Old 05-02-2021, 12:35 PM   #1
mabian
Moderator
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,327
Default v6.28+dev0502 - May 2 2021

v6.28+dev0502 - May 2 2021
  • * Includes feature branch: MIDI editor note reordering
  • * Includes feature branch: custom metadata columns in Media Explorer
  • * Includes feature branch: razor envelope editing
  • * Includes feature branch: EEL2 x86_64/SSE
  • * Includes feature branch: VST3 bridging
  • * Includes feature branch: ReaSurroundPan
  • * Includes feature branch: media item lanes
  • + API: GetSetProjectInfo_String() supports TRACK_GROUP_NAME
  • + API: run hookpostcommand2 hooks for reascripts and custom actions
  • + FX: fix monitoring window persistence when using new undo point option [t=252896]
  • + Ruler: add option to display region name when region start is offscreen
  • # EEL/sse: fix compiletime issue with namespaced functions on Windows and probably elsewhere
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode

Last edited by juliansader; 05-02-2021 at 01:24 PM.
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 12:43 PM   #2
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default display region name when region start is offscreen

Code:
+ Ruler: add option to display region name when region start is offscreen

This looks excellent!





It even works with region anes so I dont think there is much edge cases to test for here. Seems all good!


Thx!
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 12:57 PM   #3
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Funkybot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 6,027
Default

Agreed on the scrolling names. Very nice!
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 01:09 PM   #4
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,334
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post

@vitalker: I'll fix log formatting later B-)
Haha, maybe you just not post it, so another person would format it (https://codepen.io/X-Raym/full/ggPogG) from the beginning?
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 01:10 PM   #5
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,334
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
Agreed on the scrolling names. Very nice!
That's for consistency.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 01:11 PM   #6
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,334
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
+ API: run hookpostcommand2 hooks for reascripts and custom actions
What does it mean?
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 01:33 PM   #7
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
[*]# EEL/sse: fix compiletime issue with namespaced functions on Windows and probably elsewhere
This seems to fix the issue with the script that I posted in an earlier thread.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 01:48 PM   #8
mabian
Moderator
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Haha, maybe you just not post it, so another person would format it (https://codepen.io/X-Raym/full/ggPogG) from the beginning?
I have to gather leetpoints to gain priority on bug fixing...oh you weren't supposed to know that maybe

I was on the phone when I saw the update, it's not trivial formatting from there.
I saw a mod adjusted my post in the meanwhile.

- Mario
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 01:51 PM   #9
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,334
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
I have to gather leetpoints to gain priority on bug fixing...oh you weren't supposed to know that maybe
So my bug report helped?
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 04:33 PM   #10
gxray
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
What does it mean?
https://github.com/justinfrankel/rea...in.h#L168-L192

This now works for custom actions, there's a Gist some time ago from Cfillion that I think proof-of-concept'ed something similar to this =)

https://gist.github.com/cfillion/335...d03b8dfe673c6e

Code:
/*

  hookcommand:
    Registers a hook which runs prior to every action in the main section:
      bool runCommand(int command, int flag);
      rec->Register("hookcommand",runCommand);
    runCommand() should return true if it processed the command (prevent further hooks or the action from running)
    It is OK to call Main_OnCommand() from runCommand(), but it must check for and handle any recursion.
  hookpostcommand:
    Registers a hook which runs after each action in the main section:
      void postCommand(int command, int flag);
      rec->Register("hookpostcommand",postCommand);
  hookcommand2:
    Registers a hook which runs prior to every action triggered by a key/MIDI event:
      bool onAction(KbdSectionInfo *sec, int command, int val, int val2, int relmode, HWND hwnd);
      rec->Register("hookcommand2",hook); \
    onAction returns true if it processed the command (preventing further hooks or actions from running)
      val/val2 are used for actions triggered by MIDI/OSC/mousewheel
        - val = [0..127] and val2 = -1 for MIDI CC,
        - val2 >=0 for MIDI pitch or OSC with value = (val2|(val<<7))/16383.0
        - relmode absolute(0) or 1/2/3 for relative adjust modes
  hookpostcommand2:
     void (*hook)(KbdSectionInfo *section, int actionCommandID, int val, int valhw, int relmode, HWND hwnd, ReaProject *proj);
     rec->Register("hookpostcommand2",hook);

