Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2016, 08:08 AM   #1
MotionMindz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 214
Default How to loose them Apple AU plugins?

I find them useless and want them out of the picture.
How to get rid of these AU plugins?
MotionMindz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2016, 08:18 AM   #2
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12,853
Default

There might be some Reaper feature to mark some plugins to not load or some such...

I would just make a new folder (directory) called "Components (unused)" in the /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins directory and move them there. That way you can change your mind later and move them back.

But you're certainly free to just delete them.
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 08:02 PM   #3
joelsampson
Human being with feelings
 
joelsampson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 913
Default

I mostly use Windows 10 for audio, however, I also have a Mac i7 Mini which I use. I prefer VST's because I can organize them into folders, like I do on the PC. Make plugins much easier to manage - at least for me. If you only use Reaper, you don't need the AU. I tend to keep them as I also have Logic X, which I do not use.
__________________
Trying to get work out the door. . .
My resource links: http://www.djemberecords.com/links.html
joelsampson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 11:37 PM   #4
ponk
Human being with feelings
 
ponk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 548
Default

They're tiny in size, and some are quite useful - obsess about something else

Edit - just one example of usefulness. There have been many discussions on this forum (and others) about how to play general midi sounds in Windows. The various responses take you to many sites and downloads of sound font players, sounds, plugins, and nothing definitive. On any Mac, though, just slap a copy of DSLMusicDevice (an aui) on any track, and done. No setup, no searching for soundfonts, and it doesn't sound too damn bad.

Last edited by ponk; 06-02-2016 at 12:05 AM.
ponk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 05:33 PM   #5
Robert Johnson III
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Johnson III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: The Dutch Mountains
Posts: 389
Default prefs

Pffff.... "The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 5 characters."
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2016-06-03 at 02.26.48.jpg (63.6 KB, 348 views)
__________________
Hackintosh - OSX 10.13.5 - Apollo Twin

https://soundcloud.com/mytopia
Robert Johnson III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 01:49 PM   #6
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 11,087
Default

Or you can create your own folders.

I have them arranged into dynamics, modulation, reverb & delay etc... and I can mix and match AU's, VST2, VST3 etc.
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 07:59 PM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,858
Default

If you meant purely Apple AUs, and not *all* AUs (as Robert Johnson III suggested), Preferences/Plug-ins, add to the filter box at the bottom:
Code:
NOT "AU: APPLE:"
(after everything else that is in there)
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2024, 07:32 PM   #8
dunego
Human being with feelings
 
dunego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 100
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MotionMindz View Post
I find them useless and want them out of the picture.
How to get rid of these AU plugins?
Where's that plugins located ? I'm also trying to get rid of it and it simply doesn't exist as a component AU on the components folder, or as any file in the computer at all :/

BTW what are these plugins ? Where they came from ? Are they stock reaper plugins ?
dunego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2024, 07:48 PM   #9
Wallaby
Human being with feelings
 
Wallaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Swiss Zürich
Posts: 931
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MotionMindz View Post
I find them useless and want them out of the picture.
How to get rid of these AU plugins?
That's not possible. These are not plugins like plugins that are files in a folder.
The Apple AUs are fix part of the MacOS.
Get familiar with them they are really good.
Wallaby is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.