Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2019, 05:14 AM   #1
scdaymon
Human being with feelings
 
scdaymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: France, Meylan
Posts: 5
Default How to record through speaker monitors while monitoring through headphones

Hi there guys.

I would appreciate a little guidance here, since Iím having the hardest time trying to find a solution for something I know that Reaper manages for sure.

What I want: I want to record the output of a single track through my speaker monitors, without recording all the other project tracks. Meaning that I want to use my interface (Focusrite Scarlett) as a Guitar Amp along with a pluggin (Guitar Rig 5), and tape that performance with a mic. But I want to monitor the entire project through my headphones.
I sense thatís something to do with the routing matrix, but I canít get it to work.
Jesus, itís hard to explain!!! Do you get it?

Iíll try again:

I want that the output of my speakers (connected to the audio interface) to be only the track that Iím playing in real time without the bleeding of all the other tracks (drums, other guitars etc). But to be able to play that performance, I need to hear all the tracks though my headphones.
Speakers: Guitar Track
Headphones: Entire Projet

Can someone, please, help me on this one?


ScDaymon
__________________
"the price of a soul is the cease of the heart"
scdaymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 06:14 AM   #2
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 5,898
Default

On your master track set the io to play to your headphones only.
On your guitar track, set the io to send to your amplifier/speakers. Leave the parent send checked so the guitar also goes to the master
__________________
I found it in the Google Reaper search
http://cse.google.com/cse?cx=0024585...%3Anbhva-j9iic
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 06:34 AM   #3
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 855
Default

what you are trying to do depends on your soundcard having the ability to output 4 channels of audio. First thing you need to do is check it's possible and then enable 4 outs in the output range of the audio device ASIO preferences. Then you can do as Coachz suggests, making sure one pair of outputs is routed to your speakers and the other pair to your headphones.
domzy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2019, 07:37 AM   #4
scdaymon
Human being with feelings
 
scdaymon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: France, Meylan
Posts: 5
Default

Worked like a charm!!!

I really, reeeally thank you guys.
__________________
"the price of a soul is the cease of the heart"
scdaymon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.