Old 01-01-2008, 08:46 AM   #1
schwa
Administrator

Default how bad to require 10.5?

Hi Mac people. I've got most of my plugins ported to OSX, and I've made both VST and AU versions. But I'm new to Mac, and I think I've been suckered by what seems to be a common Apple development problem, which I wasn't looking out for.

Without getting too technical, apparently I have to choose between making my code backwards compatible, or forwards compatible, or else doing everything twice, which is annoying. (I am happy to get more technical if anyone listening is familiar with the cocoa-in-carbon problem.)

The code I've written, following all of Apple's current development recommendations, is compatible with any audio host program, no matter how outdated the host's programming is, but only if the user is running 10.5. To make my plugins work in 10.4 and earlier, I need to rewrite a bunch of code to do things the old way, which will eventually not be supported by Mac.

So the question is: how bad is it to require 10.5? I know audio users tend to be conservative about upgrading, because it's costly to intentionally make your setup unusable for an unknown period of time. On the other hand, developers of new applications will all face the same problem I'm having, and many of them will opt to require 10.5, which will in turn cause more users to upgrade.

(In the Windows world, something like this would be dealt with by providing a redistributable library component, which developers can distribute with their applications. As far as I can tell, this doesn't happen in the OSX world.)

All advice is appreciated in this strange new world. Thanks!

(To be clear, I'm talking only about my own plugins, not Reaper. OSX Reaper runs fine under 10.4.)
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2008, 11:43 AM   #2
GIlJanus
Human being with feelings

This is my perspective.