Old 02-19-2020, 12:01 PM   #1
Kenny Gioia
Human being with feelings
 
Kenny Gioia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3,518
Default v6.04rc2 - February 18 2020

v6.04rc2 - February 18 2020
  • + ARA: support media with different sample rates for ARA plugins that do not stretch audio (VocAlign)
  • + MIDI editor: respect default CC curve shape preference when inserting new event via action
  • + VST3: fix interaction between automation items and VST3 parameter in certain cases [t=230200]
v6.04rc1 - February 17 2020:
  • + Automation items: add sine shape, tilt parameter
  • + Control surfaces: MCU remembers whether it is in MCP mode across sessions (csurf section, mcu_mcp key)
  • + Custom actions: add options to define when custom action feedback is displayed as enabled
  • + Custom actions: show custom action toggle state as enabled/disabled only if every component action is enabled/disabled [p=2232483]
  • + Envelopes: add actions to move active envelope fader, or selected envelope points, up or down a tiny bit
  • + Envelopes: turn off track/send mute button when creating new mute envelope while muted (so it's not double-muted)
  • + HiDPI: adjust font antialiasing size threshold for dpi on Windows
  • + JSFX: fix possible crash from concurrent random() calls
  • + MIDI editor: UI scaling support
  • + MIDI editor: add basic CC LFO dialog
  • + MIDI editor: add option to allow CC shape in bank and LSB lanes (CC0, CC32-63)
  • + MIDI editor: display non-standard CC values in event list view [p=2231622]
  • + MIDI editor: prevent multiple events at the same time position when creating saw LFO [p=2231606]
  • + MIDI editor: support entering a note name directly in event properties dialog [t=230641]
  • + MIDI inline editor: DPI-scale CC lane resizers
  • + Main window: TCP pane and toolbar pane size are stored DPI-independently
  • + Media items: fix erratic snap when source loop length is less than snap division [p=2214189]
  • + Media items: inform user when auto-stretch timebase cannot be applied due to existing gradual tempo map [p=2231315]
  • + Media items: when enabled, trim behind duplicated media items immediately after duplicating [t=229591]
  • + Mouse modifiers: add modifier to adjust loop source start/end by dragging media item contents
  • + Mouse modifiers: add modifier to draw selected media item, looping the visible or time-selected section
  • + Mouse modifiers: add modifiers to adjust loop section start/end
  • + Mouse modifiers: support editing loop source length by dragging loop divider notch when media item edge mouse modifier is set to edit loop source
  • + Performance meter: shorten text strings when very narrow
  • + Project bay: display source offset, tempo, time signature for source media if applicable
  • + Projects: store arrange view Y scroll position in project
  • + ReaNINJAM: improve status display/visual click
  • + ReaScript: improve support for touch messages when using OscLocalMessageToHost() [t=225104]
  • + ReaTune: allow detection G-1..A0 with large window size
  • + ReaTune: automatic tuning mode can optionally limit output note range
  • + Render: display more accurate remaining time when rendering from region render matrix [t=231258]
  • + Render: force rendered sample rate to be compatible with stem file output format
  • + Retina/HiDPI: generic FX UI font sizing improvements
  • + Retina/HiDPI: track routing window font sizing improvements
  • + Theme: omit IDE colors from theme element finder [p=2235507]
  • + VST3: fix .vstpreset loading
  • + VST3: fix support for VST3 plugins that output MIDI via LegacyMIDICCOutEvent
  • + VST: notify VST3 plug-ins of display DPI
  • + Windows HiDPI: store FX browser pane width indepedent of DPI
  • + Windows HiDPI: store FX chain list width indepedent of DPI
  • + Windows HiDPI: store media explorer pane sizes independent of DPI
  • + Windows: experimental Multimonitorv2 HiDPI awareness mode
  • + Windows: improve checkbox appearance in various windows
  • + macOS: disable formatting in various text fields
  • + macOS: faster listview updates
  • + macOS: show open-project options on recent macOS versions by default
  • # FX chain: re-create VST plug-in UI if DPI changed
  • # FX chains: change FX state images when DPI changes
  • # FX float windows: re-create plug-in UI if DPI changed
  • # FX: do not recreate resizing VST UIs on DPI change
  • # HiDPI: fix initial size of single send/hardware output window on secondary displays
  • # JSFX: fix mm2 pane resizing in IDE
  • # JSFX: mm2 fixes
  • # MIDI editor: add sine shape to LFO dialog
  • # MIDI editor: better interpolation of LFO start/end
  • # MIDI editor: disable CC shape menu options when shape is not allowed in a particular CC lane
  • # MIDI editor: fix unintentionally disabled menu items (effectively reverts c548c617)
  • # MIDI editor: increase width of CC LFO dialog
  • # MIDI editor: option to prevent CC shape in LSB lanes does not reset existing CC shapes
  • # MIDI editor: preference to allow CC shape in LSB lanes does not affect pitch lane [p=2236724]
  • # MIDI filter: fix checkbox display on Windows
  • # Media explorer: render back/forward/parent images at various DPI settings
  • # Mouse modifiers: better handling of drawing looped section of media item that is already a looped section of a media source [inception noise]
  • # Mouse modifiers: better handling of editing loop section via mouse modifier when only one loop iteration is showing
  • # Mouse modifiers: disable loop source mouse modifiers for MIDI items
  • # Mouse modifiers: improve behavior when editing takes with negative start-in-source [p=2215292]
  • # Mouse modifiers: on initial loop source edit, set loop bounds to media item bounds if less than one loop iteration is displayed [p=2214579]
  • # Performance meter: new-hidpi fixes
  • # ReaScript: fix watch pane resize on mm2
  • # Theme: default_6.0 150/200% gen_vol/pan thumbs
  • # Windows: Multimonitor aware v2 mode is no longer default (is experimental again)
  • # Windows: improve antialias selection fix
  • # Windows: tweak font in send/VST generic UIs/etc
    # fix track send window when in non-mm2-dpi mode
  • # listviews: improve performance when selecting all/none in listviews on macOS and Linux
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
Kenny Gioia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 04:46 PM   #2
cjewellstudios
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 288
Default

