Old 03-21-2007, 02:24 PM   #1
HAIjinks
Human being with feelings

Default MIDI playback puzzle

I'm not a MIDI musician, and I am not familiar with MIDI devices. I decided to preview Reaper to see if I could import, record, and combine sound tracks for use with Windows Movie Maker. I have a MIDI file that I'd like to import and synch with my voice (singing with the MIDI file).

I followed the instructions in the manual, and after I imported the MIDI file, it wouldn't play back through my computer's speakers. I tried it BOTH ways: as all 6 instrument tracks, and all combined into 1 track. Nothing works. Reaper displays the file in both the timeline and the MIDI editing window, and the timeline moves through it as if it should be playing, but I hear nothing.

I've checked the FAQ's, read the manual pages pertaining to MIDI and Audio Playback, and followed the instructions by going to OPTIONS/preferences/MIDI Devices and enabling the one choice which appears: Microsoft GS Wavetable SW Synth. The MIDI file STILL doesn't play through my speakers. I just got through listening to the MIDI file on Windows Media Player, so the speakers are working fine.

The Reaper manual tells me that sending the sound to the soundcard and speakers is the default setting. If so, the MIDI track should play... but no.

I'm stumped and I'm frustrated. This should be EASY. All I want to do is import the MIDI music into one track and my recorded singing into the second track and synch them up together, then render them as one sound track for use with Windows Movie Maker.
HAIjinks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 02:52 PM   #2
Alistair S

Midi on its own makes no sound (but I think you know that).

To make a sound, you have two choices. You can either

a) Place a VSTi on your track as an effect and effectively play the VSTi. There are a variety of VSTis out there, some of which will play a particular instrument and some of which will play a whole selection.

or