Old 06-28-2020, 06:11 AM   #1
Retro
Human being with feelings
 
Retro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Kentucky, USA (trying to get back to Texas)
Posts: 187
Default Issue with Track Index Numbers Not Showing Up

I am modding jedstar2000's Hybridv1-1 Theme for forum member martmix and have run into an issue I cannot resolve. The theme uses a background image with the trackidx and I cannot get the index number to show on the new MCP layout I created. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

I uploaded the modded theme to the stash for inspection here:

https://stash.reaper.fm/v/39791/Hybr...ReaperThemeZip


For additional information see the The thread covering the mod found here:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=238821
Retro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 08:25 AM   #2
Retro
Human being with feelings
 
Retro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Kentucky, USA (trying to get back to Texas)
Posts: 187
Default

A related issue I need assistance with. martmix requested external scale marking on the meters. I modified the mcp_idxbg.png with the scale, but now it does not seem to be loading in the MCP correctly and the scale is not showing up. I am pulling out my hair (and believe me, at my age I don't have a lot of that stiff to spare!)

Below is a mugshot of the villainous subject and attached is the file for further inspection.

Attached Images
File Type: png mcp_idxbg.png (1.6 KB, 72 views)
Retro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 09:08 AM   #3
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 3,065
Default

There's some pretty nutty WALTER going on in that theme for reasons I can't fathom. The base layout has this:

Code:
set mcp.trackidx [0 -102 73 2 0 1 0 1]
set mcp.trackidx.margin  	[25 927 15 0 0 0]
so that's drawing it at ...er... -102, and then pushing it into view with a massive 927px margin. And there doesn't seem to be a reason why. The whole theme is almost entirely static WALTER, so there doesn't seem to be a need for unexpected cleverness. You have removed the nutty margin, but you're still drawing in a strange place, so it seems to me you're heading in the right direction by writing your own WALTER instead of tweaking.

If an element is giving you trouble, I'd suggest replacing its image with something ugly, like a block of semi transparent full red, and then doing a new layout that just goes:

Code:
Layout "testing"
clear mcp.*
set mcp.size [blah]
set my element [values you're wondering about]
EndLayout
FWIW the theme also contains reverse_margin references in the TCP, READ THIS for my thoughts on that
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 09:30 AM   #4
Retro
Human being with feelings
 
Retro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Kentucky, USA (trying to get back to Texas)
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
There's some pretty nutty WALTER going on in that theme for reasons I can't fathom. The base layout has this:

Code:
set mcp.trackidx [0 -102 73 2 0 1 0 1]
set mcp.trackidx.margin  	[25 927 15 0 0 0]
so that's drawing it at ...er... -102, and then pushing it into view with a massive 927px margin. And there doesn't seem to be a reason why. The whole theme is almost entirely static WALTER, so there doesn't seem to be a need for unexpected cleverness. You have removed the nutty margin, but you're still drawing in a strange place, so it seems to me you're heading in the right direction by writing your own WALTER instead of tweaking.

If an element is giving you trouble, I'd suggest replacing its image with something ugly, like a block of semi transparent full red, and then doing a new layout that just goes:

Code:
Layout "testing"
clear mcp.*
set mcp.size [blah]
set my element [values you're wondering about]
EndLayout
FWIW the theme also contains reverse_margin references in the TCP, READ THIS for my thoughts on that
Thanks White Tie,

Yeah, the Walter has got my head spinning at times (doesn't take much to get this newbie head spinning) wondering why did you do it like this. Such a negative take on things (a real glass half empty approach )

Edit: Question - was this mysterious coder in your post named "Nick?"

Last edited by Retro; 06-28-2020 at 09:36 AM.
Retro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 09:43 AM   #5
Retro
Human being with feelings
 
Retro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Kentucky, USA (trying to get back to Texas)
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
There's some pretty nutty WALTER going on in that theme for reasons I can't fathom. The base layout has this:

Code:
set mcp.trackidx [0 -102 73 2 0 1 0 1]
set mcp.trackidx.margin  	[25 927 15 0 0 0]
so that's drawing it at ...er... -102, and then pushing it into view with a massive 927px margin. And there doesn't seem to be a reason why. The whole theme is almost entirely static WALTER, so there doesn't seem to be a need for unexpected cleverness. You have removed the nutty margin, but you're still drawing in a strange place, so it seems to me you're heading in the right direction by writing your own WALTER instead of tweaking.
What if I resized the MCP and increased the height and got rid of the negative number. I am still trying to wrap my head around what is going on with these negative numbers and the positioning of the trackidx bg and the idx number and how the two relate.
Retro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 10:04 AM   #6
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 3,065
Default

I'd suggest you don't bother trying to get your head around the existing code. Decide where you want your element, draw it, go about your day.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 10:18 AM   #7
Retro
Human being with feelings
 
Retro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Kentucky, USA (trying to get back to Texas)
Posts: 187
Default

It is something about the new background. I can load the background I made for the version without external meter scale and works fine. I can load original background with scale and it works fine. But when I use the version I added the scale which I drew on separate layer with pixel tool it doesn't recognize background. Strange, because it is the same one I made that works with only an added layer with the meter scale thrown on top (pink and yellow line layer topmost).
Retro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 10:44 AM   #8
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 3,065
Default

Ah yes, your pink and yellow lines' colours are corrupted. I suspect a program has done some unwanted colourspace management.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 12:40 PM   #9
Retro
Human being with feelings
 
Retro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Kentucky, USA (trying to get back to Texas)
Posts: 187
Default

Yeah, I am checking the png and Affinity Designer keeps wanting to render my pink lines at 240 255 0. This is becoming irritating. I am fiddling with setting trying to figure out whats off. It shouldn't be this difficult to get pure color!


Edit: Still doesn't solve the idx number issue. I am working on the mcp background and looking at ditching the idx background image. It causes more problems than its worth I think.
Retro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 02:00 PM   #10
Retro
Human being with feelings
 
Retro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Kentucky, USA (trying to get back to Texas)
Posts: 187
Default

I tried loading the image into PS and adding the pink lines -- still corrupted. Finally, fired up my DAW and used it to render - perfect pink! It is as I have suspect for some time, the issue is my computer -- which explains why it has followed me from Inkscape to Photoshop to Affinity Designer.
Retro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 05:40 AM   #11
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 3,065
Default

What's your operating system?
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 06:09 AM   #12
Retro
Human being with feelings
 
Retro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Kentucky, USA (trying to get back to Texas)
Posts: 187
Default

Windows
Retro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.