Old 09-24-2013, 03:54 AM   #1
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,596
Default ReaControlMIDI: add/remove CC sliders

It would be awesome if RCM followed the great practice Cockos added in their ReaPlugs - how you can add EQ bands at will, or number of bands in ReaXComp... Being limited to just 5 CCs then needing to load another instance of RCM is a bit tiresome... So please, add two buttons that would create/remove tabs of 5 more CC sliders. "Raw mode" would be global for all created sliders.

Also, why doesn't RCM recognize note-off velocity at all? This is quite a letdown, as my controller does send out note-off velocity. Seems like there isn't a way to edit or even record this data anywhere in Reaper... what a shame.



VOTE: HERE!

Last edited by EvilDragon; 08-08-2016 at 02:02 AM.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 07:31 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,596
Default

Bumperage! Nobody would find this useful? I doubt it!
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 09:34 AM   #3
MikComposer
Human being with feelings
 
MikComposer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brighton
Posts: 1,988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Bumperage! Nobody would find this useful? I doubt it!
Never used ReaControlMIDI. I'll try today..
__________________
My Royalty Free Music library
MikComposer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 12:54 PM   #4
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,678
Default

Hi ED, I don't use it much either but I think this would be great for those that do. I'd vote for it.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 01:04 PM   #5
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,596
Default

Added to the tracker
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 01:08 PM   #6
Susan G
Human being with feelings
 
Susan G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Putnam County, NY, USA
Posts: 3,938
Default

Voted.

-Susan
Susan G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 01:11 PM   #7
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,678
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Susan G View Post
Voted.

-Susan
Same here..
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 01:14 PM   #8
XITE-1/4LIVE
Human being with feelings
 
XITE-1/4LIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Somewhere Between 120 and 150 BPM
Posts: 7,815
Default

I voted too as my MIDI needs and automation chores will be increasing drastically. It's basically replacing an audio engineer by having such needed controls.
And yes, sections of 8 work well for me.
8 drawbars, 8 faders, 8 buttons, 8 push encoders, I see sections of 8 everywhere I go.
When buying alchohol, I can understand a fifth.
But everything else is always an 8th...
__________________
.
XITE-1/4LIVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 01:16 PM   #9
RJHollins
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,376
Default

Two questions ...

Does RCM run on 64bit systems ... and

where's the vote link ?

thx
RJHollins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 01:16 PM   #10
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,596
Default

There's actually 9 drawbars on a Hammond.

@RJHollins: Of course it works on 64-bit OS/Reaper. See first post.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 05:33 AM   #11
XITE-1/4LIVE
Human being with feelings
 
XITE-1/4LIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Somewhere Between 120 and 150 BPM
Posts: 7,815
Default

Not for me since I use percussion heavily which turns the 1' drawbar silent, but physically speaking you are correct Dragon man. Nice to see a youngsta with such knowledge of current software trends, and a predilection for details of great vintage kit too.
And as always your ideas and badgering of the devs is deeply appreciated.
FWIW, I BETA'd the PTeq early on when it really sucked, and you once told me the 200A emu was really close, and I thought to myself these kids these days, then went back and dl'd the Pro version and have used the 200A ever since.
Even my bro playing with 3 Dog Night uses it. Great PhysMod there, so I trust your ears and ideas.

Carry On..
__________________
.
XITE-1/4LIVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 11:45 AM   #12
RJHollins
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,376
Default

Thanks ED for the 64 question/answer ...

Voted !
RJHollins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 02:08 PM   #13
Aeolian
Human being with feelings
 
Aeolian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Somewhere PRO
Posts: 1,000
Default

Voted.

This would be great ... having 3-5 instances open to control stuff gets old very quick.

ADSR takes up 4 slots alone.


Also, does the Scale/Key section really need to be there?
There is a JS plug that does exactly this, and only this.
__________________
Resistors are futile, you will be simulated ...
Aeolian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 07:46 AM   #14
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,596
Default

Here's how it could look:



Notice how we could save vertical space by collapsing sections that are not enabled, which would auto-resize RCM's window (already happening when you toggle the log window). Great for laptops!
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 04:26 AM   #15
crufty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 36
Default

voted

it would also be cool if we could name the tabs
crufty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 05:21 AM   #16
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,596
Default

I don't see the need for naming the tabs personally...
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 01:31 AM   #17
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,596
Default

Gotta keep this one active. Vote, people!
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 02:56 AM   #18
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 19,119
Default

Possible need for namimg the labels would be IF someone ha an oddball application that requires different functions.
I would probably vote for THAT even though I currently have no use for i.
You never know....
So. FR voted for, but with the proviso that we might want to up it'a game by requesting that it all be editable.

Ivan-who-probably-missed-that-you-could-already-do-this-some-other-way.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 01:22 PM   #19
Mister36
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 111
Default

Only just started playing about with it, but just 5 CCs per instance does seem unnecessarily limiting when one instance could be so powerful! And especially as this is REAPER (limitations? ).


