Old 12-27-2019, 10:49 AM   #321
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 1,236
Default

Next question is, do you always put everything in a folder, regardless?

What if, say, track 1 is a folder. In that folder is tracks 2 and 3. Tracks 4 and 5 are not in a folder.

With the folder track not collapsed you will see tracks 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5.

If you collapse the folder track you will see tracks 1, 4 and 5.

I am wondering how obvious it is, at a glance, that tracks 4 and 5 are not in the folder. At a glance... I know you can tell by looking at the track numbers.


(I'm leading up to something here... Something I have just been messing with)
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2019, 11:08 AM   #322
b0se
Human being with feelings
 
b0se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by synkrotron View Post
Next question is, do you always put everything in a folder, regardless?

What if, say, track 1 is a folder. In that folder is tracks 2 and 3. Tracks 4 and 5 are not in a folder.

With the folder track not collapsed you will see tracks 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5.

If you collapse the folder track you will see tracks 1, 4 and 5.

I am wondering how obvious it is, at a glance, that tracks 4 and 5 are not in the folder. At a glance... I know you can tell by looking at the track numbers.


(I'm leading up to something here... Something I have just been messing with)
I have no idea, I don't use folders on the MCP as it defeats the idea of a mixing desk/UI :¬)

It will act however the default V6 theme acts, as it's based off that. Have you found something that could be better implemented?
b0se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2019, 11:14 AM   #323
Dasco
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 21
Default

Amazing work, so excited to try this baby. Only reason i mentioned the bevels was because i knew i'd probably end up staring at this screen in my work every day for next X years and felt that 'now' was the time to speak up. Great to know it should be fairly simple to tweak to my tastes though.

Quote:
Are you using a standard resolution monitor?
I'm using 5k monitor (Retina iMac 27") hope that will look fine on there. Also in OSX new "Dark Mode". Hope that all plays nicely.

Best
Dasco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2019, 11:15 AM   #324
b0se
Human being with feelings
 
b0se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 898
Default

I just redesigned the 'light' (e.g. MIDI editor) scrollbars.

The TCP layout, although it's likely simple, is causing me trouble, I've not been able to fix it yet, and I'm now off out for the evening.

I've written most of the guide and collected the files etc, so once the layout is sorted it'll be launched ASAP tomorrow :¬)

Thanks everyone for your help, super helpful!
b0se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2019, 11:19 AM   #325
fladd
Human being with feelings
 
fladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 978
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by synkrotron View Post
I found this, eventually:-



and

Wouldn't it make more sense to have these arrows on the right side of the folder parent? Since the folder parent itself stays, but the tracks right to it are collapsed.
__________________
www.fladd.de/sound
fladd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2019, 11:21 AM   #326
SBK
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 257
Default

this looks promising! keep it up
SBK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2019, 11:21 AM   #327
b0se
Human being with feelings
 
b0se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fladd View Post
Wouldn't it make more sense to have these arrows on the right side of the folder parent? Since the folder parent itself stays, but the tracks right to it are collapsed.
Beyond my control, send feature request to Reaper devs.
b0se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2019, 11:34 AM   #328
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 1,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b0se View Post
Have you found something that could be better implemented?
Possibly, but it is just a matter of opinion. I've made a separate post...
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2019, 10:33 PM   #329
tonybeepbeep
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Norway
Posts: 226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b0se View Post
I prefer 1080p for 30" (and around that) screens that you sit right in front of.

I'm using a 65" TV as a monitor, about 7" away, which is running 1080P HiDPI mode (2x scale). Super small retina text on 24" or 30" screens doesn't do it for me.

YMMV of course!
With the studio desk that I have I'm about 50cm away and my 47 year old eyes are feeling it nowadays. I'm on a dual 24" set up at the moment and 125% scaling on W10 seems to be a good compromise.

Cheers for the reply
tonybeepbeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 05:15 AM   #330
b0se
Human being with feelings
 
b0se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 898
Default

Track ID lager on the TCP (cheers Phelix):



Still trying to figure out how to make a new layout that works with the three size options.



Am I overthinking it? Do I just create one?

