Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Color Themes and Icon Sets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2018, 11:22 AM   #81
mamazai
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 357
Default

It's enough to investigate Pro tools.
mamazai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 02:18 PM   #82
vsgrt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 39
Default

- A different and non-pistachio palette that doesn't feel like Frasier mixed with the austere dreams of a 90s accountant

- FX list in TCP would eliminate the mixer for most things, saving up a lot of screen estate

- Fixing the font on macOS by setting it to Bold (i can't imagine this taking more than a few minutes to fix but it leaves a horrible impression for newcomers on mac as is)

It's a pretty okay Default theme though overall, but as always with Reaper, the fundamentals are excellent, it just lacks polish, attention to UX-detail and taste. Even though that lack of taste is part of its utilitarian win98 charm!
vsgrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 04:55 AM   #83
AdRiX
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 7
Default My GUI wishes

Something that I would find very nice to have:

1) different weight for the start measure vertical line in the track view grid
2) different weight for the start measure vertical line in MIDI editor ("piano roll")

if not possible:
3) change the weight of vertical lines in track view grid
4) change the weight of vertical lines in MIDI editor("piano roll")

Reason
In modern ultra high resolution monitors a 1-pixel line is _really_ thin :-)
AdRiX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2018, 10:34 AM   #84
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 6,715
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdRiX View Post
Something that I would find very nice to have:

1) different weight for the start measure vertical line in the track view grid
2) different weight for the start measure vertical line in MIDI editor ("piano roll")

if not possible:
3) change the weight of vertical lines in track view grid
4) change the weight of vertical lines in MIDI editor("piano roll")
I know you mean the size of the line, but in case you didn't know already, you can set custom colors on all those in the Theme Tweaker to help with visibility.
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2018, 01:34 AM   #85
Lestat66
Human being with feelings
 
Lestat66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 211
Default

An interface with a look and color theme similar to Black Magic Davinci Resolve video editor. A clean interface like this would be a good match for Default Reaper theme. Sorry I don't know how to post a pic. Here's website
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/pro...ciresolve/edit

Last edited by Lestat66; 12-23-2018 at 01:40 AM.
Lestat66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2018, 05:39 AM   #86
KenB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 77
Default

It looks OK ... but it seems to me we have plenty of similar looking themes already.

KenB
__________________
Windows 10 Home x64 v1809, Reaper x64 v5.980,
KenB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2018, 09:02 AM   #87
Theristis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 6
Default

As others mentonied, i want a vector based scalable theme.

I guess realtime antialiased vector rendering will make rendering speed slower, so, I propose the following solution:

Each time you load a new vector based theme, REAPER will render all the SVG's to a cached bitmaps and use them for rendering the UI. REAPER will keep those cached bitmaps until the user requests a different UI scale.
Theristis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 02:44 PM   #88
woogish
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
I haven`t managed to find one yet - any suggestions? I find this really irritating when things get crowded on the mixer screen.
ditto to all..........
woogish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 02:25 AM   #89
woogish
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 581
Default

.....and let's ALL be little dogies.......
woogish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 09:14 AM   #90
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
You can already choose how many Insert slots are shown on the MCP. Move the divider above the routing button to change the size of the extended mixer area. Move the dividers inside the extended mixer area to change how that space is shared between inserts, sends and parameter knobs. Hold control while dragging to change all tracks, hold alt while dragging to change all selected tracks. Use the mixer menu button on the MCP master to blanket enable / disable your choice of inserts, sends and/or parameter knobs.

(blush) only just found this & thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

Feel really dumb for not having asked this before or for that matter FINDING it before.
__________________
Brexit Schmexit. Lets have a violent revolution instead. Bagsy the first go with a nuke! (Here, Moggy Moggy...)
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 05:08 AM   #91
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 417
Default

Ugliness and beautifulness bla bla bla ... themes ... default themes ... bla bla bla

That's ok but ... don' you think that we need a solid FR ABOUT THE GUI instead?

Many of the things discussed here [AND IN DOZENS OF POSTS] are really useful and possitive ideas, but it is a mess ... if I were a DEV trying to know what users need it would take so much time to get the info.

