Old 10-12-2019, 06:36 AM   #1
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,810
Default v5.984 - October 12 2019

v5.984 - October 12 2019

+ API: fix Windows WM_COPYDATA when using prefix and filename containing # character [t=225196]
+ ARA: improve handling of projects with missing media
+ ARA: preserve edits when copying media items within time selection via action [p=2181690]
+ ARA: support plugins that read audio from multiple threads
+ Actions: add action to set media item playrate from user-supplied source media tempo
+ Actions: add meta-actions to set relative CC value based on next action toggle state/armed state
+ Auto-crossfades: fix behavior when duplicating or moving items [t=216416]
+ Automation items: fix volume envelope display preference affecting automation item playback [t=225354]
+ Batch converter: log files will warn if FX were not loaded
+ Fades: prevent race condition from causing playback glitches during rapid item movement/size/split [t=224925]
+ Freeze: fix unfreeze of duplicated folder tracks or tracks with frozen receives [t=225458]
+ Freeze: update routing buttons for all tracks on freeze/unfreeze
+ Linux: fix VST 8-pixel sizing issue [t=224969]
+ macOS: re-enable rex2 support on Mojave [t=225141]
+ macOS: remove builtin Mojave tab actions from view menu
+ macOS: workaround Mojave bug that causes crashes with certain menu customizations [p=2188125]
+ MIDI: fix incorrect CC marquee selection corner case [t=225839]
+ MIDI: fix text events displayed in arrange view with non-1.0 playrate [t=202705]
+ Media item properties: do not modify phase when adjusting volume for items with mixed phase [t=224996]
+ NINJAM log reading: avoid crash with zero-length OGG files [t=225085]
+ Peaks: fix spectral peaks on items whose folder parents prohibit spectral peaks [t=225766]
+ Stretch markers: improve timing when using 0ms fades and elastique 3 soloist or 2.28 efficient/soloist modes [t=192425]
+ Undo history: improve context menu state to indicate which actions are available
+ VLC: fix VLC 3.x crash with certain colorspace sources [t=225379]
+ Video: fix render configuration from API [t=224539]
+ Wet/dry knobs: improve mouse-up and double-click behavior
+ Windows: uninstaller now respects silent flag passed from command line


Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names

Last edited by vitalker; 10-12-2019 at 08:50 AM.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 07:00 AM   #2
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,106
Default

tagline: Ken Enjoyer
(I don't post the link to the explaination to not spoil the fun)
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 08:54 AM   #3
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
tagline: Ken Enjoyer
(I don't post the link to the explaination to not spoil the fun)
I would be very grateful, if you'd send me the link to PM. I'll add it to my thread (from my signature).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 09:37 AM   #4
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,106
Default

hint: There's a thread about it here in the forum.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 10:41 AM   #5
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
hint: There's a thread about it here in the forum.
There are some thread about him.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 06:00 AM   #6
Venga
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
+ Actions: add action to set media item playrate from user-supplied source media tempo
what this announcement refers to
no ticket exist
how to find a name of this action

Last edited by Venga; 10-13-2019 at 06:11 AM.
Venga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 07:18 AM   #7
Kenny Gioia
Human being with feelings
 
Kenny Gioia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,425
Default

There can never be enough threads about me!!!!
Kenny Gioia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 07:26 AM   #8
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Venga View Post
how to find a name of this action
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 02:08 PM   #9
mawi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
v5.984 - October 12 2019

+ Stretch markers: improve timing when using 0ms fades and elastique 3 soloist or 2.28 efficient/soloist modes [t=192425]
I can't see any improvement.
mawi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 02:58 PM   #10
TheMaartian
Human being with feelings
 
TheMaartian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny Gioia View Post
There can never be enough threads about me!!!!
1500 thread count is the best I could do, Kenny!

__________________
Intel i7 @ 3.4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB HD; Win10 Home x64; PreSonus AudioBox 44VSL
Studio One 4 Pro; Notion 6; Melodyne 4 Studio; SpectraLayers Pro 6; Guitar Pro 7
PreSonus FaderPort Classic; Nektar P6; M-Audio BX8 D2; Beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro
TheMaartian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 09:30 AM   #11
ReaperMadness
Human being with feelings
 
ReaperMadness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Great Lakes, N. A.
Posts: 1,799
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny Gioia View Post
There can never be enough threads about me!!!!
__________________
= Private Winter =
ReaperMadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 06:12 PM   #12
TabbyCat
Human being with feelings
 
TabbyCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
This is LEGENDARY. At first I couldn't figure out what it does - it takes a bpm that you enter, and conforms the selection to that BPM! No more math required! I'm constantly dragging in assets with a BPM in the filename and this makes it super easy - thank you!
TabbyCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 06:17 PM   #13
Dezb1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 64
Default

Not ARA has been upgraded for the better been having these troubles since the last reaper update:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=226062
Dezb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 09:41 PM   #14
allstar
Human being with feelings
 
allstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TabbyCat View Post
This is LEGENDARY.
Yep, very useful. Thanks
allstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 06:45 AM   #15
maralatho
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Santa Barbara
Posts: 19
Default OMG

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
tagline: Ken Enjoyer
(I don't post the link to the explaination to not spoil the fun)
My work here is done.
maralatho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 10:54 AM   #16
Paul Metcalf
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Default Help me, Mr. Wizard!!

I can't get the latest version to install on my laptop. When I try to open the setup file I get a message to the effect of "error in file for writing." I can skip file after file, but none of them will install, so I abort. I dried downloading it again in case the file got corrupted in the download, but the result is the same. Help me, Mr. Wizard! Does anyone know what to do?
Paul Metcalf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 08:34 AM   #17
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Metcalf View Post
I can't get the latest version to install on my laptop. When I try to open the setup file I get a message to the effect of "error in file for writing." I can skip file after file, but none of them will install, so I abort. I dried downloading it again in case the file got corrupted in the download, but the result is the same. Help me, Mr. Wizard! Does anyone know what to do?
In case you're trying to update an existing Reaper install to a newer version: either make sure that Reaper isn't running in the background while running the installer. Or try if rebooting your computer before running the installer makes any difference.

Another possible reason might be that you don't have permission to write in the given install path. In this case - assuming you're on Windows - you can try to run the installer as admin (via Right-Click > Run as administrator).
Another option to try is to make a portable Reaper install to a different location to see if this works: http://lacinato.com/cm/blog/25-reaperportable
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2019, 11:11 AM   #18
Oleh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 5
Default Problems with configuration settings

Hello! Please help. The ripper does not correctly record midi and audio information. The problem is also present on a clean WIn10 WIn7 system with updated BIOS and updated drivers. Problem Video https://youtu.be/PXoQi_-P9Xk
Oleh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 10:00 AM   #19
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,909
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oleh View Post
Hello! Please help. The ripper does not correctly record midi and audio information. The problem is also present on a clean WIn10 WIn7 system with updated BIOS and updated drivers. Problem Video https://youtu.be/PXoQi_-P9Xk
In the first example your cursor is at 2.1.00/0:01.875, which suggests a project tempo of 128 BPM?

If you don't force tempo/time signature changes to whole samples in File/Project settings, you can get tempo numbers without decimals. But when you then zoom into those recorded items, you may see an offset in there. If you'd force the tempo changes to whole samples, your BPM would read something like 127.999, but the item start should be right there at the grid.
xpander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 01:40 PM   #20
Regisfofo
Human being with feelings
 
Regisfofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: France
Posts: 229
Default

While trying midi live looping, I discovered I can get Reaper stuck repetitively with these actions :

Create a track with any vsti instrument,
Create some short pooled midi items
Start record, play notes, all is ok
Then moves your modwheel and within some 'passes' reaper get stuck and playing an infinite note...

Win 10
Reaper 64bits
5.984
Edit : I've posted it in the bug report too, sorry for the double post...

Hoper it can be resolved, I'd love to play more with that!

Last edited by Regisfofo; 11-08-2019 at 02:04 PM.
Regisfofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 05:29 PM   #21
johnh1019
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 1
Default No Mac install: Can't check for malicious errors

Downloaded and tried to install the latest, 5.984, on my MacBook Air running the latest OS update. Got a message saying that the app could not be installed because my Mac could not check it for malicious errors. Anyone else having this issue?
johnh1019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 10:57 PM   #22
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,016
Default

Welcome to the Reaper forums !

AFAIK, this is independent on the Reaper version you use but is a problem mac users have with many software products and has been discussed many times in the MacOS Subforum e.g. -> https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=222573
-Michael,
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 12:27 PM   #23
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnh1019 View Post
Downloaded and tried to install the latest, 5.984, on my MacBook Air running the latest OS update. Got a message saying that the app could not be installed because my Mac could not check it for malicious errors. Anyone else having this issue?
In addition to the link Michael posted above: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=226059 (see especially post #8 and #10).
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.