@White Tie ?
b0se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 05:20 AM   #331
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 1,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b0se View Post
Track ID lager on the TCP
I must admit that I prefer cider...
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 05:24 AM   #332
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 1,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b0se View Post
Still trying to figure out how to make a new layout that works with the three size options.
I'm confused. Why can't you do the same as the V6 theme? I thought you were using the same code, with the "scale" value? So it is just a matter of having a set of updated images in the appropriate folder.
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 05:31 AM   #333
b0se
Human being with feelings
 
b0se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by synkrotron View Post
I'm confused. Why can't you do the same as the V6 theme? I thought you were using the same code, with the "scale" value? So it is just a matter of having a set of updated images in the appropriate folder.
I'm more confused Andy :¬)

I've created a new folder (200-alt), but don't know how to implement it in rtconfig, since there are multiple layout definitions for ABC.

Is it just a case of copy/pasting the three definitions of, say, A, with just a folder difference?

What boggles my brain a bit is that 150%_X (DPI-translated to 200%_A) and A (DPI-translated to 200%_A) are identical on my system when used (I don't have a 150 folder). And that 200%_X literally doubles the size of everything (although I use the 200 folder).

Ehh.
b0se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 05:46 AM   #334
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 1,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b0se View Post
Is it just a case of copy/pasting the three definitions of, say, A, with just a folder difference?
Yes.

This is the unmodified R6 code for a TCP layout:-

Code:
Layout "150%_A" "150"
		set scale 1.5
		calcTcpSecs scale

		then tcp.recarm 		20 			0
		then tcp.recmon 		15 			0
		then tcp.label 	   tcp_LabelSize 	0
		then tcp.volume     tcp_VolSize 	0
		then tcp.io 			34 			1
		then fx_group 			36 			1
		then tcp.env 			41 			1
		then pan_group		tcp_PanSize		1
		then tcp.recmode 		39 			1
		then input_group 	tcp_InSize 		1

		set tcp.label  .
		drawTcp scale

	EndLayout

So, where is says "150" that is the name of the folder that REAPER looks in for the images for that particular layout.

The line "set scale 1.5" ensures that all the elements in the macro a scaled up accordingly.

If you do not tell REAPER in the rtconfig file to look in a folder, as shown, it will use the images it finds in the root folder of the theme and it will stretch the images, which isn't going to look great.


I hope that helps.

I realise that I am probably not explaining things very well.


cheers

andy
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 05:54 AM   #335
b0se
Human being with feelings
 
b0se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by synkrotron View Post
Yes.

This is the unmodified R6 code for a TCP layout:-

Code:
Layout "150%_A" "150"
		set scale 1.5
		calcTcpSecs scale

		then tcp.recarm 		20 			0
		then tcp.recmon 		15 			0
		then tcp.label 	   tcp_LabelSize 	0
		then tcp.volume     tcp_VolSize 	0
		then tcp.io 			34 			1
		then fx_group 			36 			1
		then tcp.env 			41 			1
		then pan_group		tcp_PanSize		1
		then tcp.recmode 		39 			1
		then input_group 	tcp_InSize 		1

		set tcp.label  .
		drawTcp scale

	EndLayout

So, where is says "150" that is the name of the folder that REAPER looks in for the images for that particular layout.

The line "set scale 1.5" ensures that all the elements in the macro a scaled up accordingly.

If you do not tell REAPER in the rtconfig file to look in a folder, as shown, it will use the images it finds in the root folder of the theme and it will stretch the images, which isn't going to look great.


I hope that helps.

I realise that I am probably not explaining things very well.


cheers

andy
That's what confuses me, from day 1 I worked from the 200 folder and the default layout. I don't even have a 150 folder (deleted it), and yet that very layout uses the files I changed in the 200 folder.

I'll see what happens if I change it to:

Layout "150%_A" "200"

Thanks for helping!
b0se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 05:55 AM   #336
mykrobinson
Human being with feelings
 
mykrobinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b0se View Post
That's what confuses me, from day 1 I worked from the 200 folder and the default layout. I don't even have a 150 folder (deleted it), and yet that very layout uses the files I changed in the 200 folder.

I'll see what happens if I change it to:

Layout "150%_A" "200"

Thanks for helping!
My theory is that it'll work fine. Graphics will typically scale down without issue. Its the up that gets you.
mykrobinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 07:09 AM   #337
b0se
Human being with feelings
 
b0se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 898
Default

OK, it's official - I need some help, I can't get the alternate TCP layout working at all.

I can get it so it loads the GFX, but the text is huge and everything is stretched (i.e. upscaled). Plus I have no idea how to get the other versions (as you see below) working:



There are multiple definitions for A, B and C. Adding 'D' isn't as simple as I thought.

