Old 04-22-2021, 09:57 AM   #1
Beat Machine
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 311
Default i need a daw that works properly

in general ive been with reaper 8yrs

these are repeating issues over several builds and upgrades on 2 different computers


i find i have to build macros for simple functions
like save/recall cursor position
these macros are frequently corrupted somehow

i cannot run the 2 64 bit vsts i down loaded
w/o serious crash issues

in the timeline area
in any attempt to move regions or markers
the "hand" ie zoom function overrides
select edge move region ect all

i cant use regions because of this

the zoom is so fast the timeline instantly goes to 10hrs
why is a zoom so sensitive

in the track context
the left mouse double click is overwriten by the single click

i cannot click fast enough for the double click to work

i cannot cnt click (select range of items)
btw this should be 'add items to selection'

doesnt exist in sws either
there is also no action to 'move item to prev or next track

those would be a pretty basic macros

after every permetation of useing time selection i still have weird behaviors with it ,

.....a whole track of recording will seem to dissapear because the audio is only recorded to a time selection that magically appeared that is so small its not even visable

i know this is prob 'user error somehow
but w/e


i would be very happy with reaper if it behaved like it should

i cannot do proper work having this endless frustration

how can i get a working version?
these are repeating issues over several builds and upgrades on 2 different computers
__________________
..fri 13th .
Beat Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2021, 10:55 AM   #2
Pink Wool
Human being with feelings
 
Pink Wool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 424
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beat Machine View Post
i find i have to build macros for simple functions
like save/recall cursor position
these macros are frequently corrupted somehow
What do these macros contain (the actions?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beat Machine View Post
i cannot run the 2 64 bit vsts i down loaded
w/o serious crash issues
Can't really blame Reaper for plugins not working, can you? If it's a bug, then there's the Bug Reports forum.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beat Machine View Post
in the timeline area
in any attempt to move regions or markers
the "hand" ie zoom function overrides
select edge move region ect all

i cant use regions because of this
Markers and regions move fine and edges are selected properly here. I'm assuming from all this you're using a laptop? With a touchpad? Perhaps your problem lies there?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beat Machine View Post
the zoom is so fast the timeline instantly goes to 10hrs
why is a zoom so sensitive
Sounds like a touchpad issue?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Beat Machine View Post
in the track context
the left mouse double click is overwriten by the single click

i cannot click fast enough for the double click to work
Touchpad?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beat Machine View Post
i cannot cnt click (select range of items)
btw this should be 'add items to selection'

doesnt exist in sws either
there is also no action to 'move item to prev or next track

those would be a pretty basic macros
?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beat Machine View Post
after every permetation of useing time selection i still have weird behaviors with it ,

.....a whole track of recording will seem to dissapear because the audio is only recorded to a time selection that magically appeared that is so small its not even visable

i know this is prob 'user error somehow
but w/e
Esc to remove time selection?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Beat Machine View Post
i would be very happy with reaper if it behaved like it should

i cannot do proper work having this endless frustration

how can i get a working version?
these are repeating issues over several builds and upgrades on 2 different computers
If these were common issues, you'd find a bug report for them. Can you find any?

Perhaps Reaper Blog's Jon could help you out:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=252438

Last edited by Pink Wool; 04-22-2021 at 10:08 PM. Reason: I originally wrote "Perhaps it's not the tool then?" which I've removed in order to not come across as taking a jab at the OP
Pink Wool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2021, 04:37 PM   #3
Beat Machine
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 311
Default reaper makes a fool out of me again

so the issues on the timeline were caused by 1 option in sws zoom options(in extentions) being turned on

everything is Aok now


"cant really blame reaper for plugins not working"
thats freakin quote worthy

kinda like F.O.&Die but like subtle

see you guys like never,,bye
__________________
..fri 13th .
Beat Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2021, 10:01 PM   #4
Pink Wool
Human being with feelings
 
Pink Wool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 424
Default

Well, that escalated quickly! My intent definitely wasn't to insult you (perhaps to make you see that you might be experiencing more user-end issues than product-end?)
I chose my wording badly for which I'm sorry! The "Perhaps it's not the tool?" was out of line. Sorry! Didn't mean to take a jab on you!

About the plugin comment:

It's true that most of the times from MY experiences with plug-ins, it's the plug-in that's not working, not Reaper. Again, sorry for the misunderstanding! I will try to be more careful and kind with my words in the future!

