Old 04-16-2015, 06:04 PM   #1
johnlewisgrant
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 122
Default Best Render Settings

Using 24 bit 48 hz, "best 384 pt sinc" settings.

Are these the right settings for the highest quality render?

I notice that the same file on Sonar (my previous sequencer) Renders more slowly. Not sure why that is.

Both are fast, but Reaper is actually quite a bit faster than Sonar. So I want to make sure I'm using the "best quality" settings.
__________________
JG's virtual classical piano stuff
https://www.youtube.com/user/dohgrant/playlists
https://soundcloud.com/johnlgrant/sets
johnlewisgrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2015, 10:39 PM   #2
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,148
Default

best for what purpose? "best quality" is a completely relative term. and what "file" are you able to render in two different daws? 44.1 and 16-bit is cd quality. that "sinc" setting only comes into play if you are trying to render from one samplerate to another. that's why it says "(if needed)."
__________________
Myyy Wyyyrd Music
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 12:54 AM   #3
whiteaxxxe
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States of Europe, Germany, M÷nchengladbach
Posts: 2,047
Default

64bit floating point/384khz samplingrate. (and then call Neil Young ...)









seriously? 24bit/44.1khz for audio and 24bit/48khz for video. if "maybe" for video see audio.

the reasons for 44.1khz samplingrate for audio should be nowadays common knowledge.
whiteaxxxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 05:15 AM   #4
johnlewisgrant
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
best for what purpose? "best quality" is a completely relative term. and what "file" are you able to render in two different daws? 44.1 and 16-bit is cd quality. that "sinc" setting only comes into play if you are trying to render from one samplerate to another. that's why it says "(if needed)."

thats useful info...
__________________
JG's virtual classical piano stuff
https://www.youtube.com/user/dohgrant/playlists
https://soundcloud.com/johnlgrant/sets
johnlewisgrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 09:30 AM   #5
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,656
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnlewisgrant View Post
I notice that the same file on Sonar (my previous sequencer) Renders more slowly. Not sure why that is.
Hi John, I highly advise to use Online Render when you're rendering Midi. Full Speed (Offline) can cause problems with Midi.

I've not only run into this with Reaper, I had the same problems with Sonar.

It's one of those things you don't know until some day it reaches out and grabs you. The thing is it can happen and you don't know it until it's too late.

Consequently I play it safe and use Online Render to render all my midi.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2015, 10:54 AM   #6
johnlewisgrant
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Hi John, I highly advise to use Online Render when you're rendering Midi. Full Speed (Offline) can cause problems with Midi.

I've not only run into this with Reaper, I had the same problems with Sonar.

It's one of those things you don't know until some day it reaches out and grabs you. The thing is it can happen and you don't know it until it's too late.

Consequently I play it safe and use Online Render to render all my midi.
Great... I'll check that out.
__________________
JG's virtual classical piano stuff
https://www.youtube.com/user/dohgrant/playlists
https://soundcloud.com/johnlgrant/sets
johnlewisgrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2019, 03:18 AM   #7
Arpegia
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Paris-Bruxelles
Posts: 816
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Hi John, I highly advise to use Online Render when you're rendering Midi. Full Speed (Offline) can cause problems with Midi.

I've not only run into this with Reaper, I had the same problems with Sonar.

It's one of those things you don't know until some day it reaches out and grabs you. The thing is it can happen and you don't know it until it's too late.

Consequently I play it safe and use Online Render to render all my midi.
I Just discover that last week. I had a big difference after an offline rendering. Then I try ON LINE and I didn't lose anything.
Arpegia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 11:18 AM   #8
johnlewisgrant
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arpegia View Post
I Just discover that last week. I had a big difference after an offline rendering. Then I try ON LINE and I didn't lose anything.
Will definitely check that out. For sure.

Thanks
__________________
JG's virtual classical piano stuff
https://www.youtube.com/user/dohgrant/playlists
https://soundcloud.com/johnlgrant/sets
johnlewisgrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2019, 08:03 PM   #9
grinder
Human being with feelings
 
grinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,102
Default

I use online render (Best always)
Before I render a composition I will always have recorded the midi tracks to real wave tracks including drum software.

Grinder
grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 02:23 PM   #10
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8,392
Default

The best possible format is...

The same sample rate your audio is recorded at and the mix project is running at.

Then there's the bit depth part. 24 bit is the max original recording sample format as well as the modern release format.

If the mix you have up is reasonable with no obvious clipping or no very low levels, 24 bit is a good choice. If the mix is a little wild - either clipped or very low - 32 bit floating point will preserve it. Floating point will not clip. You can't output it to your converters though. Those need 24 bit fixed. But whatever wildness may or may not be in a mix render would be preserved with the 32 bit floating point format.

So...
Render to the native sample rate at at least 24 bit for your master.
Make any format conversions from that for lesser formats (like mp3 or 16 bit CD).
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 06:27 PM   #11
Arpegia
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Paris-Bruxelles
Posts: 816
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serr View Post
The best possible format is...

The same sample rate your audio is recorded at and the mix project is running at.

Then there's the bit depth part. 24 bit is the max original recording sample format as well as the modern release format.

If the mix you have up is reasonable with no obvious clipping or no very low levels, 24 bit is a good choice. If the mix is a little wild - either clipped or very low - 32 bit floating point will preserve it. Floating point will not clip. You can't output it to your converters though. Those need 24 bit fixed. But whatever wildness may or may not be in a mix render would be preserved with the 32 bit floating point format.

So...
Render to the native sample rate at at least 24 bit for your master.
Make any format conversions from that for lesser formats (like mp3 or 16 bit CD).
Cool, thanks man ;-)
Arpegia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.