I know, it is just my thoughts, but the default theme is not an issue because we have plenty of good themers here to do anything diferently if needed.

So, can we have a serious and solid FR to present to the DEVs about the GUI? If I could I would do it but my English and my knowledge to justify the features are not good enough.

So please !!! can anyone do this?

Last edited by Vagalume; 01-13-2019 at 07:05 AM.
Vagalume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2019, 09:20 PM   #92
Tomm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,190
Default

a few extra good themes included with the download would be nice, because I think a ton of folks will just never bother trying to download and install new themes but would still use and highly appreciate something different than the default (but not the old default themes, I can't imagine almost anyone wanting to use those)
Tomm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 08:09 AM   #93
Tomm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagalume View Post
So, can we have a serious and solid FR to present to the DEVs about the GUI?
...
So please !!! can anyone do this?
The DEVs know about all the major requests and there is a ton of help on all of that in terms of communication - there are a handful of folks closer to the devs like White Tie but I think maybe Justin streams the forum into his brain 24/7 because I've seen him pop up in seemingly buried places to fix an odd issues here and there.

Mainly, the devs are just not as focused on UI compared to other features. It may be a vocal minority type of thing, it's easy to groan about things we see, or they just don't like working on UI stuff... either way I think everyone's doing the most they can and threads like this are just a way for some of us more frustrated folk to vent and daydream about some abstract sleek ui that rules the world with frickin laser beams or somethin I dunno...
Tomm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 04:29 PM   #94
sl23
Human being with feelings
 
sl23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: I live everywhere, or I'd be dead!
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dupont View Post
Yeah, Like that!
__________________
Know that by knowing which everything be known.
sl23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 04:46 PM   #95
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,112
Default

Transparent layers. I'd put a meter under my TCP controls with a transparency adjustment in prefs.
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 08:09 PM   #96
Colox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: The land of meatballs and blondes
Posts: 947
Default

I'm big on ergonomy, hate themes which makes a big dent on my feeling for what I'm doing, or themes which practically gives you motion sickness. To me it's a work place, not an amusement park, a film, poster or a video game. It's the result that counts, not how visitors like your neon light Reaper theme.

The very noticeable impact visuals have on productivity, even for beginners, is rather well proven. More than 90% of our long time focus is taken in through the eyes, and the other 4 senses share the remaining < 10%. What you see, determines how you think and feel, even what you hear.

I like things easy to find and read for the eyes, top priority, and easy on the eyes for long periods of time. I have found that Protools has got most of these factors down better than any other DAW today, Though I don't use Protools other than to send- and receive project files to/from Protalibans, as we call them. There are lots of them.

Still Protools would be a great source to look at and learn from, to make a theme that doesn't work against you, but instead with you and avoids fatigues. I'd love to see Reaper getting serious with this, and stop wanting to "be cool" or whatever.
__________________
There are only two kinds of people in the world: those who entertain, and those who are absurd.
- Britney Spears

Last edited by Colox; 02-22-2019 at 08:27 PM.
Colox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 06:18 PM   #97
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Philbo King's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,504
Default

Without having read all the prior posts...

I'd like folder tracks to be obviously different looking than regular tracks, in both TCP and MCP. Perhaps all tracks could have an indent/outdent button to easily change their level. Right now the 'side drag' technique in TCP is always a gamble that it will leave your track at the indent level you want it, and I don't know of any way to change level at all in TCP.

I'd also love to have text, anywhere in the GUI, to be controllable in both font size and color.
__________________
Tangent Studio - Philbo King
www.soundclick.com/philboking - stream music
www.facebook.com/philboking - gigs and news
Philbo King is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 11:45 PM   #98
AndreiT
Human being with feelings
 
AndreiT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Romania
Posts: 139
Default

I would want @Blankfiles's themes to be included in REAPER's default themes.
AndreiT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 01:15 AM   #99
Not_Here
Human being with feelings
 
Not_Here's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: West Coast - Sun again, Sun today, Sun tomorrow...
Posts: 556
Default

I want it to connect directly to my frontal lobes, and visual cortex as an overlay so that I can look through it and still see my screen, and directly control reapers appearance in a fluid dynamic manner so that I can change anything anytime with nothing but lucid thought.

oh and also still be able to use Amazon Prime same day delivery via the MCP.

Or a PS4 VR version of Reaper in the Round.

Thank You.
__________________
Rockin the Not_Room... Kali LP6 |iLoud |Mackie Big Knob |2i2 |Bugera |Ibanez |Amplitube |PRS Supermodels |iRig Stomp I/O |ARC 2.5 |
Not_Here is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 02:13 AM   #100
geoslake
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 349
Default

Vectors
geoslake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 03:14 AM   #101
sl23
Human being with feelings
 
sl23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: I live everywhere, or I'd be dead!
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreiT View Post
I would want @Blankfiles's themes to be included in REAPER's default themes.
Good idea!
__________________
Know that by knowing which everything be known.
sl23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 04:34 AM   #102
benf
Human being with feelings
 
benf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 2,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geoslake View Post
Vectors
the same !
__________________
Listen and download my music on https://benest.bandcamp.com/
benf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 05:34 AM   #103
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philbo King View Post
Without having read all the prior posts...

I'd like folder tracks to be obviously different looking than regular tracks, in both TCP and MCP. Perhaps all tracks could have an indent/outdent button to easily change their level. Right now the 'side drag' technique in TCP is always a gamble that it will leave your track at the indent level you want it, and I don't know of any way to change level at all in TCP.

I'd also love to have text, anywhere in the GUI, to be controllable in both font size and color.
I find that the side drag technique works fine in the TCP and makes it very clear to me that would level of intent the track is going to be by the highlighted underline. I didn't like the visual indication of indentation though so with the help of the Forum I did come up with this that might help.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=215513
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 07:10 PM   #104
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Philbo King's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
I find that the side drag technique works fine in the TCP and makes it very clear to me that would level of intent the track is going to be by the highlighted underline. I didn't like the visual indication of indentation though so with the help of the Forum I did come up with this that might help.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=215513
Pretty nice! Thanks. I'll give it a try.
The side-drag thing: On my setup the indent level doesn't move at all till I'm very near the right side of the screen.
__________________
Tangent Studio - Philbo King
www.soundclick.com/philboking - stream music
www.facebook.com/philboking - gigs and news
Philbo King is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2019, 12:52 AM   #105
+NRG
Human being with feelings
 
+NRG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
I find that the side drag technique works fine in the TCP and makes it very clear to me that would level of intent the track is going to be by the highlighted underline. I didn't like the visual indication of indentation though so with the help of the Forum I did come up with this that might help.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=215513
Good idea!

I’d like to have an action (toggle...) to disable creating new folders in the TCP so I can rearrange the tracks in the TCP without messing anything up. Usually happens when I’ve been recording too long and I’m brain dead.

I just use the Track Manager or MCP to be safe...
__________________
“Where words fail, music speaks”
+NRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 07:43 AM   #106
cool
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sunny Siberian Islands
Posts: 146
Default

Click-proof faders
Modern minimal/flat design
60fps response
FX bin on the tracks
cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2019, 03:04 PM   #107
woogish
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 581
Default

In the default:

Folder insets in MCP (ala White Tie "Project")

Track icons on the bottom in MCP, just under faders
woogish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2019, 01:00 PM   #108
DarrenH
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 167
Default

Just a track layout option with horizontal meters and the usual "full sized" labels would be great. If it doesn't exist already. I know WALTER exists but no time to learn yet another coding paradigm


Quote:
Originally Posted by BrendaEM View Post
In spite of all the alternative themes, I don't think that the default Reaper theme is unsightly.

[My wish-list wouldn't be too long: I prefer rounded corner squares for most controls because I think they are fast to scan visually either horizontal or vertical, without being pointy-jarring. The legends could be a little larger on the controls without crowding the edges--especially on the transport, which as a musician is the very first thing I want to notice.]
DarrenH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 11:31 AM   #109
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,086
Default

The original theme is not attractive at all in my opinion and ALL of my friends opinion that tried or saw reaper

The users themes always look and feel like a draft with many weak points.

hope that ver 6 will be more attractive.
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2019, 01:27 PM   #110
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,806
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrendaEM View Post
In spite of all the alternative themes, I don't think that the default Reaper theme is unsightly.

