Old 03-06-2018, 05:40 AM   #1
ALLMEDIALAB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 25
Default How to change color of FX/plugin panels

Hi,

I'm new to Reaper and wonder how to change the color of the FX/plugin panels.
It looks very very white in combination with the Solaris theme!

And only show the vst without the panel is that possible?

Regards,
David

Last edited by ALLMEDIALAB; 03-06-2018 at 05:56 AM.
ALLMEDIALAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2018, 02:58 AM   #2
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 19,132
Default

Sorry you got ambushed by Woogish!

Whilst it is possible to show plugins without the border it becomes a challenge when you have more than on eplugin in a tracks FX chain, since they will all want their own sized real estate as you flip between them. Which kinda defeats the object of the exercise.

There are a bunch of therads in this section on changing background colours of all the elements of Reaper that suffer from this. as far as I know they are all a bit of a compromise.
But a combination of doing a quick search in here and of course waiting till one of our theme-ing experts responds will hopefully get you what you need.
Once again sorry you got such an unpleasant first brush with the forum!
This is unusual. We are for the most part polite and helpful where we can be.
__________________
"What a dick comment. I'm gonna make sure to avoid your name." Dicks other than Trump can speak????
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2018, 03:14 AM   #3
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,078
Default

And ... to show the FX without the panel: right-click the FX button and select the one you want to open.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2018, 06:36 AM   #4
ALLMEDIALAB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 25
Default

Thanks very much!!!

David
ALLMEDIALAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2018, 09:18 AM   #5
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 5,508
Default

It is possible to change the "white bits" in the REAPER GUI but there are a few catches.

* It has to be done via Windows themes by using the "high contrast" options and customizing them.

* You lose the drop shadows and other features of the enhanced Windows themes.

* High contrast themes don't play well with some plugins. On my Win10 system, the meters on Waves plugins don't work with high contrast themes.

I am REALLY hoping this is something that is addressed in REAPER 6 (or possibly sooner). I am a theme designer and this issue is somewhat frustrating, especially considering the attention to detail many of us employ in our designs.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2018, 09:20 AM   #6
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 5,508
Default

I have created a grey high contrast Windows theme which I can post here if you want to try it out (keeping in mind what I posted above).
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2018, 09:58 AM   #7
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,496
Default

By default the (non-gui) chain/plugin window BackColor should match the color of the Track they belong to!
$0.02
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2018, 10:06 AM   #8
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 5,508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
By default the (non-gui) chain/plugin window BackColor should match the color of the Track they belong to!
$0.02
That's a good idea! I like it.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2018, 10:18 AM   #9
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,496
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReaDave View Post
That's a good idea! I like it.
Or just a hint of track color would be nice,
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.