Old 05-21-2007, 10:13 AM   #1
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,172
Default note namer plugin for midi editor

----

Update July 2008: This plugin still works, but is obsolete in Reaper, because Reaper now lets you edit MIDI note names individually (double-right-click the note in the MIDI editor) or in bulk (MIDI editor file -> load note names from file).

The Reaper MIDI note name file format is the same as the one used by the plugin, so all of the note map files posted in this thread should work in Reaper.


----

<old post follows>

Note: this is not a JS effect, it's a VST plugin that must go wherever you keep your VST plugins.

----

Here is a basic plugin to name notes in the REAPER midi editor.

Write a note name txt file that consists of lines of "number name", like

100 kick
101 snare rim
102 snare drag

etc, as many or as few notes as you want. Then load the plugin onto a track, bring up the midi editor, select view -> named notes, and those note names should appear.

By default the plugin looks for the note name file in REAPER/Data/MIDI_note_names.txt, but if you press the "change file" button on the plugin, you can browse for a new note name file.

You can load different note namer maps on different tracks, the maps will all be saved with the project.

Some people posted some different midi drum maps (GM, etc) lower in this thread.
Attached Files
File Type: zip MIDINoteNamer.zip (118.0 KB, 3155 views)

Last edited by schwa; 08-01-2008 at 12:39 PM. Reason: note on obsolescence
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 12:05 PM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,313
Default

nice schwa.. suppose I should just add this native though.. damn you putting the pressure on!!!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 12:35 PM   #3
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 519
Default

hello schwa,
well done, but your DLL requires that configuration TXT file is to be located at fixed place on HDD (in this case as I see in hex editor it is C:/local/Program Files/REAPER/Data/MIDI_note_names.txt). Should use relative paths instead absolute ones. I don't have REAPER installed on drive C either. Anyway good work, and if you can recompile and reupload with better path lookup (= any startup reaper directory followed by "/Data/MIDI_note_names.txt" , that would be fine :-)

akademie
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 12:43 PM   #4
billybk1
Human being with feelings
 
billybk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
nice schwa.. suppose I should just add this native though.. damn you putting the pressure on!!!
Woohoo!


Cheers,

Billy Buck
billybk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 12:44 PM   #5
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,172
Default

Yeah this was just a quick knockoff, I spent about 4 seconds trying to find dir.h on windows and then said screw it. I'll make it more general but by the time I fix it Justin will have released 12 new Reaper versions...

OK here, relative pathname. Wherever REAPER is, it looks for /data/MIDI_note_names.txt underneath it.

Last edited by schwa; 05-21-2007 at 01:11 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 01:31 PM   #6
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,355
Default

Heeey !
great
thanks a lot, mister !
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 01:46 PM   #7
alex zonder
Human being with feelings
 
alex zonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Anyway, write a file called REAPER/Data/MIDI_note_names.txt, which consists of lines of "note_number note_name", like

100 kick
101 snare

etc, as many or as few notes as you want, then load the plugin onto a track and when you bring up the midi editor those note names should appear.

LMK if doesn't work or whatever.
Tried loading the plugin three times (after making and saving the txt file with the standard GM drum map; 35 - 81), but alas it made REAPER totally freeze 3 times in a row...

Saved the file in ANSI code in Notepad. What could the problem be?
alex zonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 01:51 PM   #8
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,172
Default

pm me your map file?

I'm sure I just need to make the file reading "safer" ... will fix.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 01:57 PM   #9
alex zonder
Human being with feelings
 
alex zonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
pm me your map file?

