Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Live Use

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2022, 02:43 PM   #41
DaveInIndy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 37
Default My workflow

I now have a script that selects multiple tracks via partial name match, now I need to combine and nest these things without breaking them, plus use Midi Fade X and Midi CC Table.

My workflow when I want to start any song, I press pedal 2 to 'activate' all elements needed to use tracks with "FX1" in their title- that includes electric guitar, acoustic guitar and 4 mics. I will need the same steps for using the FX2 groups and FX3 groups.

Here are the steps that need to happen every time I press pedal 2 on my floorboard to activate FX1:
. Select all Tracks with "In" in title (Mic1_In, EGit_In, etc)
. Unmute Send #1 (or whatever # it actually is) - these are the sends to all FX1 tracks.
. Mute Sends #2 and #3 - these are the sends to all FX2 and FX3 tracks.
. Select all Tracks with "FX1" in title
. Unmute selected tracks
. Start Midi Fade X (IN) on selected tracks
. Wait 2 seconds - let the tails on FX2 or FX3 sound out
. Select all Tracks with "FX2" and "FX3" in the title
. Start Midi Fade X (OUT) on selected tracks
. Set Midi Fade X to Mute that track once fade out completes

Lots to still do, but I need to test these elements in steps, beginning with Midi Fade X and NOT using the Control Path.

Dave
DaveInIndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2022, 11:30 PM   #42
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 11,648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveInIndy View Post
I now have a script that selects multiple tracks via partial name match,
Might be nice and kind of "obvious".

But (depending on what you intend to use the "selection" for) might rather easily get in the way with other means of muting/unmuting tracks,

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 02-05-2022 at 11:35 PM.
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2022, 11:27 AM   #43
DaveInIndy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 37
Default

Michael, another Midi FadeX question. Please and thank you.

As you know my workflow involves switching tracks to get different combinations of effects. And when I switch away from a set of tracks (ie those producing "FX1" sounds), I want those to be allowed to tail off for 2 or 3 seconds before Midi Fade X begins the fade out. I can achieve that delay using Midi CC Table or scripting, but is it feasible to add a delay within Midi Fade X prior to the fade out?

I'm learning LUA to work with scripts for various purposes, but EEL2 isn't clear enough to me to even see if this is possible without major changes to the code.

Thanks,
Dave
DaveInIndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2022, 01:58 PM   #44
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 11,648
Default

Of course this would be doable.

But maybe the stock plugin "midi Delay" also might help.
-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2022, 01:24 PM   #45
DaveInIndy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 37
Default Mide Fade X Volume delay

Hi Michael. You may recall back in my testing where I observed a long and variable delay in volume output when first sending Midi Fade X the 127 value.

Now that I have a good sense for how I want to run my whole workflow, I'm back to testing the subunits. I am still seeing a variable, long delay between the time MFX receives the 127 value and when it passes audio. 7-23 seconds, median ~8. I've watched the MFX window while testing, and as soon as a 127 value is received, the vertical yellow line shifts from far left (0) to far right (127), however the horizontal volume line stays on the bottom (-inf) for a random time, then moves up like a fade in to the end value (127) just as audio is heard. Audio is passed based on when the horizontal line moves up.

This always happens when a project is first opened. I see the same thing just by deleting and re-adding MFX to the track. After this volume finally catches up, every other midi value sent to MFX gives the expected behavior.

Have you ever seen anything like this? I'm using the latest MFX version 2.2 in a new, simple project. In Preferences, Midi settings are to NOT pass Midi to the Control path. Nothing else is open on the PC.

I'll attached the rpp file here, for reference.

Thanks,
Dave
Attached Files
File Type: rpp BasicTesting.rpp (290.6 KB, 31 views)
DaveInIndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2022, 02:29 PM   #46
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 11,648
Default

I uploaded v 2.3 (hopefully) with a fix.

it replaces the recently added line by


low = 1; // fix initialization problems


-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2022, 02:03 PM   #47
DaveInIndy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
I uploaded v 2.3 (hopefully) with a fix.

-Michael
Good news! I tested v2.3, it works perfectly! I tweaked it a bit for my needs (cc=127 and vol=max at init). Now back to lua coding...lots to learn as I go.

I guess my post above outlines my workflow now. Most of it will be in script, though Midi Fade X is the key engine. I will probably not post to this thread again.

Thanks again Michael, you've been a tremendous help.

Dave
DaveInIndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.