*/
__________________
Seasoned codemonkey
Dunno a thing about making music (here to learn!)
gxray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2021, 04:47 PM   #11
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 6,630
Default

Quote:
+ API: GetSetProjectInfo_String() supports TRACK_GROUP_NAME
Nice! This has been requested very often and it's cool to see it in a dev
__________________
Use you/she/her.Ultraschall-Api Lua Api4Reaper - Donate, if you wish

On vacation for the time being...
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 01:36 AM   #12
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,334
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gxray View Post
What is it in simpler words? This tells me nothing.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 03:18 AM   #13
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2,875
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
[*]+ Ruler: add option to display region name when region start is offscreen
Thanks for listening to this user suggestion! Just tested and works wonderfully.
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 03:51 AM   #14
Skorobagatko
Human being with feelings
 
Skorobagatko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Ukraine, Kyiv
Posts: 546
Default

Envelope curves change when glue automation items


Last edited by Skorobagatko; 05-03-2021 at 10:31 AM.
Skorobagatko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 03:54 AM   #15
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 12,110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
What is it in simpler words? This tells me nothing.
With this, C++ extensions can get a callback/notification when a (custom) action/ReaScript is run, this can be used to 'do something' if that happens (e.g. in case of cfillion's example, prevent UI refresh during custom actions execution. edit: That example was done to evaluate if this FR could be incorporated in SWS but in the end it was decided against it and only done for SWS cycle actions.).

Last edited by nofish; 05-03-2021 at 04:02 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 03:56 AM   #16
Triode
Human being with feelings
 
Triode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,185
Default

API: GetSetProjectInfo_String() supports TRACK_GROUP_NAME

Does this allow us to detect via the API whether a particular group is enabled yet?
__________________
Mixing / Brush and Beater Drums Online: www.outoftheboxsounds.com
Triode is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 04:52 AM   #17
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soli Deo Gloria View Post
Hi devs,

I'm still seeing, at least in Linux, the Notation Editor bug where placing the cursor in the first beat of the first measure of a system (the one with the clef) makes it dissapear. I think it was supposed to be fixed a couple of dev releases ago...
Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Can you be more specific please?
Sorry for the delay in answering, Schwa... I'll post the answer here, since I'm still seeing the bug in v0502...





You'll notice that when I try to place the cursor on the first beat of the measure, it dissapears... I thought it had something to do with this fix, but probably I misunderstood it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
v6.28+dev0429 - April 29 2021
+ Notation editor: fix key snapping on first beat of local key signature change [t=221385]
Anyway, I hope the gif speaks for itself. Linux Manjaro here...
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 04:53 AM   #18
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,822
Default

What is the tempo?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 04:54 AM   #19
AtmanActive
Human being with feelings
 
AtmanActive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 668
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
v6.28+dev0502 - May 2 2021[*]+ Ruler: add option to display region name when region start is offscreen
Thank you!
You rule!
AtmanActive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 08:24 AM   #20
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 11,818
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Code:
+ Ruler: add option to display region name when region start is offscreen

This looks excellent!





It even works with region anes so I dont think there is much edge cases to test for here. Seems all good!


Thx!
Nice work. This will prevent quite a bit of confusion. Thank you.
__________________
Using Latch Preview (Video) - Faderport 16 setup for CSI 1.1 , CSI 3.10
Website
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 09:37 AM   #21
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 981
Default

This version causes crash when closing a project tab With shortcut Cmd + W in a Mac. The project has 2 tracks with reasurroundpan plugins. Nothing else.


