Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 06-10-2011, 07:40 PM   #1
pedro_ov_msd
Human being with feelings

Default ReaComp settings for metal guitar?

compression is something i never really understood. I have compression on my Boss Gt-10 but it only has 2 variables to mess with (sustain and attack). I'm just trying to get an idea for the controls or any suggested presets. i have some low-end distorted guitar "womp" that needs to be tamed and leveled. what is the "theory" behind using ReaComp? I also have some distorted 808's and other electronic drum sounds that need some squashing.(up to 16-tracks)...not including guitar, bass, keys, and vocals... suggestions? is there a thread or a vid that better explains how to use it for different applications? for idiots? should i be using a limiter?

Honestly, I've been recording guitar tracks for the least 3 months and nothing i do has been acceptable. recording alongside perfect, flawless electronic backing tracks isn't helping either. my sound from my amp is awesome and i dont want to mess with it. i have used 1-2 sm57's in every spot imaginable...(including the fredman technique in every position described). is it time for a new mic? what the next step up from an sm57?
pedro_ov_msd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 01:53 AM   #2
yhertogh

Quote:
Originally Posted by pedro_ov_msd View Post