Old 10-10-2019, 03:49 AM   #1
cent_gr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Default X-Touch control surface on a Mac

A new Behringer X-Touch control surface is in the Studio.

I have been reading and trying out stuff without luck. All this Klinke stuff which happen to be irrelevant to macs as of yet.

Someone on a mac who can point me out to the right files and what to do maybe?
cent_gr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 06:28 AM   #2
40Hurts
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: VT, USA
Posts: 11
Default

Which X-Touch (Universal, Compact, One)?

You should be able to get basic functionality without any additional apps/plugins/extensions. First, make sure the X-Touch is set to MCU mode and has the latest firmware. Then in Reaper, set up the following:

Preferences/Audio/MIDI Devices - In the top section, enable the X-Touch-INT as an input for control messages.

Preferences/ControlOSCweb - Add Mackie Control, then set the control device as MCU, and the MIDI input and output to X-Touch-INT.

Again, this will give you basic functionality - track fader/solo/mute/rec arm, pan, jog wheel, transport controls, etc. For anything beyond that (sends on faders, plug-in control, etc.) you'll need something like CSI, which is still in development, but getting close to a beta release.
40Hurts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 06:40 AM   #3
cent_gr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Default

Thank you for replying.

I have already done this basic set-up. First thing I notice is that track names do not return to X-Touch (by the way, I have the X-Touch just). The 92 button one. (After posting this, I 've realized I had selected the Mackie Extender instead - my fault, sorry)
The CSI download contains two pdf documents. I have followed the instructions for a mac installation, where I have placed the appropriate files to the Reaper Resource path. The next step in the instructions is showing a dialog. Where this dialog came from , I don't know. I have searched the Actions (after restarting Reaper - now containg the csi files) , checked the Control Surface options in Preferences, even the extensions menu, I searched for some CSI menu, but I couldn't follow on the instructions.

Maybe you could help me out , how to get to the CSI menu?

This is all wrong. I came back to apologize. Everything seems to work now - I wasn't as awake when I first set up the files. I apologize for beinga lil rude

Last edited by cent_gr; 10-10-2019 at 07:16 AM. Reason: I was wrong, I'm sorry.
cent_gr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 08:08 AM   #4
40Hurts
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: VT, USA
Posts: 11
Default

No worries. Honestly, I'm just now trying CSI again, after giving them some time to get it sorted out. (It's an ever evolving project and I'm not a coder, lol.) I haven't gotten into setting up plug-ins yet, so may be best to ask in that thread if you have questions.

I'd suggest checking out the two links in the first post of the CSI thread - MalcolmG's wiki and poetnprophet's video. Even though the video is detailing a Windows install, there's still some good info on setting up your files. The wiki is a lot more detailed than the readme, and should help considerably.
40Hurts is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.