Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2022, 09:47 PM   #1
uglijimus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 184
Default audio interface NOT overriding internal volume

I have an M1 macbook air and am using reaper 6.68.

When I use reaper with my behringer audio interface and select in the audio device, the volume on the computer F11 and F12 SHOULD not affect the project i'm working in. But recently, (not all the time) If I don't turn the volume up all the way, I lose signal strength.

I spent 2 days wondering why my recorded guitars sound so neutered until I finally figured it out.

What am I doing wrong that the audio interface will not override the volume control of the laptop?
__________________
Helm of the Anti-Lemon- 100% METAL youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/helmoft...lemon/featured
uglijimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2022, 12:56 PM   #2
skylar_battles
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Posts: 923
Default

Did you check to see in system preferences if your computer is using the interface as the input and output?
skylar_battles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2022, 09:41 PM   #3
uglijimus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 184
Default

Recently it has been working as it normally should. so I went into the system audio output and tried to see if the laptop's volume would take over and I couldn't make it happen. Not complaining, but it's really weird. Can't figure out why it does it or why it doesn't despite they system audio preferences output having no effect on this issue.
__________________
Helm of the Anti-Lemon- 100% METAL youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/helmoft...lemon/featured
uglijimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2022, 11:40 AM   #4
Getstew
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uglijimus View Post
I have an M1 macbook air and am using reaper 6.68.

When I use reaper with my behringer audio interface and select in the audio device, the volume on the computer F11 and F12 SHOULD not affect the project i'm working in. But recently, (not all the time) If I don't turn the volume up all the way, I lose signal strength.

I spent 2 days wondering why my recorded guitars sound so neutered until I finally figured it out.

What am I doing wrong that the audio interface will not override the volume control of the laptop?
I had this happening intermittently and was super frustrated. Apple's solution was to reinstall the OS and start from fresh ...possible kernal getting corrupted or something was their guess. As much as I grumbled and cursed them, it did solve the issue.
Getstew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2022, 12:35 PM   #5
uglijimus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Getstew View Post
I had this happening intermittently and was super frustrated. Apple's solution was to reinstall the OS and start from fresh ...possible kernal getting corrupted or something was their guess. As much as I grumbled and cursed them, it did solve the issue.

ok, now it's happening again, and I can no longer go back to how it was before! when you say reinstall OS, is that like in windows where you do a fresh install and wipes everything out??

Is there some way to just uninstall the interface? I can't even seem to find it on my system anywhere, but I am not terribly familiar with apple
__________________
Helm of the Anti-Lemon- 100% METAL youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/helmoft...lemon/featured
uglijimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2022, 12:46 PM   #6
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,178
Default

Cant you just change it back in Audio Midi Setup?
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2022, 05:23 PM   #7
uglijimus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlprod View Post
Cant you just change it back in Audio Midi Setup?
I did! and it still is regulated by the volume control on the keyboard. It's like a gain dial for my guitar. I lose all distortion/gain unless I have it on 100% ��*����*����*��
__________________
Helm of the Anti-Lemon- 100% METAL youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/helmoft...lemon/featured

Last edited by uglijimus; 12-02-2022 at 10:00 PM.
uglijimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2022, 10:01 PM   #8
uglijimus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 184
Default

and now it's back to being the way it supposed to be!! this is so weird..
__________________
Helm of the Anti-Lemon- 100% METAL youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/helmoft...lemon/featured
uglijimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2022, 10:31 PM   #9
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4,919
Default

Is it possible you have "Allow use of different input and output devices" ticked in Preferences > Audio > Device ?
Fergler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2022, 07:57 PM   #10
uglijimus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fergler View Post
Is it possible you have "Allow use of different input and output devices" ticked in Preferences > Audio > Device ?
thanks for the suggestion, but no, I don't have it ticked.
__________________
Helm of the Anti-Lemon- 100% METAL youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/helmoft...lemon/featured
uglijimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 09:47 AM   #11
uglijimus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 184
Default

Here is a video I made showcasing the problem:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NoWBLOE2ZA8


update: I may have found the problem. let me do some more experimenting before I write anything else...
__________________
Helm of the Anti-Lemon- 100% METAL youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/helmoft...lemon/featured

Last edited by uglijimus; 12-05-2022 at 10:37 AM. Reason: update
uglijimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2022, 08:58 PM   #12
uglijimus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 184
Default

so in the sound settings of the macbook, the input has to be set to the interface and output has to be set to the speakers of the macbook (!!!!). doesnt' make any sense, but that's how you fix it!
__________________
Helm of the Anti-Lemon- 100% METAL youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/helmoft...lemon/featured
uglijimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2022, 01:33 PM   #13
rncwalker
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: South Fl.
Posts: 685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uglijimus View Post
so in the sound settings of the macbook, the input has to be set to the interface and output has to be set to the speakers of the macbook (!!!!). doesnt' make any sense, but that's how you fix it!
You really should use the behringer audio interface inputs and outputs for the best results. The quality of the interface would be way better that any Built-in sound from a PC or Mac.

I do not have a Mac, but others have said that you may need to change a setting to get the behringer to work correctly (Depending on what version you have).

Robert
rncwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2022, 10:32 PM   #14
uglijimus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 184
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rncwalker View Post
You really should use the behringer audio interface inputs and outputs for the best results. The quality of the interface would be way better that any Built-in sound from a PC or Mac.

I do not have a Mac, but others have said that you may need to change a setting to get the behringer to work correctly (Depending on what version you have).

Robert
yes, I agree, I should be using the input/output from the interface, but then that means my gain will contrlled by the volume on the laptop volume buttons, which just seems wrong to me. but maybe I'll record a sample of both ways and see if they differ in quality
__________________
Helm of the Anti-Lemon- 100% METAL youtube channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/helmoft...lemon/featured
uglijimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2022, 07:12 AM   #15
rncwalker
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: South Fl.
Posts: 685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uglijimus View Post
..... my gain will contrlled by the volume on the laptop volume buttons.....
It should control it, it's just a mapped dedicated keyboard control for your sound. It is controlling your sound from them.

On my PC, I disabled the onboard sound (Via the BIOS) and the windows settings have system sounds off. Only my DAW and media players can use the sound and only use my M-Audio. In Reaper the Sound key on my keyboard do not work, but they do work with other audio players.

Robert
rncwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.