I'm sure I just need to make the file reading "safer" ... will fix.
I can't send an attachment with pm, so I'll just post the txt
file (from the REAPER/Data/ folder) here.
Attached Files
File Type: txt MIDI_note_names.txt (756 Bytes, 1459 views)
alex zonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 02:18 PM   #10
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,172
Default

That oughta work now. Sorry for the trouble.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 02:26 PM   #11
alex zonder
Human being with feelings
 
alex zonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
That oughta work now. Sorry for the trouble.
great! working perfectly fine now, many thanks schwa!
alex zonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 02:35 PM   #12
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,172
Default

Great. Anyone who picked up the file earlier should probably get the latest up at the top of the thread (before it would get stuck if too many spaces in the note names).
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 10:49 PM   #13
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,172
Default

Honest I'm just testing code. I added file loading to IPlug so I figured might as well use it here. So the note namer (link at the top of the thread) now loads the MIDI_note_names.txt file by default but if you move the slider, it prompts for a new note name file.

BTW the note names seem to persist even if you bypass the effect which is convenient.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 05:00 AM   #14
DaveS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Shropshire, UK
Posts: 86
Default

Hi

Thanks for this very useful plug in. For some reason it crashed Reaper the first few times I tried to load a new txt file. After a few attempts and a couple of restarts it's now working fine.

I've attached a map for Addictive Drums.

Cheers
Dave
Attached Files
File Type: txt AD_MIDI_note_names.txt (736 Bytes, 1122 views)
DaveS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 05:15 AM   #15
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,172
Default

Like I said this is for testing some code so even though this isn't the most earthshaking plugin I do need the code underneath it to be bulletproof (and you fine people don't need stuff messing up for you either).

if anyone gets any bad behavior I'd really appreciate it if (1) you'd make sure you have the latest copy (the one in the first post is always the latest) and (2) if you do have the latest please let me know the circumstances (post the file, tell at what point it broke, etc).

Thanks for helping out!

Last edited by schwa; 05-22-2007 at 05:29 AM. Reason: typo
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 05:38 AM   #16
alex zonder
Human being with feelings
 
alex zonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,606
Default

schwa, this plug is full of possibilities if it could be connected to more than one specific txt file. I'd love to use it for indicating instrument ranges in the MIDI editor. I recently wrote a piece of music (in MIDI) that involved cello and a mezzo soprano. Having the respective instrument/note ranges in front of me in the editor would have been a great help.

One could also 'visualize' instruments such as the guitar or bass, starting with low E etc.

Another possibility would be to have an indication of a piano double notation staff, simply by showing the right lines in the editor, etc.

Lots of work though. But if the plug could be connected to a txt file of one's choice, we'd in no time have a set of 'MIDI maps' together by sharing each other's files....

Well, just a thought.
alex zonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 05:40 AM   #17
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,172
Default

You can already load a txt file of your choice ... do you mean something different?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 05:44 AM   #18
alex zonder
Human being with feelings
 
alex zonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
You can already load a txt file of your choice ... do you mean something different?
Yes but doesn't the plug only recognize a file named MIDI_note_names.txt? I'd love to see it recognize say CELLO-note-range.txt as well and have these txt files together in a MIDI map folder.

Just an idea though!
alex zonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 05:58 AM   #19
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,172
Default

It loads the default filename when it starts up but if you move the slider it prompts for a new filename. Maybe you don't have the latest?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 06:02 AM   #20
alex zonder
Human being with feelings
 
alex zonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
It loads the default filename when it starts up but if you move the slider it prompts for a new filename. Maybe you don't have the latest?
O that's perfect. OK I'm gonna try it out and will post the txt files here that may be useful for others as well. schwa, thanks again. It's a plug with potential, let's hope REAPER will still support it after having a native drum map.
alex zonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 06:28 AM   #21
alex zonder
Human being with feelings
 
alex zonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,606
Default

schwa I gotta run now but I just tested the latest version: it made REAPER freeze/crash when trying to select another txt file (after loading fine as a plug).
alex zonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 06:58 AM   #22
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,172
Default

Well. The default file loading seems OK, but the file selector dialog seems to freeze consistently if you open a project that already has the note namer plugin on a track.

I don't understand why. Maybe a windows guru can offer advice, here's the source.