Here is a link to the crash report


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Bzw...ew?usp=sharing

And here is a link to a small project file


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1atP...ew?usp=sharing
__________________
Vijay Rathinam MPSE,
www.theaudioville.com
IMDB Page : https://www.imdb.com/name/nm3221039/?ref_=fn_al_nm_1
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 02:17 PM   #22
ktm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 61
Default

Did some tests with the new User Columns in Media Explorer, working fine so far.

Thank you for the new region name display!
ktm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 03:54 PM   #23
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,303
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
What is the tempo?

The BPM is 136.
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 04:42 AM   #24
dug dog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,802
Default

+ MIDI editor: import/export of note names includes custom-view ordering information if set


Can anyone tell me how to achieve this? Thanks.
dug dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 05:08 AM   #25
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soli Deo Gloria View Post
The BPM is 136.
I can't reproduce this unfortunately. Is it possible for you to post a very simple project that demonstrates?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 02:43 PM   #26
matt_t
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
I have to gather leetpoints to gain priority on bug fixing
Is this a thing? I need some points too.

I know you were only joking, but there's many a true word spoken in jest. It does feel like there's a club sometimes. Some users report something being, say, 1px out of alignment, it gets fixed. Others just see their bugs ending up down on page 58 of the bug report section, and falling.

Just my 2 cents (or $60?!?)
matt_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 02:46 PM   #27
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt_t View Post
It does feel like there's a club sometimes
I'm sorry you have that impression, but there's really not!
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 02:52 PM   #28
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,334
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt_t View Post
Is this a thing? I need some points too.

I know you were only joking, but there's many a true word spoken in jest. It does feel like there's a club sometimes. Some users report something being, say, 1px out of alignment, it gets fixed. Others just see their bugs ending up down on page 58 of the bug report section, and falling.
If you create a bug report following the instruction, it will at least get the attention, so don't give up. Bump it, if you really need it to be fixed.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2021, 03:34 AM   #29
mabian
Moderator
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt_t View Post
Is this a thing? I need some points too.

I know you were only joking, but there's many a true word spoken in jest. It does feel like there's a club sometimes. Some users report something being, say, 1px out of alignment, it gets fixed. Others just see their bugs ending up down on page 58 of the bug report section, and falling.

Just my 2 cents (or $60?!?)
To be truly honest, lately I've been getting a bit frustrated because many things I reported seemed to be constantly neglected (like being invisible I know the feeling )

However I've found during the years that this helps quite a lot:

1) Report stuff more closely related to the focus of the current dev (branches, features, etc.)

2) Provide relevant material and information - licecaps, dump files, minimal test projects, config files and so on - to help to reproduce the issue as easily as possible

3) Hammer - a fair amount - the pre-release threads to remind when issues are not being addressed in the current dev iteration

What mentioned above, coupled with the severity of the issue, seems to play an important role in the efficiency of the find and fix process.

Of course, the leetpoint thing was a joke - sorry if anybody was harmed/hurt.

- Mario

Last edited by mabian; 05-06-2021 at 05:36 AM.
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2021, 03:47 AM   #30
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,334
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
To be truly honest, lately I've been getting a bit frustrated because many things I reported seemed to be constantly neglected (like being invisible I know the feeling )
But not this time.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2021, 05:46 AM   #31
mabian
Moderator
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
But not this time.
Yes but there are some others in the queue still... guess it's somebody else's turn now

- Mario

P.S. Maybe leetpoints are real and we simply don't know psssst...
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2021, 12:07 PM   #32
matt_t
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 379
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
I'm sorry you have that impression, but there's really not!
I have leaped (leapt?) to your defence in this thread (post #5)

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=253239

and got a couple of things off my chest at the same time
matt_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2021, 07:54 AM   #33
FeedTheCat
Human being with feelings
 
FeedTheCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
+ Ruler: add option to display region name when region start is offscreen


Noticed today that this is distractingly flickery when continuous scrolling is enabled. Maybe it could be temporarily hidden, like the item label counterpart.
__________________
Featured scripts: REAPER Update UtilityLil ChordboxGridbox/Adaptive gridMX TunerRS5K LinkMIDI Editor Magic Donate💝: PayPal|ko-fi
FeedTheCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.