Hit a brick wall.
b0se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 07:28 AM   #338
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,365
Default

b0se first thing I would do is go back to a standard installation of the default theme. You said you don't have a 150 folder and you deleted it. But if you're trying to build on the default theme, you probably want to get those folders back so you can build off them just like the default theme does. Hope that makes sense. Just what I'd do if I were troubleshooting: limit the variables.
Funkybot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 07:33 AM   #339
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 1,236
Default

I've gone to town for some "fresh air." If you still have not sussed it out by the time I get back we'll do some deep thinking...

Laters
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 07:47 AM   #340
b0se
Human being with feelings
 
b0se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
b0se first thing I would do is go back to a standard installation of the default theme. You said you don't have a 150 folder and you deleted it. But if you're trying to build on the default theme, you probably want to get those folders back so you can build off them just like the default theme does. Hope that makes sense. Just what I'd do if I were troubleshooting: limit the variables.
It's all based off the default theme. I can add the 150 folder back again easily, but when I tried changing the 150 folder GFX (using a 150% layout), nothing changed. It was only when using the 200 folder that it worked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by synkrotron View Post
I've gone to town for some "fresh air." If you still have not sussed it out by the time I get back we'll do some deep thinking...

Laters
I won't have it sussed out

Now off to get lunch also! I'd very much appreciate your help - ping me a PM when you're back.
b0se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 09:43 AM   #341
glymur
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 35
Default

@b0se, I don't think the folder matters for the menu. If the "Layout" still exists in code, it will still show up. Have you removed the 150 layout from the rtconfig.txt?
glymur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 05:10 AM   #342
b0se
Human being with feelings
 
b0se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glymur View Post
@b0se, I don't think the folder matters for the menu. If the "Layout" still exists in code, it will still show up. Have you removed the 150 layout from the rtconfig.txt?
No, the 150% code is still there, as that's what (weirdly) works on my system. 150% layout, but it uses images in the 200 folder (even if the 150 folder exists).
b0se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 05:20 AM   #343
b0se
Human being with feelings
 
b0se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 898
Default

Added the customer colour palette (and made it default) to Theme Adjuster:



b0se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 05:47 AM   #344
benf
Human being with feelings
 
benf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 2,807
Default

Hello,
I find your theme very easy on the eyes.
Thanks for that hard work. I'm actually on Jeanne V theme, but I think I'll switch to yours as soon as you share it.
__________________
Listen and download my music on https://benest.bandcamp.com/
benf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 06:02 AM   #345
glymur
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b0se View Post
No, the 150% code is still there, as that's what (weirdly) works on my system. 150% layout, but it uses images in the 200 folder (even if the 150 folder exists).
Oh,, hmm... might be best to post your rtconfig.txt somewhere.
glymur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 06:09 AM   #346
+NRG
Human being with feelings
 
+NRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 687
Default

Custom colors look great!
__________________
“Where words fail, music speaks”
+NRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 06:17 AM   #347
BoonrutSiri
Human being with feelings
 
BoonrutSiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Thailand
Posts: 8
Default

Super Smooth can't wait bOse
BoonrutSiri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 06:57 AM   #348
b0se
Human being with feelings
 
b0se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benf View Post
Hello,
I find your theme very easy on the eyes.
Thanks for that hard work. I'm actually on Jeanne V theme, but I think I'll switch to yours as soon as you share it.
Just need to sort the alternative layout and it's ready. Harder to do than it seems though!

Quote:
Originally Posted by glymur View Post
Oh,, hmm... might be best to post your rtconfig.txt somewhere.
Any idea where? Or do you mean in tis thread? :¬)

Quote:
Originally Posted by +NRG View Post
Custom colors look great!
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoonrutSiri View Post
Super Smooth can't wait bOse
Cheers!
b0se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 07:16 AM   #349
glymur
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b0se View Post
Any idea where? Or do you mean in tis thread? :¬)
https://gist.github.com works for files.
glymur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 07:32 AM   #350
b0se
Human being with feelings
 
b0se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glymur View Post
https://gist.github.com works for files.
Cheers. Here's the rtconfig:

https://gist.github.com/conscienta/7...3736244fbaa7ee
b0se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 08:07 AM   #351
b0se
Human being with feelings
 
b0se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 898
Default

PhelixK and synkrotron have both been helping with the rtconfig. Big thanks to these guys!

