Old 07-17-2018, 02:06 AM   #1
hanswurst123
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Default Defeat Pro Tools with Reaper 6 (OMF & Playlists)

Hi there,

I'm working in a studio for audio in commercials where we all use Pro Tools because of 'standard'. The owner of the studio really likes Reaper and wants to switch. But there's ONE thing which makes him hesitate:

>> The possibility of importing OMF/AAF

I know there's a service out there which can translate those files into a Reaper format but I think he wants something right in the box (because it's easier with NDAs and stuff).
Also he (and me also and I think many others too) would be ok with paying additional license fees for that feature to get activated if necessary.

Is there any chance to get such a feature included in Reaper 6? It would be sooo amazing!


After using Pro Tools for a year now I found another feature which Reaper is lacking - the playlists which are very handy if recording several takes. I tried using the comping feature in Reaper but I have the feeling that Pro Tools handles this more elegantly with several take tracks (like sub-tracks / child tracks).


So whats your opinion on this guys?
__________________
DAX Desktop (Win10 - 6x3.2i7 - 32GB - SSD+HDD) - Dell XPS13 Laptop (Win10 - 2x2.7i7 - 16GB - SSD)
hanswurst123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 02:09 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,727
Default

OMF/AAF won't happen exactly because AAT exists.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 03:03 AM   #3
hanswurst123
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
OMF/AAF won't happen exactly because AAT exists.
I meant that by saying: 'I know there's a service out there which can translate those files into a Reaper format but I think he wants something right in the box (because it's easier with NDAs and stuff)'

Edit: It's great that such a tool like AAT exists but I think it would be way more comfortable and professional if AAF/OMF import would be just included in Reaper and you don't have to download/buy another software (which isn't 100% supported on MAC).
__________________
DAX Desktop (Win10 - 6x3.2i7 - 32GB - SSD+HDD) - Dell XPS13 Laptop (Win10 - 2x2.7i7 - 16GB - SSD)

Last edited by hanswurst123; 07-17-2018 at 03:11 AM.
hanswurst123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 03:27 AM   #4
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,727
Default

Sure, but Cockos is just two developers, and OMF/AAF are extremely complicated (and bugged) formats, and somebody else already did the job. Cockos isn't about do duplicate all that work and leave everything else on the side just because of it. It won't happen, forget it. AAT exists and it works on Mac via WINE so that's that.

The only possibility would be for AAT folks to do a (paid) plugin for Reaper, but that's not their priority either.


Oh and Reaper is not trying to be a replacement for ProTools, at all. That's the most important thing to understand here.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 04:44 AM   #5
hanswurst123
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Oh and Reaper is not trying to be a replacement for ProTools, at all. That's the most important thing to understand here.
But it could be - and that would be the most amazing thing to happen!
__________________
DAX Desktop (Win10 - 6x3.2i7 - 32GB - SSD+HDD) - Dell XPS13 Laptop (Win10 - 2x2.7i7 - 16GB - SSD)
hanswurst123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 05:10 AM   #6
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,727
Default

But it most likely won't be... Cockos has different priorities.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 11:06 AM   #7
colapirat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 13
Default

I actually agree with hanswurst123 regarding the OMF feature.

I am working in the games industry and Reaper has often proven to be an excellent choice for Game Audio. I see a lot of potential for Reaper to be used in that business as there have been a rising number of posts promoting games in which Reaper was used.
At my company it was only when we would have to do sound design for cutscenes that due to the lacking OMF import function I had to invest a lot more time than my colleague who used Nuendo.
I don't see why it wouldn't be Cockos' priority to offer as many possibilities regarding the pro audio business as possible since OMF is one of the only aspects lacking compared to the big "industry standard" DAWs.
I at least would be very excited to see OMF import functionaliy in Reaper eventually!
colapirat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 11:14 AM   #8
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,727
Default

Reasons for not supporting OMF are already stated. Somebody else did the gruesome work of catching all the inconsistencies of OMF and AAF (so much about "standards" because each DAW has different expectations from OMF especially - it's really a bad format), so why should a two-people team do the same thing and waste time that could be used for implementing other more exciting features and fixing bugs, which definitely sounds like a better priority than investing possibly months or even years on end to support OMF (ask Runaway/ Mike from AAT team how long it took them to nail the formats down - I'm finding posts from 2011 about it!)? It just won't happen - unless, as above stated, AAT team makes an extension for Reaper that would basically do the same thing AAT already does.

Use AAT or use another DAW if you depend on OMF/AAF, it's as simple as that.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 11:35 AM   #9
colapirat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 13
Default

I wonder why you are so aggressive about it? I thought this forum was about exchanging opinions and excitement.

Last edited by colapirat; 07-17-2018 at 11:28 PM.
colapirat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 11:58 AM   #10
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 848
Default

Hm well, ARA wasn't on their list either in the past (too complicated to integrate) and now we have it. I know that was mainly Celemony who tailored the ARA2 protocol a bit to Cockos' needs. But who knows, if AAF and OMF will evolve in the future
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 12:06 PM   #11
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 1,965
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Hm well, ARA wasn't on their list either in the past (too complicated to integrate) and now we have it.
Ara support wasn't implemented by someone else before.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 02:13 PM   #12
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,040
Default

Omf/Aaf has been discussed many times here. It’s relevant only for professionals, and they have no problem buying a third party tool.

My experience is of course annecdotal only. I use AAT almost every day. It’s drag’n’drop, has good support and mainly just works as a conversion tool.

“But I can import from OMF/AAF directly to tracks I heard some say. I did that too, but I can’t keep multiple sessions open in Protools, which nullifies that issue for me. Avid only did its own little brand of omf/aaf well, whereas AAT does almost all of them.

If this is your work, pay. Easiest purchase I ever made.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 02:35 PM   #13
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The vast, frozen wasteland of western Canadia.
Posts: 5,162
Default

Why Reaper will (probably) never support OMF:

- As previously mentioned, OMF isn't one format. It's a container, and DAWs can do roughly whatever the hell they want inside that. "Supporting OMF" would actually mean specifically supporting every different version of it, which means essentially rebuilding AATranslator within Reaper. Why would the two developers working on it spend that much time on something where a dedicated product already exists?

- Also previously mentioned - once you've got AAT set up it's a painless, drag-and-drop process. You're buying an external app rather than a plugin, so what does it matter?

These scripts from X-Raym were, in part, paid for by the AAT folks to make the process as simple as possible: https://www.extremraym.com/en/downlo...-attranslator/
__________________
Currently working away from home; don't expect timely responses from me.
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI tutorial for Lua / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate / ReaPack
Lokasenna is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2018, 06:43 AM   #14
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Oh and Reaper is not trying to be a replacement for ProTools, at all.
Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat!?!?!? I thought Reaper is supposed to replace all other DAWs.

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2018, 04:52 AM   #15
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,350
Default

Its all been said before but just in case anyone out there still thinks that there is any such thing as a standard or that any of these 'standards' remain static I thought I'd share this recent gem with you all....

So I had spent several days trying to work out why an AATranslator conversion from a ProTools v12.8 embedded AAF wouldn't relink the media files only to discover that ProTools 12.5 and PT 10 themselves not only couldn't relink the embedded files but also produced an error message.

Always up for a challenge I thought I'd dig a little deeper so I spent a few more hours trying to see if I could isolate the problem.

As it turns out, in PT v12.8 Avid (just for shits and giggles), decided to rearrange the internal 64 digit media identifiers - those Avid geniuses sure have a sense of humour.

Well I must admit I didn't see that one coming ;-)
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.