Old 11-26-2019, 12:37 PM   #1
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 919
Default Option to create Freeze tracks folder

Hi everyone, please correct me if i´m wrong but from what i see and tried in reaper, there is no option in the preferences to create a dedicated Freezed tracks folder per project. To keep things tight and clean. Like we do for peak files, backup files.
Please feel free to add +1 if you find this option usable.

Thanks
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 12:51 PM   #2
Mahn
Human being with feelings
 
Mahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Ireland
Posts: 5
Default +1

Agreed (sorry, I don't know how to do a plus1 but I agree)
Mahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2020, 01:53 AM   #3
LuCsa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 52
Default

+1 from my side!

I sometimes freeze certain tracks/parts when bringing a project to the uni where we don't have certain plugins I use. It would be nice to have the freezes in a dedicated folder which makes tidying up after wards much easier.

kind regards,
Lukas
LuCsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2020, 08:08 PM   #4
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,652
Default

There is an area in Preference where you can set up the naming convention for those files. Does putting a relative folder path in there work? I can’t try it atm.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 04:13 PM   #5
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 919
Default

On the general / path i already have a folder for all audio files(Default render path). That is where the freeze files go. There is no option for a dedicated one i believe. Unless there is another method i´m not aware of.
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 04:36 PM   #6
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 892
Default

+1 A relative Freeze folder path should be added to the Reaper prefs.
Klangfarben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 07:11 AM   #7
HDWind
Human being with feelings
 
HDWind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 50
Default

+1 for this
HDWind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 07:50 AM   #8
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe44 View Post
On the general / path i already have a folder for all audio files(Default render path). That is where the freeze files go. There is no option for a dedicated one i believe. Unless there is another method i´m not aware of.
What does a separate folder by you? I'm a freeze Maniac I need to know
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 10:01 AM   #9
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
What does a separate folder by you? I'm a freeze Maniac I need to know
It gets the project folder clean, audio files in one folder, backup files another folder, freezed tracks another folder. I like it clean.
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 11:14 AM   #10
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe44 View Post
It gets the project folder clean, audio files in one folder, backup files another folder, freezed tracks another folder. I like it clean.
Seriously, does it serve any purpose other than for OCD? Never check out the system 32 folder under windows?
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 11:50 AM   #11
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
Seriously, does it serve any purpose other than for OCD? Never check out the system 32 folder under windows?
i dont use the system32 folder for my audio work so its ok for me on the other hand i do like to have things clean and tight. Makes me work better and faster. And seems like i´m not alone on this FR.
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 11:54 AM   #12
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 919
Default

Reaper is probably the only daw that let users end up with a desktop full of audio and peak files because is not defaulted to create a separate audio folder and peak folders, that's minimum requisites...people have to dig to know how to keep a project folder with separate folders for audio, backup files and peak files. In my opinion that makes no sense.
If you´re ok with that, nice for you. is not for me!
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 12:12 PM   #13
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe44 View Post
Reaper is probably the only daw that let users end up with a desktop full of audio and peak files because is not defaulted to create a separate audio folder and peak folders, that's minimum requisites...people have to dig to know how to keep a project folder with separate folders for audio, backup files and peak files. In my opinion that makes no sense.
If you´re ok with that, nice for you. is not for me!
One work around is you can always use the search box and filter by *.Wav if that helps. I do keep my Peak files separate and have a Windows 10 schedule that runs every two weeks and deletes them all.
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 12:21 PM   #14
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
One work around is you can always use the search box and filter by *.Wav if that helps. I do keep my Peak files separate and have a Windows 10 schedule that runs every two weeks and deletes them all.
Good to know that. I keep all peak files, just in case i have to do a client revision at anytime. They dont bother me at all.
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 05:09 PM   #15
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,635
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe44 View Post
Good to know that. I keep all peak files, just in case i have to do a client revision at anytime. They dont bother me at all.
Even if you delete the peak files, they will rebuild on load. That's why I delete them regularly, so I'm not saving them in backups since they will just rebuild anyways on load
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.