Last edited by schwa; 05-22-2007 at 09:13 AM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 09:00 AM   #23
bullshark
Human being with feelings
 
bullshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: traîne mes guêtres en Québec...
Posts: 5,390
Default

Very cool plug, thank's.
Only problem is it make's Reaper freeze solid when I hit the select slider (21467 version). Loads the default map fine thought.
bullshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 09:17 AM   #24
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
suppose I should just add this native though
agreed


we should be able to directly enter the names in the gui (rightclick on the text-field or so). and we should be able to save and re-load such assignments as preset(s). and in the preferences there should be an option to select a default preset for this ...
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 10:03 PM   #25
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,172
Default

I think this note namer plugin works now (link in the first post in the thread). Sorry for the false start! And thanks Justin for the multithreading advice. Please let me know if this gives any further trouble.

Last edited by schwa; 05-22-2007 at 10:09 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 11:39 PM   #26
DaveS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Shropshire, UK
Posts: 86
Default

Hi

Working nicely here now.
DaveS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 03:39 AM   #27
Jed
Human being with feelings
 
Jed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 916
Default

Thanks heaps for this Schwa - and DaveS for the AD text file!

Cheers
Jed
__________________
Jeds Music:
https://www.youtube.com/user/Stratguy10
Jed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 04:52 AM   #28
alex zonder
Human being with feelings
 
alex zonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,606
Default

All bugs overcome! nice work, schwa.
alex zonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 09:06 AM   #29
bullshark
Human being with feelings
 
bullshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: traîne mes guêtres en Québec...
Posts: 5,390
Default

Yep, working nicely here, many thank's schwa.
bullshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 08:53 PM   #30
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,172
Default

The note namer plugin now remembers the active note name file and reloads it when you close and reopen the project. So you could have separate note namers on separate tracks with different note names in them, and the whole thing saves and restores properly.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 05:50 AM   #31
alex zonder
Human being with feelings
 
alex zonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,606
Default

OK here's a text file with the full 9 octaves of notes (C0,C#0,D0 - A9,A#9,B9,C10) for schwa's plug and REAPER's named notes mode.
Attached Files
File Type: txt MIDI_notes.txt (909 Bytes, 889 views)
alex zonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 07:24 AM   #32
billybk1
Human being with feelings
 
billybk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,504
Default

Now that we can have customized drum maps in REAPER, maybe we ought to have a sticky where we can all place user created drum maps to share. Here are (3) I created for the EZdrummer kits that I have. Once I get the Nashville kit I'll add that one too.

Cheers,

Billy Buck

Last edited by billybk1; 11-22-2014 at 04:57 PM.
billybk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 07:38 AM   #33
billybk1
Human being with feelings
 
billybk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
The note namer plugin now remembers the active note name file and reloads it when you close and reopen the project. So you could have separate note namers on separate tracks with different note names in them, and the whole thing saves and restores properly.

I was just going to request that the active state be saved and then I saw that you uploaded a new version last night that does just that. Kudos to you, schwa! I have been waiting for customizable drum maps in REAPER and you pulled a rabbit out of the hat and created a plugin that does just that and works great.


Cheers,

Billy Buck
billybk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 09:48 AM   #34
Diogenes
Human being with feelings
 
Diogenes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: A place that allows me to protect myself...
Posts: 8,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billybk1 View Post
Now that we can have customized drum maps in REAPER, maybe we ought to have a sticky where we can all place user created drum maps to share. Here are (3) I created for the EZdrummer kits that I have. Once I get the Nashville kit I'll add that one too.

Cheers,

Billy Buck
Woo Hoo! You rock Billy Buck. I need those for EZD. Schwa... what can I say man? Awesome, awesome work. Thanks a TON!

D

EDIT: Just finished loading 'er up. Works a treat with EZD. Thanks again!

Last edited by Diogenes; 05-24-2007 at 10:13 AM.
Diogenes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 01:32 PM   #35
billybk1
Human being with feelings
 
billybk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diogenes View Post
Woo Hoo! You rock Billy Buck. I need those for EZD. Schwa... what can I say man? Awesome, awesome work. Thanks a TON!

