COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 05-27-2013, 02:28 AM   #1
AndreZ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 18
Default A few beginner questions

Hi there newbie here

I started writing VST plugins with the Steinberg SDK a few months back, but switched to IPlug now because the guy who is in charge of the GUI said IPlug is better suited.

So i know the structure of a plugin and understand what the functions do, even if im not always sure how.

1. What do i need to include? In VST SDK i just needed to include the plugininterface headers (aeffect etc.) and the headers in the folder with audioeffect.h, as well as a .def file. I see that the VST SDK is also included in IPlug. We are only writing a VST, so no AU etc. support needed.

2. How does on param change work? In VST SDK there is a function for cooking the variables from 0-1 to the needed scale and one for "decooking" them. How does this work in IPlug.

3. Is there an easy example or a template project that someone has, something similar to the AGain example? That was really helpful for my understanding.


Thank you so much! This is for our Bachelor thesis in Electrical Engineering btw., so i really dont mind reading up on things, i just need some pointers
AndreZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 04:13 AM   #2
olilarkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,248
Default

https://github.com/olilarkin/wdl-ol

(whole bunch of examples here) https://github.com/olilarkin/wdl-ol/.../IPlugExamples

or

http://www.taletn.com/wdl/

some (slightly out of date) videos to get started here:

http://olilarkin.blogspot.co.uk/search/label/iplug
__________________
VirtualCZ | Endless Series | iPlug2 | Linkedin | Facebook
olilarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 04:22 AM   #3
AndreZ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 18
Default

Cheers! I found the IPlugEffect example and created a new project to try and code an empty plugin that does nothing. I've almost got all the includes down

One more question though: I dont know in what kind of relation several projects have in one solution. For example you have an "Iplug" project in the solutions that contains the sdk. Does the "IPlugEffect-vst2" automatically inherit? Sorry if these are stupid questions, but im pretty confused...

I will have a look at the links and try to learn new stuff
AndreZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 04:33 AM   #4
olilarkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,248
Default

i would highly recommend using the duplicate script and cloning one of the examples rather than making a new IDE project from scratch.
__________________
VirtualCZ | Endless Series | iPlug2 | Linkedin | Facebook
olilarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 04:39 AM   #5
AndreZ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 18
Default

Yes i just watched the video. Brilliant! Will try that. I guess i have to figure out the functions on my own. I also need a convolution in my plugin and have spent the last week trying to understand the convoengine that comes with iplug. I understand the principle behind it from my signal theory classes but the code is a bit unreadable for me, so i may have to write my own convolution engine...

Thanks anyway!

edit: you have a very relaxing voice btw (thats a good thing)
AndreZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 07:41 AM   #6
AndreZ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 18
Default

The duplicate script keeps crashing at line 41 (invalid syntax) and i can't figure out whats wrong... I have python installed and im in the right folder.
AndreZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 07:48 AM   #7
olilarkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,248
Default

which version of python? it only works with 2.x i think. what platform?
__________________
VirtualCZ | Endless Series | iPlug2 | Linkedin | Facebook
olilarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 08:05 AM   #8
AndreZ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 18
Default

oh ok i have 33 installed. I'll try it with an earlier version

edit: that fixed it. Thanks for your input, i hope i can take it from here...

Last edited by AndreZ; 05-27-2013 at 08:18 AM.
AndreZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.