Thank you very much for your hard work. Long time user and this is my first post in the pre-release section

+ Custom actions: show custom action toggle state as enabled/disabled only if every component action is enabled/disabled [p=2232483]

If I run the following custom actions through the actions list:

Script: Lokasenna_Select tracks by name - All Drums Select only.lua
Track: Toggle solo for selected tracks
Track: Set first selected track as last touched track

The toggle state correctly says "on"

However if I run that custom action via midi or keyboard shortcut, the toggle says "off" (I feel like this should say "on")

Soloing that track with a mouse while it's selected also keeps the toggle state to "off"
cjewellstudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 05:23 PM   #3
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,533
Default

That changelog line was from an earlier development build, and it was superseded by

+ Custom actions: add options to define when custom action feedback is displayed as enabled

If you edit your custom action, you will see some new options that determine when to show the option as enabled or disabled.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 06:08 PM   #4
cjewellstudios
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
That changelog line was from an earlier development build, and it was superseded by

+ Custom actions: add options to define when custom action feedback is displayed as enabled

If you edit your custom action, you will see some new options that determine when to show the option as enabled or disabled.

Ok I see that now. I mistakenly installed the 32 bit rc build.

That's pretty cool. It doesn't work the way I want it to but I see why that is.

Digging deeper into toggle states:

I was trying to get the correct feedback for a solo state on a midi controller. It was track 16 so I just went to the Reaper action toggle solo for track 16. (instead of the above custom action)

Same story there. If you run that action in the action menu, the toggle state changes to "on" but when you trigger it any other way, the toggle state does not change. Even if the toggle state is "on" from running in the actions list, if you unsolo track 16 any other way, it stays "on"

EDIT:

Interestingly enough, the Solo Toggle for track 16 action actually returns a value to the controller.

Last edited by cjewellstudios; 02-20-2020 at 06:20 PM.
cjewellstudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 08:52 PM   #5
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,562
Default

i am curious about the workflow in which "Solo Toggle for track 16 " kind of functions can work.
In my production process i never know how manny tracks there will be, and their order always change
Wouldn't it be more interesting something if this actions were like "Solo Toggle for track with name includes #16"
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 09:06 PM   #6
cjewellstudios
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
i am curious about the workflow in which "Solo Toggle for track 16 " kind of functions can work.
In my production process i never know how manny tracks there will be, and their order always change
Wouldn't it be more interesting something if this actions were like "Solo Toggle for track with name includes #16"

Thats my point really, I should have stated it clearer. It just "works" as in it sends the correct value to the controller you map it to. It's not really practical.

Technically I have a template where my buss tracks start at track 15 so I could use that action and get correct feedback.

I have that custom action I posted above that selects only the track I need and then uses the "toggle solo for selected tracks" action, and that does technically work for one track but it gets super wonky (understandably so) doing that for multiple tracks.
cjewellstudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 09:12 PM   #7
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,562
Default

ohh ok thank you! i struggle with this a lot (and still didn't find a solution) since we aren't able to learn volume, mute, sends volume per track like other envelopes.

So we have the same issue!

One solution could be if devs maded a way to set actions like: "set/tag selected track has #1", etc. - instead of being dependent on track order. (probably with P_EXT)

But nothing beats ability to learn this parameters like we can for plugins ones and feedback.
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 05:17 AM   #8
juan_r
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 16
Default

I think ReaConsole has similar functionality (selecting tracks by matching part of the name). Could it help?
juan_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 05:32 AM   #9
cjewellstudios
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juan_r View Post
I think ReaConsole has similar functionality (selecting tracks by matching part of the name). Could it help?
Performing the action isn't a big deal. Reaconsole could help yeah or there's that select tracks by name script from Lokasenna that I threw in a custom action. It's returning the correct value/toggle state to a controller or Reaper Web Remote that seems to be the issue.

I assumed working on these toggle states could help those things out. But I'm not knowledgeable enough to say that for sure. Just a guess and I was hoping to help.
cjewellstudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2020, 09:16 AM   #10
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjewellstudios View Post
Performing the action isn't a big deal. Reaconsole could help yeah or there's that select tracks by name script from Lokasenna that I threw in a custom action. It's returning the correct value/toggle state to a controller or Reaper Web Remote that seems to be the issue.

I assumed working on these toggle states could help those things out. But I'm not knowledgeable enough to say that for sure. Just a guess and I was hoping to help.
I've been playing with this and here's what I've run into (maybe you can confirm it's the same thing):

1. Create a Custom Action with new toggle state settings
2. Add it to the toolbar - give it an icon
3. Launch said action - either via the toolbar or via controller

Result: toggle state is active. So far so good.

4. Use the toolbar to turn off said action

Result: toggle state is inactive. So far so good.

5. Launch said action again - either via the toolbar or via controller - still works
6. Use a controller to turn off said action (using CSI)

Result: toggle state on toolbar incorrectly shows as still active

Expected result: toggle state should be inactive regardless of how it was turned off.
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.