D

EDIT: Just finished loading 'er up. Works a treat with EZD. Thanks again!

Your welcome and yes, they do work quite well. You can even save your custom drum maps along with your Track Templates





Thanks again to schwa for providing this very useful plugin!

Last edited by billybk1; 05-24-2007 at 02:01 PM.
billybk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 02:15 PM   #36
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,355
Default one big nooooooob dreaming

eeeeh
i tried to make a template for LiveTweaker, but it doesn't seem to work.
I load Livetweaker, I load midi note namer in the same track, i open the midi editor : nothing happens
What do i do wrong ?

ANd i have another question : how can we have many templates txt files in a folder ?
If the name of the text file MUST be "MIDI_note_names.txt" and nothing else (for example "Livetweaker", or "drumatic"...), how can we manage to have such a thing for all our drumsynths/samplers ?

I must be missing something...

If one day we could manage to get such a thing working automatically for any samplemap you create, it would be really killer (i mean : open for example ShortCircuit, highlife or EnergyXT, then load a sample in your sampler and keymap it : ReaMidiNote would automatically detect the sample name and the assigned key : wouhouhouhouhouh ... and best of all, it would -i'm dreaming, i nkow - autoname the .txt file with the sampler's name and the patch name (for example "EnergyXT_tr808.txt"))
Well, when i'm dreaming like this, it means that i'm so glad : thank you mr Schwa !
Attached Files
File Type: txt MIDI_note_names.txt.txt (409 Bytes, 531 views)
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 02:30 PM   #37
Diogenes
Human being with feelings
 
Diogenes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: A place that allows me to protect myself...
Posts: 8,245
Default

As far as I know, you CAN name the .txt file anything you want. So go ahead and name yours Livetweaker.txt. On my machine I would have the plugin dll copied into my VST folder which Reaper uses and I would place a copy of "Livetweaker.txt" in C:\Program Files\Reaper\Data. Then start Reaper, insert a MIDI item, click add FX and load the note namer plug, load the map files and then load Livetweaker. Now when opening the MIDI editor, I switch to named notes mode and bingo.

I had to muck about with it for a bit to get it down myself.

D
Diogenes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 02:36 PM   #38
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diogenes View Post
As far as I know, you CAN name the .txt file anything you want. So go ahead and name yours Livetweaker.txt. On my machine I would have the plugin dll copied into my VST folder which Reaper uses and I would place a copy of "Livetweaker.txt" in C:\Program Files\Reaper\Data. Then start Reaper, insert a MIDI item, click add FX and load the note namer plug, load the map files and then load Livetweaker. Now when opening the MIDI editor, I switch to named notes mode and bingo.

I had to muck about with it for a bit to get it down myself.

D
Ok, thanks, mr DIogenes.
THis is what i did, but i don't see anything to load a map from the plugin's interface. How do you do it ?
Cheers

Well, here is what i see :

Last edited by sinkmusic; 05-24-2007 at 02:40 PM. Reason: added image
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 02:41 PM   #39
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,172
Default

I bet I know what's up. If you don't see the GUI, I bet you are on windows 2K or earlier. I'll recompile the plugin with lice and re-post it later (probably not until much later).
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 02:43 PM   #40
billybk1
Human being with feelings
 
billybk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,504
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinkmusic View Post
THis is what i did, but i don't see anything to load a map from the plugin's interface. How do you do it ?
Cheers
First make sure you have the very latest version (from late last night) at the top of this thread. There should be a big red button labeled Change File. Click on it to change to a different map. Once changed, above the red button it will tell you what the current map is. You can save this, in it's current state, with your project or as a part of a project/track template. I am not sure if it matters, but I place the note namer plugin first, in my plugin chain, right before my EZdrummer VSTi.

The plugin should look like this:



Cheers,

Billy Buck

Last edited by billybk1; 05-24-2007 at 02:52 PM.
billybk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.