[My wish-list wouldn't be too long: I prefer rounded corner squares for most controls because I think they are fast to scan visually either horizontal or vertical, without being pointy-jarring. The legends could be a little larger on the controls without crowding the edges--especially on the transport, which as a musician is the very first thing I want to notice.]
I would want if I have 20 subchildren tracks, I could read the track names directly on the left. Almost all themes ignore this, thus you can not read the track name any more without making this name width veery wiiiiiiiiiiiiide.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 08:48 AM   #111
KenB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 77
Default

All I want in a new theme is ... font legibility.

KenB
__________________
Windows 10 Home x64 v1809, Reaper x64 v5.980,
KenB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 10:08 AM   #112
Herr Nox
Human being with feelings
 
Herr Nox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreiT View Post
I would want @Blankfiles's themes to be included in REAPER's default themes.
Blankfiles' themes have been my default ones for quite some time. However, I don't think they could legally do this without being sued by Apple.
__________________
BANDCAMP | YOUTUBE | FACEBOOK
Herr Nox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 08:12 AM   #113
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 555
Default

Everything Theme-able

Nice n Flat

Menus really need organizing better
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 01:38 AM   #114
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
You can already choose how many Insert slots are shown on the MCP. Move the divider above the routing button to change the size of the extended mixer area. Move the dividers inside the extended mixer area to change how that space is shared between inserts, sends and parameter knobs. Hold control while dragging to change all tracks, hold alt while dragging to change all selected tracks. Use the mixer menu button on the MCP master to blanket enable / disable your choice of inserts, sends and/or parameter knobs.
...and I LOVE this feature\ability... which I personally have in my fav theme because it is a mod of the WT default from the V4 era...

But I notice not all [many] of the user made themes have this feature enabled
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 04:56 PM   #115
ANDYZ
Human being with feelings
 
ANDYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by albertxxxx View Post
- Graphic integration of reacomp and reaeq in the mixer
- list of effects in tcp
- Inspector
+2019!!

Not only reacomp,reaeq but third-party (if possible).

I love how Harrison Mixbus does their channelstrip with compressor integrated into fader section - cant think of better design!

Give us control over design of FX parameters - knobs, sends, fonts, colors, etc.

K-Meter in Master section the same as in Mixbus.
ANDYZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 05:24 PM   #116
ANDYZ
Human being with feelings
 
ANDYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vampire TNA View Post
I would love the ability to "split" mixer window/view. This way i could keep my busses/sends in a fixed position instead of scrolling all the time to find them.
This! And taller horizontal scrollbar, adjustable.
ANDYZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 06:07 PM   #117
Cranky Emu
Human being with feelings
 
Cranky Emu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 439
Default Undo and Zoom fixes

I would like to see fixing of the CTRL+Z issues where it jumps around all over the place, rather than staying at the track/point you were working on.

Yes I know there are magic tricks you can do with actions to stop this, but you shouldn't have to.

Arrange area zooming, even when you highlight a track and zoom in with the mouse wheel the focus does not remain on the highlighted track.
__________________
♫ C. Emu ♫
Cranky Emu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2019, 12:51 PM   #118
Powermac
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 72
Default

Though I'm new to Reaper one of the big things I've noticed is font legibility. Would love for this to be addressed.
Powermac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 04:31 AM   #119
jiff 41
Human being with feelings
 
jiff 41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: WALES, UK
Posts: 754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cranky Emu View Post



Arrange area zooming, even when you highlight a track and zoom in with the mouse wheel the focus does not remain on the highlighted track.

Have a look in the prefs you can change this behavior?
Mouse cursor.jpg 1.jpg
__________________
"I started out with nothing & i still have most of it left"(seasick steve)
jiff 41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 05:20 AM   #120
Cranky Emu
Human being with feelings
 
Cranky Emu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Australia
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jiff 41 View Post
Have a look in the prefs you can change this behavior?
Attachment 36193
Jiff thanks, I think I got the terminology wrong though.
Zooming horizontally there is no problem, expanding may be a better word to increase the visual height of tracks in arrange area is what I mean.
__________________
♫ C. Emu ♫
Cranky Emu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.