Old 12-09-2006, 07:51 AM   #1
Mamba
Human being with feelings

Default Basic Soundfont questions

Hello All,

First let me start by saying that I am a total newbie when it comes to recording. I downloaded Reaper a about a week ago and have been making what I think is good progress. I have Dell version of SB Audigy. It's actually a SigmaTel sound chip integrated to the MB, not separate. It is combined with SB's Creative Suite with several banks of soundfonts.

OK, now here's my question. I've downloaded a bunch free VSTI's and have been able to play and record those sounds in Reaper just fine but I want to play and record the sounds from my soundcard as well. Is there a way to do this or am I out of luck?

Also noticed that Reaper has a few VSTI's that come with the system that seem incomplete or at least don't have a complete bank of instruments, am I missing something with these? Do I need to put these together with some of Effects that come with the basic software.

Thanks in advance for you're help.

Scott.
Mamba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2006, 03:58 PM   #2
Art Evans
Mortal

The easiest way to use Soundfonts with Reaper is to download the sfz soundfont player VSTi - google for soundfont sfz - and then use it within Reaper like any other vst instrument.
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2006, 04:05 PM   #3
teej813

I'd second the use of SFZ. Really easy to use.

You'll need soundfonts to use. Do a Google search for 'sf2', and you'll find a bunch. If you're looking for a good drum soundfont, do a search for 'nskit'.

Hope this helps, and welcome to Reaper!

tj
Old 12-09-2006, 04:40 PM   #4
fluffy

Another vote for sfz. I've been using it for a couple of years now, and it's very nice. Probably the best free soundfont player currently out there .
Old 12-09-2006, 06:42 PM   #5
Mamba

Default Thanks!