PW

Last edited by Pink Wool; 04-22-2021 at 10:18 PM.
Pink Wool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2021, 04:00 AM   #5
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,926
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beat Machine View Post
so the issues on the timeline were caused by 1 option in sws zoom options(in extentions) being turned on

everything is Aok now


"cant really blame reaper for plugins not working"
thats freakin quote worthy

kinda like F.O.&Die but like subtle

see you guys like never,,bye
Good luck acting like a child in your next forum too. I wonder why, karbomusic isn't jumping in here and spending an hour out of his day to help. Kids !
__________________
---> Checkout my latest Reaper album ! <---
www.chucktownband.com Click Youtube Music to play the entire album.
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2021, 05:01 PM   #6
Daodan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 74
Default wft

Can't double click. Don't know how to add items to selection. Can't find action to move items up/down. 8 years in Reaper. Amazing.
Daodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2021, 05:25 PM   #7
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 27,825
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daodan View Post
Can't double click. Don't know how to add items to selection. Can't find action to move items up/down. 8 years in Reaper. Amazing.
CTRL+Click (which is the case in myriads of software and OS')

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daodan View Post
Can't find action to move items up/down.
The arrow keys on the num pad. If you want the action that does that, go into the actions window > find shortcut > click the up or down arrow key.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daodan View Post
8 years in Reaper. Amazing.
8 years huh, it's a couple hours to skim the manual LOL.
__________________
Music is what feelings sound like.

Last edited by karbomusic; 05-01-2021 at 05:33 PM.
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2021, 05:53 PM   #8
Daodan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
CTRL+Click (which is the case in myriads of software and OS')



The arrow keys on the num pad. If you want the action that does that, go into the actions window > find shortcut > click the up or down arrow key.



8 years huh, it's a couple hours to skim the manual LOL.
I know that stuff. My message was about OP. If it was addressed to me. If it was for BeatMachine I'm afraid he'll see it "like never"🙂
Daodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2021, 06:07 PM   #9
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 27,825
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daodan View Post
I know that stuff. My message was about OP. If it was addressed to me. If it was for BeatMachine I'm afraid he'll see it "like never"��
Gotcha. I should have read closer. So yea should be for the OP.
__________________
Music is what feelings sound like.
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 09:08 AM   #10
Beat Machine
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 311
Default posts in this thread are for cookos

solving technical issues may not be helping in Metaphysical terms here

so i think the issues arise because reaper isnt developed in accordance with any type of workflow

there also seems an unstableness to building action macros

i suppose most issues
in regard to working on the timeline are "accidentally" pushing the wrong button
ie user error,...
or too many choices?

lack of any clear direction in terms of systematic recording editing
and comping 0 discussion about producing

i think this goes back to my first point
------------------------
ie
have a dedicated recording track
move new recording to new track in a folder

-the moving tracks down needs 3 custom actions

cycle through track sizes to make edits

-have a dedicated track you are comping to

dup item and ripple behind,..make a custum action

cant do it with modifiers


save and recall edit cursor position by double click then single click


double click context-applied action AFTER single click action


definitely broken
can only area select
item

cant make record between markers run
in any config

so these are just examples,ie,..generally just continuious sel, unsel, press esc, open track manager

just to make sure a recording dont get lost

mostly im just wasteing alot of time trying to get structural procedures in place

ive imported my old build and none of the toolbars work,..i guess custom actions arnt exported,..would have been nice to know

its been 6 years since i brought up these simple issues

forums has not done
the job of mitigating
these issues
__________________
..fri 13th .
Beat Machine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 09:42 AM   #11
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7,664
Default

Are you able to write full sentences?
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 01:01 PM   #12
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 2,353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Are you able to write full sentences?
You should read it as poetry...
__________________
Use you/she/her, when contacting me, please. Thanks :) Not mentoring via PMs, sorry.
Ultraschall-API - 1385 ReaScript functions for Reaper - Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper - Donate, if you wish
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 01:28 PM   #13
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7,664
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meo-Ada Mespotine View Post
You should read it as poetry...
I am not able to read poetry without neither rhythm nor rhyme.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 11:58 PM   #14
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 21,690
Default

BeatMachine: I am not wishing to diss you in any way whatsoever, but your comments have been so succinct that they are very difficult to understand.

I have read your posts on here several times in an attempt to "get" exactly what your sticking points are, but find it almost impossible to understand your shorthand comments.
Could you try and explain a little more clearly exactly what the specific issues are that you have problems with?
"Workflow" is way too generic without a fuller explanation, for example.
None of us are you so we don`t know what you are wanting to achieve.
__________________
Ici on parles Franglais

Last edited by ivansc; 05-05-2021 at 09:20 AM.
ivansc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 05:54 AM   #15
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,926
Default

If you are not willing to use Reaper as is then your only option is to build your workflow using custom actions and code. If you won't do that then you need to pick another daw.
__________________
---> Checkout my latest Reaper album ! <---
www.chucktownband.com Click Youtube Music to play the entire album.
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.