Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Live Use

Old 07-31-2017, 06:16 AM   #1
GreasyBumpkin
Human being with feelings

Default I would like some routing help with a live FX set up I use

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to producing and sound design, but I've been a musician for much longer, so my workflow is essentially using controllers to play sounds live into Reaper as I record.

I have a template and it involves using a mix of Reaktor and Guitar Rig 5 as a live FX unit, sometimes I want to apply it to the drums, other times the pads, and so on.

My goal is to have this set up (I whipped up a picture for a better visual reference), so that it goes something like this:

Instrument / VST > PAN RIGHT > Rearoute 1/2 > FX input (Folder track) > send channel 1 > Track 01

Instrument / VST > PAN LEFT > Rearoute 1/2 > NO FX (Folder track) > send channel 2 > Track 01

Then this will apply across 8 different tracks / audio streams

The plus sides of this is that a single FX unit can be applied to multiple tracks thus freeing up the CPU and being ready to go on start up.

I'm happy that I managed to get this to work, but there has been some downsides, namely the FX plugins seem to be picking up some faint audio even when I have panned hard left, there's no audio signal going in yet the bitcrusher effect is giving off a buzz. I'm also struggling with levels, it seems I'm stacking all these tracks and it's making all the audio loud and distorted or degraded slightly.

I am thinking maybe I have gone about this in an overly complicated way, I am used to routing analogue pedalboards, so I have taken that mindset with me into Reaper, but perhaps there's a more efficient digital way to do this? Any thoughts and advice welcome.
Attached Images
File Type: png Track schematic.png (9.5 KB, 253 views)
GreasyBumpkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2017, 07:35 AM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings