Old 02-06-2018, 05:14 AM   #1
ThrashJazzAssassin
Human being with feelings
 
ThrashJazzAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 297
Default REAPER OSC panel for Open-Stage-Control

https://github.com/ThrashJazzAssassin/REAPER-OSC-panels




__________________
REAPER-OSC-panels
erthoide
ThrashJazzAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 02:45 AM   #2
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,703
Default

Already using touchosc but I will have to give this a go. Thanks
__________________
We are in a rudderless ship with a fool at the wheel who doesnt even realise it ain`t working any more
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 02:08 AM   #3
blueben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1
Default

What is the recommended screen resolution? Is it fixed?
blueben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 03:38 AM   #4
ThrashJazzAssassin
Human being with feelings
 
ThrashJazzAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 297
Default

I made it for a full screen 1920x1080. I'd love to update it to be responsive but my CSS skills are limited.

You can scale it with CTRL-, CTRL+ or CTRL+Mousewheel like a web browser
__________________
REAPER-OSC-panels
erthoide
ThrashJazzAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 03:54 PM   #5
grandfougue
Human being with feelings
 
grandfougue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 52
Default

hello
is it possible to rescal size on on mobil navigator ?
a other cool work thank

Last edited by grandfougue; 10-01-2018 at 04:30 PM.
grandfougue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 04:42 PM   #6
ThrashJazzAssassin
Human being with feelings
 
ThrashJazzAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grandfougue View Post
hello
is it possible to rescal size on on mobil navigator ?
a other cool work thank
I would not recommend using this on a screen under about 7". It was built for 1920x1080@15". Feel free to edit it for your needs

EDIT:rethink, clarification
__________________
REAPER-OSC-panels
erthoide

Last edited by ThrashJazzAssassin; 10-02-2018 at 02:11 PM.
ThrashJazzAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2018, 02:00 PM   #7
grandfougue
Human being with feelings
 
grandfougue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 52
Default

ok it s perfect on pc portable
thanks
grandfougue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2018, 12:26 AM   #8
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThrashJazzAssassin View Post
I made it for a full screen 1920x1080. I'd love to update it to be responsive but my CSS skills are limited.

You can scale it with CTRL-, CTRL+ or CTRL+Mousewheel like a web browser
Is it possible to use .svg, those would scale to any screen resolution.
TonE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2018, 07:17 AM   #9
ThrashJazzAssassin
Human being with feelings
 
ThrashJazzAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
Is it possible to use .svg, those would scale to any screen resolution.
It's already vector. The problem is I used absolute pixel values (px) rather than relative values (%) for everything.
__________________
REAPER-OSC-panels
erthoide
ThrashJazzAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2018, 12:47 PM   #10
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThrashJazzAssassin View Post
It's already vector. The problem is I used absolute pixel values (px) rather than relative values (%) for everything.
Is it difficult to convert from absolute to relative, using some replacement tricks, in emacs or elsewhere? Did not look and try this yet, have you any hints which files would need edits, so I could have a look.
TonE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2018, 02:14 PM   #11
ThrashJazzAssassin
Human being with feelings
 
ThrashJazzAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 297
Default

It's all held in one json file. I guess you could go through all the left/right/width/height keys; and modify the values.

So say there's a widget with:
"top": 140,
"left": 80,
"width": 80,
"height": 20,

The modified values should be change to:
"top": 12.96296296296296%, (140/1080)*100
"left": 4.16666666666667%, (80/1920)*100
"width": 4.16666666666667%, (80/1920)*100
"height": 0.37037037037037%, (20/1080)*100

Would that work? maybe,
Any regex script wizards reading this willing to give it a go?

Failing that, it would have to be a manual slog through each widget using the editor. The editor is excellent. Try it here. It would only take about 2-3 cups of tea I reckon. A lot of the widgets are already relative (width:auto) so it would only require changing the position/size values of their parent containers.
__________________
REAPER-OSC-panels
erthoide
ThrashJazzAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 02:58 AM   #12
Georgedayren
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 29
Default

omg that - all i need! very usefull! thanks!
Georgedayren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 05:39 AM   #13
ThrashJazzAssassin
Human being with feelings
 
ThrashJazzAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 297
Default

I'm working on a scalable version. Almost done
__________________
REAPER-OSC-panels
erthoide
ThrashJazzAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 10:20 AM   #14
ThrashJazzAssassin
Human being with feelings
 
ThrashJazzAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 297
Default

Just uploaded REAPER OpenStageControl TJA 0.2.0.json

It now scales to the window size
__________________
REAPER-OSC-panels
erthoide
ThrashJazzAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 10:14 PM   #15
Vindes
Human being with feelings
 
Vindes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 15
Default

This looks really awesome. I've been thinking about using my Surface Pro as a touch controller for something like this for a while.

