COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 04-09-2011, 04:30 PM   #1
olilarkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,248
Default 64bit vst osx

anyone done it yet? it works for me in reaper64 but in cubase 6 i don't see a gui. Non gui plugins are ok.

was surprised that in cubase 6 32bit osx, the plugin's carbon gui opens even though cubase 6 is a cocoa app. I wonder if there's any way to set the cocoa view as the prefered ui view

oli
__________________
VirtualCZ | Endless Series | iPlug2 | Linkedin | Facebook
olilarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 05:39 PM   #2
olilarkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,248
Default

here's a quick fix to force cocoa ui on 64 bit vst hosts other than reaper. need to see if there's a better solution.

in IPlugVST.cpp


Code:
    case effEditOpen:
    {
      IGraphics* pGraphics = _this->GetGUI();
	    if (pGraphics)
      {
#ifdef _WIN32
        if (!pGraphics->OpenWindow(ptr)) pGraphics=0;
#else   // OSX, check if we are in a Cocoa VST host
#if defined(__LP64__) // if 64 bit has to be cocoa
        if (!pGraphics->OpenWindow(ptr)) pGraphics=0;
#else
        bool iscocoa = (_this->mHasVSTExtensions&VSTEXT_COCOA); // basically just checks if running in reaper
        if (iscocoa && !pGraphics->OpenWindow(ptr)) pGraphics=0; // if running in reaper and failed to open cocoa window, set pGraphics to 0
        if (!iscocoa && !pGraphics->OpenWindow(ptr, 0)) pGraphics=0;// if not running in reaper and failed to open carbon window, set pGraphics to 0 
#endif
#endif
        if (pGraphics)
        {
          _this->OnGUIOpen();
          return 1;
        }
	    }
	    return 0;
    }
__________________
VirtualCZ | Endless Series | iPlug2 | Linkedin | Facebook
olilarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 02:33 AM   #3
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,645
Default

No, I haven't built a x86-64 VST on Mac OS X yet. I also haven't had even a single ComboV user ask for it.
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.