Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > ReaScript, JSFX, REAPER Plug-in Extensions, Developer Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2019, 02:57 AM   #241
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 251
Default

@bri1; Hm, bri1, I just had another look at home, and the filter2 list shouldn't go off the screen indeed. So that was a valid concern after all

@vdubreeze;
Thanks!

Hmmm, the filter 2 box going offscreen seems similar to the issue Bri1 mentioned. Anyways, re both these issuse, it sounds like the issue with the second filter is that the combo box is opening in the wrong direction. I guess I didn't anticipate how big it would grow .

I will look at fixing this in the next update. I hope to roll this one out by the end of Saturday. There's one last filter in there too, which I'm still working on, that needs to be tamed a bit to play nice before I can roll it out.

As for the size discrepancies on different displays, is only one of the screens a retina display? If it opens on a retina display, all the sizes are doubled, so that's what you're seeing there. I'm not entirely sure whether it is possible to detect dragging from and to retina display, from/to a non retina display. I don't have one to test, which makes it tricky.
__________________
[Soundcloud] | [Tracker Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack link] | [Machine UI Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack link] | [Filther: Github]

Last edited by sai'ke; 02-15-2019 at 03:14 AM.
sai'ke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 05:17 AM   #242
Bri1
Human being with feelings
 
Bri1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: England
Posts: 2,066
Default

@sai'ke__> dude_your amayyzing =)
many thanx for considering anything..
will give filther another blast when seeing new update- basically if i find anything atmo = kinda just quit the plug and move on to something else..
re: reset: yes,without any mods- try switching stereo modes as a user might(with an active filther) =output goes to 0 <here> atmo.
re: key tracking: as some types can not be tracked by your posting instruct- is it doossible to label types that can track with a "trk" tag,or something to make that more obvious for users?
re: screen resolutions: i run native monitor defaults of 1360/768- some jsfx go completely offscreen currently..as some will not scale overall dimensions..

totally accepting this is a wip!! i make no statements of haste or waste towards anything really - and expect perfection as a bare minimum (it's that goal we are all interested in!)
btw- the output clip function-- is this working for everybody?
roll on more awesumz...cheerz.
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 11:02 AM   #243
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Eliseat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 911
Default

Hi Sai'ke,

I have some new ideas and/or optimizations.

- Several times I was unable to grab a WS point because it was near or behind the preset list. Wouldn't it make more sense to change the list into a drop down list like the LFO modes?

- If you turn the LFO timing to Tempo you can't snap to 2 measures. It jumps from 3/8 to 3.

- Would it be to much work to allow drop down list scroll wheel support? This feels kind of intuitive for me, but I don't know if you and others also think so.

- And even more decadent: Would it be possible to allow stopping the GUI animations. Just a tiny tick (double click?) to stop the updating (only showing the last picture)? This maybe could help users with performance issues like me. But not sure about that.

- If I create some videos, could you upload them to Youtube for me? As I don't like or support google anymore this would be better then posting them on my mega.nz account, as long as iframes aren't supported in this forums.

So beside that I just want to give some more feedback where I reach the limits in Filther. Firstly I can't take Filther as a plain filter plugin anymore. If you use it with a steady source like a synth on the same amp output level you get the best results AND it shows up like a real instrument.
As you considered to maybe once create a synth, this would be easy with Filther as a frame. Adding two OSCs and some more level, pan and modulation possibilities could do the change from an effect plugin to an instrument. This of course shouldn't be done in JSFX as it suffers from its limitations.

And here I really suffer too because a second LFO would be a creative explosion for Filther. I can't count how often I thought: damn, another LFO to make a long sweep over some short rhythms would be "bombe". The same with separate LFO/DYN buttons for cutoff and resonance. This would allow even more sophisticated presets. Also a more precise envelope with an ADSR like setting is badly missed. I just see how much potential this beast has and can't stop pushing it to the limits. But again, don't feel under pressure because of such whiny comments. We all know how the JSFX limits take action here.

So, I hope that's not to much feedback. Sometimes I feel a bit ashamed to bother you with all the little in-adequateness.

Greetings to you and Nemo (?). And many thanks to him for coding Filther so nicely.