I've set it up and have it running, but I'm encountering a problem and not really sure where to go from here.

I have the Open Stage server running on my Surface Pro, and Reaper running on my DAW. I have rtpMidi working between them. I'm starting up your json in the Open Stage app first, then starting Reaper on the DAW.

All of the project state (slider positions, instruments, etc.) get communicated to Open Stage, and they update in real time when I change things on the DAW, but anything I adjust on Open Stage is not having any effect on the DAW.

I've played around with everything I could think of playing around with, but it's not having any impact. This is my first time using OSC for anything, so my apologies if I'm doing something stupid, but what am I doing wrong? How do I get Reaper to follow my touches in Open Stage?
Vindes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 03:10 AM   #16
ThrashJazzAssassin
Human being with feelings
 
ThrashJazzAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 297
Default

The easiest way is to first get Open Stage running on your DAW computer and talking 2-way to reaper. Make sure they are set to the same port. These settings work for me:



Then with your surface (connected to the same network), open up a web browser and go to the URL that Open Stage Control supplies you with.

__________________
REAPER-OSC-panels
erthoide
ThrashJazzAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 07:54 AM   #17
Vindes
Human being with feelings
 
Vindes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks. I think I know what my problem is now, but haven't had a chance to test it.

When I set up the Open Stage Control I set the "Send" address to the machine the DAW (Reaper) is running on. I believe I'm supposed to set it to the machine I have Open Stage running on.

I admit that what's going on behind the scenes here is still unclear to me. I understand there is a separate "server" running, and then the interface that I believe runs in a Chrome browser. It's just not exactly clear to me what's what.

I'll give that a try after work today and hopefully it will straighten out my issue.

Excellent work on all this, though. Really seems fantastic. (Although the one thing I'm going to need to do is adjust font sizes. The fonts are really tiny on the Surface Pro, which is common problem.)
Vindes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 06:43 PM   #18
ThrashJazzAssassin
Human being with feelings
 
ThrashJazzAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vindes View Post
(Although the one thing I'm going to need to do is adjust font sizes. The fonts are really tiny on the Surface Pro, which is common problem.)
Please post a screenshot. Maybe I can do something about it
__________________
REAPER-OSC-panels
erthoide
ThrashJazzAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 09:14 AM   #19
Vindes
Human being with feelings
 
Vindes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks. I'm ok with the fonts for now, but I would like to start messing around with some things. Maybe you could point me in the right direction?

The OSC stuff is totally new to me. I used to be a programmer back in the day, and I've done a few LUA scripts, so I'm not completely incompetent. But I haven't really figured out where to look for what you can and can't do with OSC in Reaper.

Here's something I was thinking about, for example: for changing FX presets there's only the +/- buttons on your (very awesome) panel. Is there a way to do it with a dropdown list, or maybe populate a list of buttons?

I'm thinking of using my phone to flip between patches on Superior Drummer 3, for example. I know how to create a new template with the +/- patch select, but I'd like to build out a list so I can just click on the preset I want to switch to.


EDIT: I may have figured out the answer to that myself by looking at the Default.ReaperOSC file. If I'm following how all this works, it doesn't look like there's a way to get a preset list.

I'm looking at
Code:
FX_INST_PRESET s/fxinst/preset s/track/@/fxinst/preset
and I think I'd need something more like
Code:
FX_INST_PARAM_NAME s/fxinstparam/@/name
which appears to let you grab the parameter names by number (@), but I don't see an equivalent for grabbing preset names by number.

Am I interpreting this stuff right?

Last edited by Vindes; 11-10-2018 at 10:08 AM.
Vindes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 05:58 AM   #20
ThrashJazzAssassin
Human being with feelings
 
ThrashJazzAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vindes View Post
Is there a way to do it with a dropdown list, or maybe populate a list of buttons?
Yes, Default.ReaperOSC is the right place to look. Seems like you're understanding it correctly, and as you've seen, the feature you want is not there.
__________________
REAPER-OSC-panels
erthoide
ThrashJazzAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.