There seem to be compromises, as the theme and the theme adjuster are intrinsically linked - more so than I originally thought.

I am tempted to just release two versions of the theme (i.e. Smooth 6A and Smooth 6B), rather than having the TCP layout as an internal option. It would solve a lot of problems by circumventing them!
b0se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 08:27 AM   #352
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 1,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b0se View Post
Big thanks to these guys!
And much fun was had, and much sleep lost haha!

Quote:
There seem to be compromises, as the theme and the theme adjuster are intrinsically linked - more so than I originally thought.
Yes, indeed.

I was surprised with what I wasable to do with it, but it sounds like it didn't translate to your HiDPI setup, which is a shame.

Quote:
I am tempted to just release two versions of the theme (i.e. Smooth 6A and Smooth 6B), rather than having the TCP layout as an internal option. It would solve a lot of problems by circumventing them!
I was thinking along the same lines at one point.

At the end of the day it would be down to the expectations of the Smooth theme users.

Would they want to tweak settings with the Theme Adjuster?

Or would they be happy with a pretty much fixed layout.

Personally, as much as I like faffing with the Theme Adjuster, I tend to quickly settle on layout settings and don't bother tweaking again, and that is pretty much why I have gone down that route with my own little theme. WALTER is much, much easier to follow and understand
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 08:32 AM   #353
b0se
Human being with feelings
 
b0se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by synkrotron View Post
And much fun was had, and much sleep lost haha!

Yes, indeed.

I was surprised with what I wasable to do with it, but it sounds like it didn't translate to your HiDPI setup, which is a shame.

I was thinking along the same lines at one point.

At the end of the day it would be down to the expectations of the Smooth theme users.

Would they want to tweak settings with the Theme Adjuster?

Or would they be happy with a pretty much fixed layout.

Personally, as much as I like faffing with the Theme Adjuster, I tend to quickly settle on layout settings and don't bother tweaking again, and that is pretty much why I have gone down that route with my own little theme. WALTER is much, much easier to follow and understand
That's why I like it though, you set your preferences and you're done. We only do that once (mostly), but once multiplied by the numbers of users soon stacks up :¬)
b0se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 08:33 AM   #354
+NRG
Human being with feelings
 
+NRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 687
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b0se View Post
PhelixK and synkrotron have both been helping with the rtconfig. Big thanks to these guys!

There seem to be compromises, as the theme and the theme adjuster are intrinsically linked - more so than I originally thought.

I am tempted to just release two versions of the theme (i.e. Smooth 6A and Smooth 6B), rather than having the TCP layout as an internal option. It would solve a lot of problems by circumventing them!
That seems like a logical resolution. Many themes have variations...
__________________
“Where words fail, music speaks”
+NRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 08:37 AM   #355
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 1,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b0se View Post
but once multiplied by the numbers of users soon stacks up :¬)
Absolutely, and for a theme to be taken seriously it has to have that flexibility without the end users having to go "under the hood" like we have been doing.

That Theme Adjuster, for me, is a game changer for the majority of REAPER users.
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 08:40 AM   #356
b0se
Human being with feelings
 
b0se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by synkrotron View Post
Absolutely, and for a theme to be taken seriously it has to have that flexibility without the end users having to go "under the hood" like we have been doing.

That Theme Adjuster, for me, is a game changer for the majority of REAPER users.
Yeah it's a fantastic addition. I love being able to tweak the UI (easily) for my own preferences.
b0se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 08:47 AM   #357
Delucci
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 204
Default

@b0se Sorry if I'm lost, but faders in TCP would be an excelent alternative for theme B, I like to work with faders :-)
Delucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 08:50 AM   #358
b0se
Human being with feelings
 
b0se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 898
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delucci View Post
@b0se Sorry if I'm lost, but faders in TCP would be an excelent alternative for theme B, I like to work with faders :-)
TCP Layout B has faders :¬)
b0se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 09:03 AM   #359
Delucci
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b0se View Post
TCP Layout B has faders :¬)
Wow, thats nice!! Cant wait to test this theme!!
Delucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2019, 09:10 AM   #360
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5,009
Default

"Tic Tac Tic Tac"
Sorry, just dying here to see it being released.

Awesome work, really !
__________________
Reaper - OSX (always latest version)
OSX Catalina (always latest version)
My Reaper Tips&Tricks: https://www.youtube.com/user/vanhaze2000/playlists
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.