Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2019, 04:20 AM   #1
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default FR: ReaScript functions to Get Different Takes Notes in MIDI Editor

Hi,


With ReaScript we can access currently active take in MIDI editor, thanks to reaper.MIDIEditor_GetTake( midieditor )


The problem is that returns only one take, and if you have "One MIDI editor per project options", you can select and edit multiple takes at the same time.


On the following screenshot, you can see how scripts works only in currently active take, but native actions works on all selected items. (Note: I assume I don't miss a function





We miss a function to enumerate all takes active in the MIDI editor, for making scripts which works on all selected notes.


Even the MIDI_GetNote function do require a take as argument.


What we would require is either:
  • A way to enumerate all takes open in MIDI editor.
    Code:
    reaper.MIDIEditor_EnumerateTakes( midi editor ), reaper.MIDIEditor_GetTake( midieditor, i )
  • or a way to GetNotes in the midi editor, but without the need of "take" parameter (this value will instead be returned by the function) - with a midieditor as parameter.
    Code:
    retval, take, selected, muted, startppqpos, endppqpos, chan, pitch, vel = reaper.MIDI_GetNote( midieditor, noteidx )
I think the first solution would be more handy. It would also works with other events.



Thanks for your support !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 04:40 AM   #2
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default

Note that all MIDI scripts are affected by this limitations. Lokasenna's ones, Kawa's ones, juliansader's ones...
Having a solution for this would be huge, and would be consistent with REAPER workflow (the end user see notes selected, and expect the script to works on all of them).

Last edited by X-Raym; 07-30-2019 at 06:35 AM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 06:16 AM   #3
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

+1

Anything in the MIDI editor should be accessible via the MIDI editor API functions.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 06:30 AM   #4
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,714
Default

+1

I have been pleading for this for a long time: MIDI editor: API to get/set editable/visible state of items. No new features needed!.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 06:53 AM   #5
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 12,109
Default

Yes, it's the same FR as js's one I think.

+1 (again)
It would boost MIDI scripting power so much.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 06:57 AM   #6
hotzmarino
Human being with feelings
 
hotzmarino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Italy
Posts: 86
Default FR: ReaScript functions to Get Different Takes Notes in MIDI Editor

+1
That would be great!


Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Hi,
With ReaScript we can access currently active take in MIDI editor, thanks to reaper.MIDIEditor_GetTake( midieditor )
The problem is that returns only one take, and if you have "One MIDI editor per project options", you can select and edit multiple takes at the same time...
We miss a function to enumerate all takes active in the MIDI editor, for making scripts which works on all selected notes...
hotzmarino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2021, 09:37 AM   #7
randychiurazzi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 8
Default would love to see this feature turned

Would love to see this. Thanks for mentioning it.
randychiurazzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.