Eli
__________________
☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆REAPER//✿◔‿◔)°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆

Last edited by Eliseat; 02-15-2019 at 11:18 AM.
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 11:44 AM   #244
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Eliseat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 911
Default

Respective the narsty filter (can't spell it so I always read nazi filter ) I kind of managed to recreate the preset. But I'm pretty sure this change didn't happen 4 month ago as I had this preset working when I posted my presets here in the forum. The preset I mean is called DarkRoomExperience (don't ask why) and had a very soft resonating overtone and hard bass distortion. It is now only crackling without any changes on my side. The source level is the same, the source waveform and note also. Have no idea what happened.

Greetings
Eli
__________________
☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆REAPER//✿◔‿◔)°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 09:03 PM   #245
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,546
Default

What is the cheapest, at cpu cost, and best sounding lp filther? What to take/try bestly? Why I am asking? I could use this setting combination kind of as a default when creating a new track with a filther behind it. So just imagine you have a few tracks, like 4, with synth1 and behind each a filther. So which filther setting is recommended? Best sounding cheap-cpu filther is wanted.

Is there any testing tool like:
-keep n parameters constant
-vary 1 parameter, e.g. used filther model
-write down cpu consumption of fx as .csv
-so you could compare in excel like tools

Nice tune, sounded even interesting on cheap laptop speakers, then took some better headphone, unfortunately not enough bass, but ok, filther, but you wrote in your comments, it was a quick production. Great job. Ravey, old-school, flying trance-gate even built in.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q56vPjdfOVI
For all who are wondering why saike is such a genius coder, generous, wonderful person, like coming from another planet, just need to read the description in that tune. My brain is hurting after reading it. One hammer sentence after another.

Last edited by TonE; 02-15-2019 at 09:24 PM.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:37 AM   #246
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 5,432
Default

Hey Sai'ke, out of curiosity, what's the new job?
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:41 AM   #247
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 5,432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
What is the cheapest, at cpu cost, and best sounding lp filther?
I always go for the nl Kr0gs. Or go with the linear ones for some CPU savings. I don't find them too bad on CPU.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
My brain is hurting after reading it
Quote:
The game will be a 2D shoot em up, with various weapons; where the gimmick is that the whole game plays out in a fluid. The fluid is supposed to add some visual appeal, as well as factor in the gameplay (certain projectiles are carried by fluid and the player has the ability to affect the fluid). Pickups, such as scrap from enemies count as score. The fluid is based on a fixed-timestep numerical approximation of the Navier Stokes equation, using a 2nd order MacCormack scheme for advection. Partial, but controlled incompressibility (to make it look more 3D) is attained by using the projection method to obtain a divergence free field and diffusion is implicitly solved. Implicit steps are solved iteratively making use of a checkerboard Gauss-Seidel updating scheme on the GPU, using successive over-relaxation to ensure efficiency. Vorticity confinement is used as an approximate correction for diffusive losses in the simulation. Explosions are modelled by adding both additional vorticity to the local solution as well as a local pressure increase and smoke as the fuel is consumed. Broadphase collision detection is handled using a spatial hash as a gating method, while the narrowphase is handled using the separated axis theorem. Here, last hit triangles are cached to ensure efficiency upon continuous collisions. Triangle meshes are computed using a marching squares algorithm to find sprite outlines, followed by Ramer-Douglas-Peucker to simplify the edge, and approximate delaunay tesselation (using the sweep-line algorithm by Domiter et al.). Triangle meshes are cleaned up using the Clipper polygon clipping library. Shading is deferred and makes use of normal maps; appropriately brought into the object's tangent space. As a shading model, I implemented the Cook-Torrance model for specular reflection with Schlick's Fresnel approximation and the GGX microfacet model for surface roughness. Damage decal colors and normals are rendered to an offscreen texture buffer which is sampled when compositing the individual ships (for scorchmarks, holes and dents). Real time reflections are approximated by sampling outward into the scene based on the surface normals. Radiosity onto the fluid is approximated using a multi-tap blur of the additive lighting component and mixing it with the fluids diffuse component. Solid bullet trails are rendered using a filtered version of the trajectory; which is stored in a circular buffer and operates entirely in screen space to save CPU on transforms. The filter used is a 9 tap Savitsky-Golay filter to approximate both position and velocity (since the velocity is required to find the trajectory tangent). The gameplay so far is scripted in lua, using the LuaJIT library and luabridge as a C++ wrapper. 'Real time', callbacks from the main engine are handled asynchronously to avoid all computational load falling on a single frame. All other callbacks (collisions and such) are dealt with on the next frame. I plan to keep the script files unencrypted, to facilitate easy modding. The engine so far is written in C++ using GLFW, OpenGL, Clipper, Freetype, FreeImage, Lua, Luabridge and FMOD.
You can read that? And who wrote it, now?
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool

Last edited by foxAsteria; Yesterday at 12:56 AM.
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:43 PM   #248
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 251
Default

Changelog:
+ Added King of Tone pedal.
+ Added proper minimum for waspey linear and pwm potato filters.
+ Added default for the spline y at 1.0.
+ Remove safety from narsty.
+ Improve antialiasing goniometer.
+ Mirror goniometer over XY to be compatible with other goniometers.
+ Increase line thickness waveshaper.
+ Allow waveshaper nodes to be grabbed by digits.
+ Split filters out over four columns to not exceed plugin size limits.
+ Allow last focused combobox to be manipulated with mousewheel.
+ Fix spline issue when extrapolating to extreme values (clamp last derivative to max/min)
+ Change waveshaper selection to combobox
+ Added MIDI compatibility for keyboards that send a note on with velocity zero as note off.
+ Added modulon filter.
+ Added 2 measure length for LFO.

@Eliseat;
I investigated that preset. The issue wasn't in narsty. It was in the nodes in that preset being vertically above each-other at both ends of the waveshaper. I added something that should avoid this issue (limiting the derivative at the end of the spline).

I don't have the free time required to turn it into a fully fledged synth as porting it to another language would pretty much mean starting from scratch. I did some of the other fixes though. As for another lfo, another 64 sliders would go a long way, but alas, we don't have them.

I would also have liked an ADSR.

And sure, I can upload it.

@Tone/Fox;
Filther can be pretty heavy on the CPU. Leave oversampling on a low setting if this bothers you. FYI, in the repo I also released a standalone version of the Kr0g filters called MS-20. It's cheaper than using it in Filther. There's also an antialiased saturator in there called Tanh Saturation with anti aliasing if you just want some saturation bloat.

@Fox;
New job isn't settled yet.

@Bri1;
I also fixed some of the issues you mentioned. I could not reproduce the stereo thing you mentioned. Do you have a specific filter I could try where this happens?

@vdubreeze;
The issue with the filters going offscreen should be fixed now (spread out over more columns)
__________________
[Soundcloud] | [Tracker Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack link] | [Machine UI Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack link] | [Filther: Github]

Last edited by sai'ke; Yesterday at 05:03 PM.
sai'ke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:06 PM   #249
Bri1
Human being with feelings
 
Bri1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: England
Posts: 2,066
Default

thanx! -but= :/





+ nice touch with the drop down menu- but this creates a new 'problem'- try moving a spline to that area--can happen now with randomizing stuff like this.. ok

moving on.. sorry to report- prefere mogwai to gremlin though..
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:56 PM   #250
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 251
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bri1 View Post
thanx! -but= :/
+ nice touch with the drop down menu- but this creates a new 'problem'- try moving a spline to that area--can happen now with randomizing stuff like this.. ok

moving on.. sorry to report- prefere mogwai to gremlin though..
What? Could you be a bit more descriptive about what happens when you drag a spline to the combo box? Do you mean the negative values? That has nothing to do with the combo box and this has just been fixed. It was a side effect from allowing splines to be dragged by pulling the numbers

Changelog:
+ Clip shaper coordinate against window edge (prevents exceeding shaper window).
__________________
[Soundcloud] | [Tracker Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack link] | [Machine UI Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack link] | [Filther: Github]

Last edited by sai'ke; Yesterday at 06:37 PM. Reason: changelog
sai'ke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:37 AM   #251
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Eliseat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 911
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sai'ke View Post
Changelog:

@Eliseat;
I investigated that preset. The issue wasn't in narsty. It was in the nodes in that preset being vertically above each-other at both ends of the waveshaper. I added something that should avoid this issue (limiting the derivative at the end of the spline).

I don't have the free time required to turn it into a fully fledged synth as porting it to another language would pretty much mean starting from scratch. I did some of the other fixes though. As for another lfo, another 64 sliders would go a long way, but alas, we don't have them.

