Old 11-30-2009, 03:13 AM   #1
frankvg
Human being with feelings
 
frankvg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 51
Default "Not rendering, ETA infinity"

What does this mean?
frankvg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 05:16 AM   #2
matey
Human being with feelings
 
matey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Civitavecchia (Italy)
Posts: 575
Default

Elapsed Time of Arrival of rendering...
matey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 05:34 AM   #3
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,527
Default

It means something is wrong.
What/how are you trying to render?
mp3? Do you have lame_enc.dll in the Reaper dir?
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 05:41 AM   #4
frankvg
Human being with feelings
 
frankvg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 51
Default

It's actually a 24 bit BWF time selection

It waits for a minute and then renders fine
frankvg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 05:27 AM   #5
NinaMaya
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 21
Default

Actually, this is still happening, 9 years later. Just destroyed 2 hours of work, because the autosave also didn't save anyhting at all.


So can we please have at least an autosave operation just before rendering starts?
This is not the fisrt time it happened and destroyed really a LOT of hard work. Most of the times it works, but sometimes not (when there is this one special plugin involved I haven't identified yet) and then BOOM everything is gone.

And NO, it doesn't render fine after a minute in my case, it's all gone, even after waiting half an houre.

At least there is one workaround, "online rendering" which takes the full length of the song. But it would be still nice to be able to find out which plugin causes the infinite rendering time

Last edited by NinaMaya; 03-02-2018 at 06:22 AM.
NinaMaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 06:03 AM   #6
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,533
Default

I created a custom action that first saves the project, and then opens render window.
It happens to me sometimes... render hangs... ETA infinity... rendering a normal Wav file
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 09:53 AM   #7
jackmilas
Human being with feelings
 
jackmilas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Wroclaw
Posts: 89
Default

To me it happens quite often when I render to a quicktime file. It's hit and miss. Sometimes it will work, sometimes it won't.
__________________
Jacek Miłaszewski - mix engineer
jackmilas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 12:14 PM   #8
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,527
Default

I have now experienced a situation where, when rendering lots (800) small files, it tells me that it is not rendering and that ETA is infinity, yet it renders everything perfectly fine.

Reported as a nitpick here:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=227221
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.