Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 09-24-2008, 04:26 AM   #1
enuenu
Human being with feelings

Default Get me rolling, please.

I just installed Reaper, my first ever foray into the DAW world. I am a guitarist and have never touched a digital tool. However I have IT qualifications so will learn fast. I want to get started in the most basic way possible and maybe you can help by providing "step by step" (there shouldn't be many steps) instructions to do the following (or link to a similar tutorial, I can't find a similar quick start tute);

Without using any interface or real instrument (just my PC and Reaper as installed), create a basic track with a couple of virtual instruments that I guess are in Reaper somewhere. Lets say a 4/4 drum beat consisting of alternating snare and kick drum and a bass line that goes E-E-A-G with these notes placed in the centre of the space between each drum beat. Then show me how to speed it up and loop it and save it to a file named "Song01". That's it. Completing this task will give me all I need to get started, I will work the rest out from there (with your future help I hope).

If I have asked too much just instructions on how to create a track with a looped 4/4 kick drum beat that slows and speeds up will do (using Reaper and my PC only).

No jargon please, just "click this, enter that, drag this and drop it there etc etc" would be great. I learn fastest observing cause and effect, I don't care what things are called yet.

Thanks.