally trimmed things not in view.

This feature isn't sexy, but it sure would save me from accidentally trimming items (that are supposedly locked) which are not on screen.
pietro79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2023, 09:49 PM   #111
McSound
Human being with feelings
 
McSound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 280
Default

I just gave up and made the splitting-deleting scripts respecting locked items by myself. Can’t wait anymore. For post production it’s very important. DIY - is my life style now )
McSound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2023, 10:47 PM   #112
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 507
Default Pre 7

I’m running the pre-release of reaper 7 which allows for parent project video playback. Now all my sessions are in subprojects and I can use region and whole session edits while the video, dx, sfx, etc are synchronized and uneditable in the background. This new workflow will save me dozens of hours of work on each project.
blumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2023, 11:42 PM   #113
inthevoid
Human being with feelings
 
inthevoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: London
Posts: 427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blumpy View Post
I’m running the pre-release of reaper 7 which allows for parent project video playback. Now all my sessions are in subprojects and I can use region and whole session edits while the video, dx, sfx, etc are synchronized and uneditable in the background. This new workflow will save me dozens of hours of work on each project.
Yup - same. Lifesaver for post workflows. When I get time I'm gonna look into making a script to auto-update the subproject start TC when moved in the main project as that's the only pitfall that can catch you out if not careful at the moment.
__________________
ReaPack Scripts
inthevoid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2023, 11:58 PM   #114
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 507
Default Script

Please post the code for that script. That would be great to have!
blumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2023, 05:45 PM   #115
McSound
Human being with feelings
 
McSound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 280
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blumpy View Post
Please post the code for that script. That would be great to have!
No problem! I'll put it here by link as soon as I sort them out (it's a bunch of them)
McSound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2023, 09:20 AM   #116
McSound
Human being with feelings
 
McSound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 280
Default

Here's the link for item lock respecting scripts. I'm glad if it helps you -https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Yn87hEN9lJDqjtqRPV8R5M2C889YBM6m/view?usp=sharing
McSound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2023, 02:36 PM   #117
earhax
Human being with feelings
 
earhax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: earth
Posts: 471
Default

As a workaround for this issue, I've been using separate projects, playing them with sync, and using ReaStream to route the audio for stems/submixes (anything that I want to remain locked) into the main mix project. That ensures that any edits I make in either the main mix or one of the stem/submix projects won't affect any other part of the mix/project.
earhax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2023, 06:16 PM   #118
McSound
Human being with feelings
 
McSound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 280
Default

I think it's a little bit overkill (no offence!) for the things that shouldn't be edited. Lock should just work by that or another way, withal we have great ability of scripting in Reaper) By modifying split and delete native functions I overcame the issue for my personal workflow. Besides I got center crossfade and split by razor edits just on the same shortcut (my split script). I never give up to be surprised by Reaper's abilities! BTW thanks blumpy for that trick with subprojects, gonna give it a try and dig deeper into it.
Sorry for offtop, but I have another bunch of scripts for post as well. If anyone is interested I can share. For instance I have import or take selected video in project and convert it to DNxHD (I often get mp4 which is not very good for working with frames as we post-workers do). Also I have script that replace audio in original mp4 without video processing(leaves original video), so it runs very fast and no need to render all video file. Just to name few of them) I think I have to make my own repository for overall share, I don't know much about it though, I'm a newbie, have to learn it)
McSound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2023, 03:43 PM   #119
inthevoid
Human being with feelings
 
inthevoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: London
Posts: 427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blumpy View Post
Please post the code for that script. That would be great to have!
It's not quite 'auto' (yet, anyway) but I had a hack at this today: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....06#post2705306
__________________
ReaPack Scripts
inthevoid is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2023, 04:55 PM   #120
McSound
Human being with feelings
 
McSound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 280
Default

Ha-ha! I’ve just realised that was not adressed to me, sorry!
McSound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.