And wouldn't naming the tabs be useful to allow easy organisation of different controls?
__________________
One person's sound design masterpiece is another person's preset.
[gla klandy]
www.soundcloud.com/glaklandy
Mister36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 03:52 PM   #20
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,596
Default

It would then make more sense to me to rename each individual CC entry, rather than tabs...
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 05:42 AM   #21
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 916
Default Great idea!

I`ve just voted! I used RCM a lot when I began working with Reaper some months ago and the issue you comment about was something really noticeable from the first time I put it on a chain. Even though I`m now more focused on the midi editor, I consider RCM a very valuable tool, and your idea a great one!
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 07:53 AM   #22
spinlud
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 442
Default

voted.

Does reacontrolmidi support 14 bit cc (LSB/MSB)?
spinlud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 04:30 PM   #23
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 916
Default

Yes, it does it by default indeed. You must tick the "Raw mode" option to have the 0-127, 7-bit mode.
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 04:46 PM   #24
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,764
Default

Voted and I would find it useful!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 06:17 AM   #25
0=0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 102
Default

+1 DEFINITELY!!!!

j

0=0
0=0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 06:32 PM   #26
Baxter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 19
Default YES!

Yes please!
(Voted)
Baxter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 08:56 AM   #27
Retronian
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 14
Default

+1

Make RCM great again!
Retronian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 02:05 AM   #28
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 364
Default

This is something I would use a lot.

I have tried to vote this up but I get an error at the moment.

Will keep on trying...
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 03:01 AM   #29
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,596
Default

The issue tracker is deprecated and disabled, so voting in it doesn't work.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 03:34 AM   #30
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 370
Default

That would be great +1000!
Vagelis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 04:21 AM   #31
ViktorNova
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Default

+1 ! We need this badly!
ViktorNova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 05:22 AM   #32
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,918
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
It would be awesome if RCM followed the great practice Cockos added in their ReaPlugs - how you can add EQ bands at will, or number of bands in ReaXComp... Being limited to just 5 CCs then needing to load another instance of RCM is a bit tiresome... So please, add two buttons that would create/remove tabs of 5 more CC sliders. "Raw mode" would be global for all created sliders.

Also, why doesn't RCM recognize note-off velocity at all? This is quite a letdown, as my controller does send out note-off velocity. Seems like there isn't a way to edit or even record this data anywhere in Reaper... what a shame.



VOTE: HERE!
I learned to see it as best as I can, so my current solution is, those 5 controls I see as one strip of my controller, e.g. bitstream 3x, which has 4 knobs + 1 fader per strip, so perfect match here.

I like the fact I can load any strip of my controller to any track, plus I can use multiple presets for each! Making my controller very flexible. If I want parallel control, just use same preset on different tracks.

I can do all mappings away from my controller, all ReaControlMidi mapped to various places. Later when again at home, the hardware would do what each strip is mapped to. Very flexible solution.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 05:26 AM   #33
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,596
Default

That's not really solving anything this FR is about. This FR is supposed to not require any hardware at all.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 09:51 AM   #34
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,072
Default

I'm toying with developing this:



-- banks of 32 (or 16) knobs,
-- each knob can be set to a channel, CC#, colour and given a name,
-- each bank can be given a name (and maybe a default channel).
-- MIDI CC messages are sent when the knob is changed.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 12:07 PM   #35
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,918
Default

Looks cool, if those would be 40 controls, it would be the essential controls of a bitstream 3x, meaning adding the 8 faders below. Especially, useful for Reason mode, as there is such a setting in the hardware itself, no user setting. Everyone can use it, directly, without doing any work, in the hardware. You only need to map your stuff outside, e.g. in THE DAW, in Reaper.

The right side controls mostly I do not use, that much, except the crossfader below. Its buttons I do not like, not reliable enough, no good feeling.

The Reason mode mappings are printed on the hardware, cc 8 .. 47, until the faders, meaning the 40 controls.
I recommend using this as one mapping standard, for examples as well. See this image, in higher resolution.
https://nginx.new.muzikercdn.com/upl...n_18ff947a.jpg

Check also this related topic, if you are interested in hardware controllers and mapping them in most flexible form to your Reaper project, or better the opposite. Take any Reaper project .rpp, map it to your controller settings, at the push of a button, see https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=226038

So if you design your 8 strips as 8 presets for ReaControlMidi, essentially you have modeled this bitstream 3x device, in reason mode. Ready to be shared with anyone who is using this standard as well. All your templates, project or track templates, would be immediately compatible. Simple and powerful method. I map them mainly for stem control, 7 main stems, 8th strip is master. 4 knobs, for 4 sends per stem, another 4 knobs for the master. Stems are parent tracks in Reaper, put anything you like into them as children tracks. 4 send tracks are another 4 parent tracks, each containing 7 children tracks with receives from each stem parent track. So this setup is totally independent of any musical content. But a simple starting template, compatible with such a small hardware controller. Playing with the sends, and whatever you mapped them to, can give the fun, other editing you can do before or later.

Last edited by TonE; 10-21-2019 at 12:26 PM.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 07:33 AM   #36
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,072
Default

>>> https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=227021
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.