Old 12-04-2019, 04:28 PM   #1
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,690
Default Embedded Plugin GUI

It's really cute to see the GUI of my JSFX plugins nicely embedded in the TCP and the MCP !!! This comes handy for the existing ones and triggers development of JSFXes just for showing interesting suff.

But will showing many such little gems not greatly degrade the GUI performance ?

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 12-04-2019 at 11:47 PM.
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 01:45 AM   #2
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 8,062
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
But will showing many such little gems not greatly degrade the GUI performance ?
Obviously it depends on what the plugins are drawing in their GUIs and how it scales CPU-wise depending on the GUI size.
__________________
I am no longer part of the REAPER community. Please don't contact me with any REAPER-related issues.
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 07:05 AM   #3
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,690
Default

I suppose the GUI functionality of JSFX is not very efficient.

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 07:17 AM   #4
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 8,062
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
I suppose the GUI functionality of JSFX is not very efficient.
It's about as efficient as the other custom (vector) graphics in Reaper, since it uses the same Lice library. I would assume the TCP/MCP embedded GUIs generally use less CPU than the full sized GUIs, because they are smaller. (Of course if there are many of those embedded GUIs visible, it adds up.)
__________________
I am no longer part of the REAPER community. Please don't contact me with any REAPER-related issues.
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 09:09 AM   #5
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,677
Default

Some possibly stupid questions:
(a) what is the purpose of of these thumbnails?
-- graphics reminders of the FX?
-- editable interfaces into the FX?
(b) can the thumbnails be minimised?
(c) can the thumbnails be scrolled left/right and up/down?
(d) can any GUIs embedded in the MCP be useful, as the available space is small?

They can look OK:
>>> https://i.imgur.com/whYBK4F.png
(e) but why is the TCP boundary thinner around the second GUI (they are both the same width)

(f) If I widen the TCP, the GUIs jump to be a chain, that is no necessary (maybe this is the same behaviour as the TCP parameter knobs?)
>>> https://i.imgur.com/LHHVRrk.png

(g) why does the thumbnail for an open plug-in expand /contract to fit the available space? Have a look at the phaser here:
>>> https://i.imgur.com/MQetfo1.png

(h) if the track height is increased, the embedded GUIs are spaced out evenly; please see below. I think that it would be better if they were stacked together, with an empty space below the stack.
>>> https://i.imgur.com/bKZcckl.png

(i) ReaComp is embedded in the MCP, and ReaEQ is the second FX but what is going on here?
>>> https://i.imgur.com/TI5wkK0.png

--------------------
Disclaimer: maybe this feature is a work-in-progress and I've jumped the gun.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 05:17 AM   #6
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,677
Default

Also, is there any way to expand the ReaComp embedded GUI?



Then we can adjust the blue and orange controls.

PS Mousewheel over an embedded ReaEq node does not change the Q value; it (here) vertically scrolls the arranger tracks.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 07:20 AM   #7
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenakios View Post
It's about as efficient as the other custom (vector) graphics
Yep technically correct, But I am not convinced regarding my skills as a Gui programmer. I usually start the @gfx section by clearing the complete rectangle, and then redraw everything. I suppose this is not optimum in many cases

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 05:44 AM   #8
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Yep technically correct, But I am not convinced regarding my skills as a Gui programmer. I usually start the @gfx section by clearing the complete rectangle, and then redraw everything. I suppose this is not optimum in many cases
Do note that the GUI only redraws at 20 FPS or so, so which probably means it uses very little CPU when compared to audio processing, even if the GUI code isn't efficient.

That being said, it would indeed be more efficient to only redraw your GUI if something has actually changed (like in e.g. gfxanalyzer, or my drum_synth).
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 05:53 AM   #9
d. gauss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,631
Default

is there a list of what plugs currently support this? seems to me only 2 or three of the ones included in reaper actually are able to do this.
d. gauss is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 08:36 AM   #10
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,117
Default

I'd make a really strong case that if someone coded the following (mocked-up) plugin, that they'd make life infinitely better for everyone:



Just hit the "Set to -18LUFS" button while sound is playing (right from mixer!), and it calculates the short-term LUFS value and gain-stages it to -18LUFS. Perfect on busses to instantly get a nice gelling point to feed into the Master, and equally usable on individual channels to immediately get a "Faders-up" mix.
ferropop is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 10:19 AM   #11
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Funkybot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 5,990
Default

I'd look very forward to seeing a simple VU Meter (that can be calibrated) plus a trim control that I could add to the top of mix channels. Might even already be a thing I haven't discovered yet, but if not, that'd be a fantastic use for this feature.
Funkybot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 10:33 AM   #12
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,677
Default



All you need is a JS FX that only uses a square (?) area the width of the MCP FX slots
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...

Last edited by DarkStar; 12-11-2019 at 03:17 PM.
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.