Old 04-03-2018, 07:38 PM   #1
D Rocks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 517
Default Built-In FX Parameter linking on Differents Tracks

Hi guys

This is an idea for a Feature Request to a Reaper Update in the future.

What do you think of built-in capacity to link FX parameters on different tracks?
For example: We have one ReaEQ on a Bass track and one ReaEq on a Kick track loaded.
Now what we want to do is inverse link the Gain and Frequency of one band in the ReaEQ to be able to sculpt space for each element in the mix.
If reducing the band in the Bass ReaEQ FX, it follows inversly on the Kick track by boosting the same amount it cuts on the bass.

This could be a new option in the parameter modulation window.
"Link with other track in project"

Its not a absolutely needed feature, but I think that if we have this built-in, it will open up a very interesting and competitive aspect in Reaper compared to other DAWs and it could help us work even more efficiently. Also it possibility can save money by not needing 3rd party plugins that do these functions like "Neutron 2" for example.

Let me know what you think


Thank you for your interest and feedbacks in advance, even if its negative.
__________________
Alex | www.drocksrecords.com | Thanks for REAPER

Last edited by D Rocks; 04-03-2018 at 07:46 PM.
D Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2018, 08:57 PM   #2
Jack Ruston
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 222
Default

Absolutely
__________________
www.jackruston.com
Jack Ruston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 12:00 AM   #3
timboid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 138
Default

I'd be happy to see this!
timboid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 12:46 AM   #4
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,548
Default

Quote:
Also it possibility can save money by not needing 3rd party plugins that do these functions like "Neutron 2" for example.
MappingPanel does the job for me. I should probably reduce some obsolete functions and improve/simplify GUI core performance though.

Anyway it is good to be native in case of API (so scripters can improve theorectical future REAPER functions into nice GUI since new features are ofter nerdish-look).
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 12:47 AM   #5
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,192
Default

There is a script called "Link selected tracks FX parameter", can be found on ReaPack.
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 04:23 AM   #6
D Rocks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 517
Default

Hey guys thank you for your feedbacks!

I did not find that info when searching for parameter linking so thanks for telling me about those scripts. I'll give it a try and use this until it changes if working!

Everyday I get more impressed with the quality of the REAPER community.

PS: for later viewers please dont consider this topic closed and keep sharing your opinions for this Feature Request
__________________
Alex | www.drocksrecords.com | Thanks for REAPER
D Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 07:19 PM   #7
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,335
Default

There's a number of different ways to do it including at least one plugin that links to other instances of itself across tracks that you can then link to parameters on each track that I can't immediately find right now.

It really would be nice to have it just built into Parameter Modulation, though.
ashcat_lt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 07:31 AM   #8
zigzag312
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 32
Default

+1

This could also be used to set up a global MIDI transpose control for example
zigzag312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 08:47 AM   #9
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,548
Default

Fresh info: it is not possible in real time because of asynchronous tracks nature. The only way to do it is ReaLearn, MappingPanel and pooled Automation Items
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 12:51 PM   #10
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 415
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashcat_lt View Post
There's a number of different ways to do it including at least one plugin that links to other instances of itself across tracks that you can then link to parameters on each track that I can't immediately find right now.

It really would be nice to have it just built into Parameter Modulation, though.
the plugin you mention is probably called Global Sliders, made by Ixix, i use it too with my extension,
just remade my old plug month ago, which uses it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mgh7_3Rg56I,
GlobalSliders is a nice plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpl View Post
Fresh info: it is not possible in real time because of asynchronous tracks nature. The only way to do it is ReaLearn, MappingPanel and pooled Automation Items
Desyncronization is a problem only for MIDI or for Audio too?
I used in few my songs for audio effects and didn't noticed any problems.
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 06:21 AM   #11
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,548
Default

Doesn't matter MIDI/Audio. You can indeed write a jsfx plugin contain controls for gmem value entries shared between jsfx sitting on different tracks, but it will not be synchronised anyway precise enough, afaik.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2019, 10:56 AM   #12
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 415
Default

tried to test it today more with different situations, seems to work ok, atleast for my modest needs, GlobalSliders JSFX indeed uses variable in global scope, which is accessible to every instance of that plugin on one or multiple tracks, i think it's something similar to gmem.
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 02:12 AM   #13
EcBaPr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 174
Default

If this were to be added to Reaper i think the best design would just be using groups.. if you had some shortcut like HOTKEY/RIGHTCLICK you could select on any parameter that opened a groups window.. then you add that parameter to a group and find your next one you wish to link and repeat.. in the groups window you have settings for relationships between the parameters.. stuff like inverted or ratio.. would be good if things could be grouped but don't change 1:1.. ie: raise one volume fader by 6db and the other raises by 3db or 2:1 ratio..

The feature would be powerful and really useful if it could be done globally across most settings not just with plugins..
EcBaPr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.