Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2020, 05:06 AM   #81
the19thbear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 281
Default

Ok. Thanks
the19thbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2021, 07:50 AM   #82
the19thbear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 281
Default

Another thing:
In Pro tools you can press CMD+right mouse click in the mixer and it will show automation for whatever you clicked on. (volume/pan/send amount etc). I'm guessing that I can't find a way to automate this in Reaper, though that would be awesome!
But is there a way to "show automation for last touched" in the mixer?
I can do it with fx, but not the mixer. It really saves time instead of having to go menu diving and find the parameter you need and select "show".

Thanks!
the19thbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2021, 09:25 AM   #83
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,568
Default

"Envelope: Toggle show all envelopes for tracks"

that does selected tracks. There's another for all tracks, though I find it is easy to lose your place if you don't combine it with something like "Track: Vertical scroll selected tracks into view"
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2021, 01:48 PM   #84
the19thbear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 281
Default

Thanks, but not quite what i'm looking for (I think).
I dont want to show all envelopes for a track. I want to show the envelope for what i click on. Lets say i click on a panpot (right mouse+shift or whatever), i then want to see the lane for pan.
I do the same for volume, then that lane switches to volume instead, i do the same for send amount, the lane switches to let me see send amount.
Makes sense?
I dont think this is possible in reaper right now, but it sure is handy in pro tools
the19thbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2021, 01:52 PM   #85
the19thbear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 281
Default

Did a suggestion here:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....15#post2400515
the19thbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2021, 02:07 PM   #86
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default

Just read about automation modes. You need to choose any and touch a parameter.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2021, 02:39 AM   #87
the19thbear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 281
Default

thanks but that will show me the parameter just if I click on it, which will quickly be a mess with all those envelopes. I mean , I will click the parameter when I need to make mouse adjustments as well.
I would like to have a clean way of showing X parameter in a single automation lane and then it will show me another parameter in the same lane. Not when only clicking the knob (because I might do that for other reasons than me wanting to show me the parameter on a lane).

It seems like this currently can't be done in reaper.
But thanks for the input
the19thbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2021, 03:57 AM   #88
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the19thbear View Post
It seems like this currently can't be done in reaper.
But thanks for the input
Yes, unfortunately it is not possible yet.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2021, 05:54 AM   #89
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,714
Default

This is an example of a script that you can run in the background, and that should open the envelope for any FX parameter that you touch while pressing Ctrl:
Code:
gotOK, trPrev, fxPrev, paramPrev = reaper.GetLastTouchedFX()
function loop()
    gotOK, tr, fx, param = reaper.GetLastTouchedFX() -- WARNING! TRACK NUMBER RETURNED BY THIS FUNCTION IS NOT 0-BASED !!!!!!
    if gotOK and (tr ~= trPrev or fx ~= fxPrev or param ~= paramPrev) then 
        trPrev, fxPrev, paramPrev = tr, fx, param
        if (reaper.JS_Mouse_GetState(4) == 4) and not (reaper.GetCursorContext() == 2) then -- Perhaps should skip if touching envelope itself?
            reaper.Main_OnCommandEx(41150, 0, 0) -- Hide all envelopes
            reaper.Main_OnCommandEx(41142, 0, 0) -- Toggle show last touched FX envelope
        end
    end
    reaper.defer(loop)
end
reaper.atexit()
loop()
This is just an example, and I haven't tested it properly. (It only works on Track FX, not Take FX.)

Last edited by juliansader; 02-04-2021 at 10:27 AM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2021, 06:11 AM   #90
jrk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,969
Default

^^^ I think the OP is after track controls as well (or instead)?
__________________
it's meant to sound like that...
jrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2021, 12:17 AM   #91
the19thbear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 281
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
This is an example of a script that you can run in the background, and that should open the envelope for any FX parameter that you touch while pressing Ctrl:
Code:
gotOK, trPrev, fxPrev, paramPrev = reaper.GetLastTouchedFX()
function loop()
    gotOK, tr, fx, param = reaper.GetLastTouchedFX() -- WARNING! TRACK NUMBER RETURNED BY THIS FUNCTION IS NOT 0-BASED !!!!!!
    if gotOK and (tr ~= trPrev or fx ~= fxPrev or param ~= paramPrev) then 
        trPrev, fxPrev, paramPrev = tr, fx, param
        if (reaper.JS_Mouse_GetState(4) == 4) and not (reaper.GetCursorContext() == 2) then -- Perhaps should skip if touching envelope itself?
            reaper.Main_OnCommandEx(41150, 0, 0) -- Hide all envelopes
            reaper.Main_OnCommandEx(41142, 0, 0) -- Toggle show last touched FX envelope
        end
    end
    reaper.defer(loop)
end
reaper.atexit()
loop()
This is just an example, and I haven't tested it properly. (It only works on Track FX, not Take FX.)
Thanks you juliansader!
I am after track controls (pan, width, volume fader, send amount, whatever is visible on the channel)

But thanks a lot
the19thbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2021, 01:19 AM   #92
the19thbear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 281
Default

Any thoughts on how to open automation lanes when right clicking+cmd? I am specifically looking for the pan/width/volume lanes.
the19thbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2022, 11:46 PM   #93
the19thbear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 281
Default

Hi again. razor editing is amazing.
Earlier, i found a way to do scroll mousewheel+hotkey= change item gain, on selected item. ( http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.p...52#post1705952 ).
I would like to have the same, just with razor edit. So area selected with razor edit +mousewheel up/down+hotkey= change selection gain.

I think the sensible thing would be to be able to select items with razor edit. Currently you can't it seems?

Any way to do that?

Thanks

Last edited by the19thbear; 09-01-2022 at 04:30 AM.
the19thbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 06:07 AM   #94
the19thbear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 281
Default

Displaying width envelopes.
Currently I can't seem to find a way to set up a hotkey for showing/hiding the width envelope. Am I blind?
Thanks
the19thbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 06:10 AM   #95
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the19thbear View Post
Displaying width/pan/volume envelopes.
Currently I can't seem to find a way to set up a hotkey for showing/hiding any of these. Am I blind?
Thanks
Probably by default V is for toggle volume envelope. Put this text without quotes into filterbox in Actions windows to show them all: "track: envelope toggle NOT script".
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2022, 12:38 AM   #96
the19thbear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 281
Default

Thanks.

Another thing:

A:
I have a hotkey set up to "split items at time selection". If I have not selected an item and, by mistake, i'm just on an empty track and press the hotkey, the split occurs on all tracks on any items above and below the empty track i am on (including the empty track).

I would like that nothing happens if i press the "split items at time selection" on an empty track. Not that all items on tracks above and below, are split.
Is there a way to fix this?


B:
If I have a track envelope and want to delete it, I have set up a hotkey for that (the delete button). I'm using the "delete item/track/envelope depending on focus".
i would like to use the same button to delete selections within an item.
Works great. I can delete envelopes if I have selected envelopes and delete items if I select items.

Lets say I have an item that is 10 sec long. I select, via time selection, 3 sec in the middle. I would like to be able to press the same button (delete), to delete the 3 second selection.
So basically I would like to have 2 functions for 1 button.
-delete items/tracks/envelope depending on focus
and
-split items at time selection, remove selection.

The problem is that if I make 1 hotkey for this, and put both functions in, one will conflict with the other (depending on what is first in my action list) and result in weird behavior.

Any way of doing what I would like to do?
Otherwise I will have to set up a specific hotkey for deleting envelopes and another for deleting items selection.
Thanks!

EDIT:
FIXED by using razor edit instead (for now I think)

Last edited by the19thbear; 10-12-2022 at 12:56 AM.
the19thbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.