Old 08-06-2020, 02:16 PM   #1
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 138
Default residual item after edits

After copy, paste, split, duplication, things like that, I end up with very small piece of item, that seem to have no lenght, because they don't change thei lenght when I zoom horizontally at max. Annoying visual bug !


Last edited by Loulou92; 08-06-2020 at 07:16 PM.
Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2020, 06:56 PM   #2
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 138
Default imgs

other atifacts... the artifact at the end of the item (first image of the next message) comes and go, depending on the bar or the zoom level.

Last edited by Loulou92; 08-06-2020 at 07:06 PM.
Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2020, 06:58 PM   #3
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 138
Default

here are the images





on the picture just above, you see the weird small items make the grid disappear here and there.

Last edited by Loulou92; 08-06-2020 at 07:05 PM.
Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2020, 07:02 PM   #4
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 138
Default

here the end of the item is invisible

Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2020, 07:03 PM   #5
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 138
Default

here you can see the very small piece of item above another item. This thing has no lenght, but it can be selected. I have to delete them manually.

Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 12:09 AM   #6
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,750
Default

I recently sax a session like that but it wast mine, i don't know what went wrong on editing side,
but to delete all these unecessary items, I have made a script to select all items below a certain length threshold. 0.3seconds is usally fine, but you can set lower. Then, just delete the items.


For the End item visual artifact I also remember having see this once... I dont remember what was the issue... What if you use the action to set item end to end of its source ? Could that correct the rounding issue ?


Also, consider putting your .rpp online so people can try to see and experiment with your issue.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 11:08 AM   #7
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 138
Default

Ok thank you, I'll try your script, taht might solve it !!

Sharing the .rpp : Problem is that I use long cycle actions for edition tasks that can only work with pre-determined sets of tracks, some hidden, some visible. I have a very specific way of working, where one track has all its freeze history embeded into it (I made my own freeze setup to improve freeze workflow with hardware synths).

Sharing the .rpp won't be of any help unless you have also my actions, config etc... Tricky bug hunt.

I suspect all these visual bugs might come from my use of long cycle actions (60 or more actions in it) ; they use scripts of all sorts, SWS actions etc etc.

What a shame ! Because the actions work very nicely, but somewhere, there must be something Reaper can't handle and so I end up with all these little artifacts...

I'll try also "set item end to end of its source" maybe that will solve it ! BUt in these examples, for examples, these items contain nothing. They are empty midi items. But anyway I'll have a look later. I'm not familiar with this action.

Thank you, and thank you for your scripts, my current workflow would not be possible without the work of you guys... You are super smart, you care about others... I mean, you scripters are terrific enablers. I owe you my workflow .

Last edited by Loulou92; 08-07-2020 at 11:51 AM.
Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 11:20 AM   #8
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 138
Default

I tried your script "select all items below lenght threshold on selected tracks".

I don't know if it's possible, but I'd love to have the possibility to set once and for all a value in the code, and don't have the "prompt for user input" everytime.
The user could duplicate the script, use different value, and end up with a set of actions that would work inside custom cycle actions without the need to input values.
Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 11:27 AM   #9
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 138
Default

After some investigation, I think the super small items appear when splitting with time selection, where Time selection start or end is at the same position as the item's edge about to get split.

Last edited by Loulou92; 08-07-2020 at 11:39 AM.
Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 11:31 AM   #10
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 138
Default

And so yeah, your "select all items below lenght threshold on selected tracks" script is incredibly useful, added to my actions, I can get rid of the residual items. If you can create a "no prompt" version, that would be fantastic. I could actually give you money if you are too busy because I'm very lazy and I don't want to push enter each time I edit something hahaha (all my split/copy/cut/move are going to use the script) !!!

Edit : and sorry for the multiple messages...

Last edited by Loulou92; 08-07-2020 at 11:50 AM.
Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 01:10 PM   #11
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 138
Default

hahaha I did it myself. FIrst time coding. It works !! The ugliest punk script alteration ever, sorry !! For people reading, do the same thing, and put the value you want instead of the green 0.3. you can save different versions in your script folder then. No more prompt.

Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 02:01 PM   #12
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,750
Default

Thanks for your stimulating message, and glad you fond a way to mod the script to your needs :P


If you can confirm and replicate your time selection split error it could considered as a valid bug. You can post GIF screen capture in this case.


Cheers !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2020, 03:33 PM   #13
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 138
Default

The action I use to duplicate time selection content at edit cursor on selected tracks is working as expected. So it's something else.

You were right about "set item end to source media end". It solves the item's end disappearance. All the tools are at hand !

I'll try to figure out where is the culprit of the problem while reviewing my actions.

Thank you for your help !
Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 07:49 AM   #14
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Thanks for your stimulating message, and glad you fond a way to mod the script to your needs :P


If you can confirm and replicate your time selection split error it could considered as a valid bug. You can post GIF screen capture in this case.


Cheers !
Hey X-Raym, most of my issues are now solved. But I have the same problem than with items, but with automation items. Very small automation items appear along the way. Do you think of releasing a script similar to the one you have for normal items for automation items ? (something like "select all automation items below lenght threshold on selected tracks" ?). Thanks !
Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 09:36 AM   #15
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,750
Default

Just released X-Raym_Select all automation items below length threshold on selected tracks.lua for you. Should be good !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 09:47 AM   #16
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 138
Default

Wow man... Thank you <3 !!! Testing this evening !
Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 10:05 AM   #17
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 138
Default

It works perfectly. Thank You X-Raym !

Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 10:34 AM   #18
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,750
Default

Glad it works :P


I invite you to support my work with donation if you can :P Any support helps !


Cheers !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 10:38 AM   #19
Loulou92
Human being with feelings
 
Loulou92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Paris
Posts: 138
Default

Done !
Loulou92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 11:30 AM   #20
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,750
Default

Thanks for the tip Enjoy the scripts !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.