Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

View Poll Results: Should Post Fader Insert Options Be Added to Reaper's Master Channel?
Yes, this would be great! 7 77.78%
No, this is not needed. 2 22.22%
There is already a way to do this. 0 0%
Don't know/Don't care 0 0%
Voters: 9. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2019, 08:42 AM   #1
TheMixNation
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Default Master Fader Post Effects VST Inserts

* Request
This would be the addition of a post-master fader insert chain for including VSTs after master volume changes.

* Benefit
Specifically, this would be especially useful for post-master fader volume monitoring VSTs (such as Youlean LUFS meter) which presently only read the volume pre-fader. Additionally, some might choose to put a brickwall limiter or other effect after the fader to ensure that any manual boosts do not exceed desired output levels.

* Reason
Currently, inserted meters such as the Reaper native VU plugin, or third-party plugins such as the aforementioned Youlean LUFS meter, react only to audio levels before the master fader. When adjustments to the master fader are made, they are not reflected in the metering output. This is problematic if one is trying to raise/lower the master fader to compensate for the entire mix output and the meters are not accurately reflecting changes.

* Implementation Suggestion
Add a post-master fader insert chain option to the master channel window. This is best seen for example in Presonus' Studio One; which currently implements this behavior. This article, https://pcaudiolabs.com/pre-and-post...-studio-one-4/ provides an excellent description of the feature as well as supporting screen shots.

Last edited by TheMixNation; 09-13-2019 at 08:47 AM. Reason: clarification: "third" to "third-party"
TheMixNation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2019, 07:08 AM   #2
TheMixNation
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Default I am surprised...

This didn't get the response I was hoping for, tbh. Am I and one other person the only ones who think this would be beneficial? This has huge benefits, especially for finalizing/mastering.
TheMixNation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 11:10 AM   #3
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 777
Default

you can use multiple submixes and insert your metering plugins on one of them.
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 05:54 AM   #4
beingmf
Human being with feelings
 
beingmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jazz City
Posts: 3,949
Default

Why would you ever move the master fader?
__________________
Windows 7x64 SP2 | NVidia Quadro2000, 10.18.13.6191 | Marian Seraph AD2, 4.0.7.1
Experience the Blunzeworscht!
beingmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 04:19 PM   #5
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 9,140
Default

This is what monitoring fx inserts are for.

Judders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 05:11 PM   #6
USR
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Judders View Post
This is what monitoring fx inserts are for.
You cannot render the monitoring FX, I think? But adding an option to render the monitoring FX chain could possibly be easier for the devs to implement, compared to what TheMixNation suggested.
USR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 05:16 PM   #7
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 9,140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by USR View Post
You cannot render the monitoring FX, I think? But adding an option to render the monitoring FX chain could possibly be easier for the devs to implement, compared to what TheMixNation suggested.
No, you would want a master group before the master fader for that. For all metering it is perfect though.

There is a mix bus script in ReaPack that creates a master track. I've go it in my tool bar, so it's just a mouse click. This is also more CPU efficient than putting plugins on the master track.
Judders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2019, 01:12 PM   #8
Fredy Akira
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 14
Default Post-fader Inserts - we need it

[QUOTE=TheMixNation;2181134]* Request
This would be the addition of a post-master fader insert chain for including VSTs after master volume changes.

We need it in all channels. Many DAWs have this feature. It's basic for a Pro mixing engine... maybe on Reaper version 10!!
Fredy Akira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 03:40 AM   #9
Ericson
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 18
Default

+1 Big Time!

Some plugins like Soundradix requires the fader to be post-fader to work correctly.

"
To get the most effective results you ideally want to feed Soundradix Pi the correctly balanced volumes for each channel in the mix, which is why Sound Radix recommends placing the plug-in post-fader
"

@devs, please please give us per fader the option to set it to post-fader.
Ericson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 02:57 PM   #10
Fredy Akira
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 14
Default Sure!! we need it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ericson View Post
+1 Big Time!

Some plugins like Soundradix requires the fader to be post-fader to work correctly.

"
To get the most effective results you ideally want to feed Soundradix Pi the correctly balanced volumes for each channel in the mix, which is why Sound Radix recommends placing the plug-in post-fader
"

@devs, please please give us per fader the option to set it to post-fader.
++ I'am a Pi user as well!! So tedious to use it without Post Fader Inserts in all channels.!!
Fredy Akira is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.