Old 11-03-2018, 10:11 AM   #1
Triode
Human being with feelings
 
Triode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 445
Default v5.961+dev1103 - November 3 2018

v5.961+dev1103 - November 3 2018
  • + Linux: VST2 bridging/firewalling support
  • + OSC: .ReaperOSC parsing improvements
  • + OSC: continue loading .ReaperOSC files that have unknown action tokens
  • + linux: auto-cleanup zombie processes when not waiting for return of reaper.ExecProcess() or if jackd takes a long time to exit
  • + macOS: do not use 32-bit bridge on Mojave
Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
Brush and Beater Drums Online: www.outoftheboxdrums.co.uk
Triode is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 07:17 AM   #2
typewriter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Triode View Post
v5.961+dev1103 - November 3 2018
  • + Linux: VST2 bridging/firewalling support
Linux VST2, right?
Or is this bridging of WIN VST2 plugings?
typewriter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 07:47 AM   #3
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 282
Default

i wonder too what it is, i thought, maybe it's some kind of embedded automatic linVST engine, but didn't make to figure out how it works, so probably it's something different.
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 02:34 PM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,668
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by typewriter View Post
Linux VST2, right?
Or is this bridging of WIN VST2 plugings?
Just linux VST2 -- so that you can run plug-ins in separate processes, similar to how it works on Windows (except for Linux).
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2018, 06:07 PM   #5
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 317
Default

I'm having a pretty serious issue with the last couple developer builds on Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit. If I leave Reaper idle for a long period and come back to it, such as finishing in the evening and coming back in the morning, Reaper is causing my entire system to become laggy, where it takes several seconds to switch apps, for a cursor to appear when typing in a web browser or text program, etc. Everything on the system is basically extremely laggy and delayed. The minute I end the Reaper process or quit, everything is back to normal. If I do the same thing and leave Reaper open when I finish in the evening (as I usually do) and then come back in the morning, same thing. My entire system is now laggy and slow until again I end the Reaper process or quit.

The other strange thing is that once this laggy behavior occurs and I quit Reaper and the system is now back to normal, if I open Reaper again, it goes right back to being laggy. I actually have to restart the machine to get rid of it so the system is no longer laggy and delayed while Reaper is open. I go months sometimes without restarting so it must be a pretty serious issue it's causing.

I've only tried the two latest developer builds, but the non-developer pre-releases as well as any of the release versions have been absolutely fine and not caused this behavior. I wish I had more information for you but it is completely repeatable for me in these last two developer pre-releases. One thing I did notice that was slightly different in the developer installer vs the non-developer installer is that in the non-developer and release installers if you have the Rearoute Asio driver already installed and check the box to install that, you get an error in the installer saying it can't be replaced. In the developer installer there is no such error message, so maybe it's possible a deprecated Rearoute Asio driver has been installed? I'm not using Rearoute for anything and Reaper is the only application besides a web browser that I'm running so it seems unlikely but I did notice that difference.

System specs below.

Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
256GB of RAM
Supermicro X10DRH-CT Motherboard
2x Intel E5-2697A v4 Xeon Processors (32 cores)
RME MADI FX Audio Card
Reaper 5.961+dev1103

Last edited by Klangfarben; 11-04-2018 at 06:26 PM.
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 09:21 AM   #6
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,554
Default

regarding performance.

Has anyone else noticed any dropouts/crunching noises when previewing files in the media explorer in the recent dev versions? Especially there are more than a few tracks in the arrange and video.

I need to dig deeper of course and putting buffering back to default instead of adaptive/experimental helps but it seems that playing back a simple file in media explorer is pushing a 10 core cpu (at 4.3ghz) to about 30 percent and if there is something playing in the media explorer too then it hits 100% and crackles.

Never done that before till a few days back so not sure which version changed it, I recall talk of buffer settings being improved I think.

Anyone else have this?

Could be something silly though like a graphics card update so will try stuff when I get time..
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 10:03 AM   #7
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,159
Default

Previewing files seems fine over here...
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 08:50 AM   #8
Zerododo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tv, Italia
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klangfarben View Post
I'm having a pretty serious issue with the last couple developer builds on Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit. If I leave Reaper idle for a long period and come back to it, such as finishing in the evening and coming back in the morning, Reaper is causing my entire system to become laggy, where it takes several seconds to switch apps, for a cursor to appear when typing in a web browser or text program, etc. Everything on the system is basically extremely laggy and delayed. The minute I end the Reaper process or quit, everything is back to normal. If I do the same thing and leave Reaper open when I finish in the evening (as I usually do) and then come back in the morning, same thing. My entire system is now laggy and slow until again I end the Reaper process or quit.

The other strange thing is that once this laggy behavior occurs and I quit Reaper and the system is now back to normal, if I open Reaper again, it goes right back to being laggy. I actually have to restart the machine to get rid of it so the system is no longer laggy and delayed while Reaper is open. I go months sometimes without restarting so it must be a pretty serious issue it's causing.

I've only tried the two latest developer builds, but the non-developer pre-releases as well as any of the release versions have been absolutely fine and not caused this behavior. I wish I had more information for you but it is completely repeatable for me in these last two developer pre-releases. One thing I did notice that was slightly different in the developer installer vs the non-developer installer is that in the non-developer and release installers if you have the Rearoute Asio driver already installed and check the box to install that, you get an error in the installer saying it can't be replaced. In the developer installer there is no such error message, so maybe it's possible a deprecated Rearoute Asio driver has been installed? I'm not using Rearoute for anything and Reaper is the only application besides a web browser that I'm running so it seems unlikely but I did notice that difference.

System specs below.

Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
256GB of RAM
Supermicro X10DRH-CT Motherboard
2x Intel E5-2697A v4 Xeon Processors (32 cores)
RME MADI FX Audio Card
Reaper 5.961+dev1103
dude... 256 gb of RAM!?!? WTF...
Zerododo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 09:02 AM   #9
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,159
Default

Yeah, Xeons support that.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 10:08 AM   #10
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerododo View Post
dude... 256 gb of RAM!?!? WTF...
better not look how much his processor costs
https://ark.intel.com/products/91768...ache-2-60-GHz-

or this
https://ark.intel.com/products/12049...ache-2-50-GHz-
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 09:11 PM   #11
chucky5p
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 454
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerododo View Post
dude... 256 gb of RAM!?!? WTF...
Actually, 256GB of RAM is kinda low for this motherboard. Maximum RAM capacity is 1TB

https://www.servethehome.com/supermi...rboard-review/

Chuck
chucky5p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 02:57 PM   #12
Shibboleth
Human being with feelings
 
Shibboleth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 18
Default BUG: Duplicate selected area of items (in midi)shift+ctrl+d Manjaro linux

not correct duplicates selected midi notes (smart duplicate)

1) if note not on first beat

Manjaro Linux
KDE Plasma: 5.14.2
Qt: 5.11.2
KDE Frameworks: 5.51.0
4.19.1-1-MANJARO
64-bit
Shibboleth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 01:26 PM   #13
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,328
Default

Tracks with melodyne produce no sound when the Playback Rate is not 1.0 . Will it be possible to fix this?
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 08:13 AM   #14
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,668
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shibboleth View Post
not correct duplicates selected midi notes (smart duplicate)

1) if note not on first beat
Thanks, fixing, but this belongs in the BR forum next time
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.