I would also have liked an ADSR.

And sure, I can upload it.
Didn't mean to lure you into a new synth project. I just wanted to point out (as you mentioned somewhere a synth) that if you - once in the (far) future - want to build a synth it would be a cool concept to implement Filther's WS-filter abilities. It allows so many sound colors. Really amazing. At least for basses.

The narsty preset works again. Thanks for that.

And the only thing that keeps me off from creating some sound example videos is that I have no idea of how to manage the preset changes in automation. Some users pointed me to .reabank files which could be loaded into the program change lane of the MIDI editor or into the JS MIDI tool. But writing all those presets manually into a txt file would be even stupider than writing them down on a sheet and selecting them on the fly.

Had no idea that something so simple isn't implemented in the MIDI workflow a bit easier. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

I could go thru all presets but ... there are so many. And you know they never fit all into a certain tempo or theme. Would be a waste of time.

The instabilities on my system drive me crazy. The last days it worked just fine. No preset used more than 5%. But today I just updated to the new version and it went crazy. The problem is, there is no pattern. It happens randomly. Also my browser sometimes crashes to black screen if it has to manage to many images. It seems that my on board graphics card is broken.

So I can't be a good help to point you to issues in that case.

Greetings
Eli

Edit: And I forgot to mention: Many thanks for the drop down ws list. This is much better in my opinion.(✿´‿`)
__________________
☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆REAPER//✿◔‿◔)°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:58 AM   #252
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 251
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliseat View Post
And the only thing that keeps me off from creating some sound example videos is that I have no idea of how to manage the preset changes in automation. Some users pointed me to .reabank files which could be loaded into the program change lane of the MIDI editor or into the JS MIDI tool. But writing all those presets manually into a txt file would be even stupider than writing them down on a sheet and selecting them on the fly.
Ah yes, I can help with that.

Update to 1.95 (just uploaded). Enable all parameter envelopes on the arrange view. Then click one of them with the outer mouse button and set the mode to touch. Now, make sure you have filther selected. If you now hit SHIFT + P, Filther will emit all its settings to the timeline. You don't have to be in recording mode for this.

Sorry to hear about your computer woes. Do you notice that it is significantly worse with Filther? I forgot to add that graphics locking feature.
__________________
[Soundcloud] | [Tracker Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack link] | [Machine UI Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack link] | [Filther: Github]
sai'ke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:23 AM   #253
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Eliseat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 911
Default

Thanks Sai'ke,

but this doesn't allow to choose presets afterwards because the values from the default envelopes have a higher priority. Or am I doing it wrong?
__________________
☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆REAPER//✿◔‿◔)°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:48 AM   #254
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 251
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliseat View Post
Thanks Sai'ke,

but this doesn't allow to choose presets afterwards because the values from the default envelopes have a higher priority. Or am I doing it wrong?
Sorry, set the channels to write. Seems that that way you don't even need shift + p



Since the UI changed quite a lot, I also added a small new tutorial to the first post. Although it is painfully apparent that I never do videos like this
__________________
[Soundcloud] | [Tracker Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack link] | [Machine UI Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack link] | [Filther: Github]

Last edited by sai'ke; Today at 07:10 AM. Reason: tutorial
sai'ke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:15 AM   #255
Bri1
Human being with feelings
 
Bri1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: England
Posts: 2,066
Default

honeybadger.
+
kung fu bear.
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:22 AM   #256
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Eliseat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 911
Default

Bri ???

Thanks Sai'ke,

this could work. Though I guess/hear it will create bad transitions (maybe because the ms points are not in the right order. idk). I will try it with square interpolation tomorrow. But for today I'm done with Reaper. Can't believe that such a simple task ...

Anyway. I'm pretty upset at the moment because it is so stupid being unable to automate preset changes as simple as everything else in Reaper. Really frustrating.
__________________
☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆REAPER//✿◔‿◔)°☆.。.:*・°☆.。.:*・°☆
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:35 AM   #257
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 251
Default

Ah, sorry to hear that :/

I mean, don't feel obliged. We could also include your preset pack to the front page if you want
__________________
[Soundcloud] | [Tracker Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack link] | [Machine UI Plugin: Thread|Github|Reapack link] | [Filther: Github]
sai'ke is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.