Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2020, 09:51 AM   #1
Metalcountry
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Default Editing Media Tracks when not connected to Interface

I'm a new user and have successfully recorded several tracks.
I would now like to work on those recorded tracks without being connected to my interface (focusrite)

If I open Reaper without being connected to the interface I get an error message stating

There was an error opening the audio hardware:

Error initializing ASIO driver

Do I always need to be connected to the interface, even if I'm not planning to record anything during the session?
Metalcountry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 11:00 AM   #2
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,404
Default

The ASIO driver is presumably the one that works with your interface so if the interface is not connected you can't use that driver.

WASAPI or the ASIO4all driver will work with your built in audio. Maybe direct sound but latency would be awful.
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 02:13 PM   #3
lunker
Human being with feelings
 
lunker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lucas, TX, USA (via Luleň, Sweden)
Posts: 1,070
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metalcountry View Post
I would now like to work on those recorded tracks without being connected to my interface (focusrite)

Do I always need to be connected to the interface, even if I'm not planning to record anything during the session?
You don't need to be connected to the interface if you aren't going to be sending/receiving any information to/from it.

I often don't turn on my interface if I am just editing MIDI data or moving items around. But if I want to play it to hear the changes I made, then I need to turn the interface on.

So whether you need the interface on depends on what you are planning to do.
__________________
Best Regards, Ernie "lunker" Lundqvist
BDSM (Bad Dog Studio Musicians)
Windows 10 running on Z390 + i7-8700
lunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 02:28 PM   #4
Metalcountry
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Default Editing Media Tracks when not connected to Interface

For me, if the interface is not plugged in, or plugged in and not turned on, I get the error message.
It seems I have to have the interface plugged into my laptop and turned on to work. Even if I'm just editing tracks, moving items around etc.

Once everything is recorded, I'd like to be able to take my laptop with me and work with the tracks when I'm away from my interface.

Any suggestions?
Metalcountry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 07:11 PM   #5
lunker
Human being with feelings
 
lunker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lucas, TX, USA (via Luleň, Sweden)
Posts: 1,070
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metalcountry View Post
For me, if the interface is not plugged in, or plugged in and not turned on, I get the error message.

It seems I have to have the interface plugged into my laptop and turned on to work. Even if I'm just editing tracks, moving items around etc.
If you want to continue without connecting the interface, just click "Close" and optionally check the box for "Do not show this window again".

I don't have any problems moving items around or otherwise editing a project when not connected to an audio interface. (but see the comments below!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metalcountry View Post
Once everything is recorded, I'd like to be able to take my laptop with me and work with the tracks when I'm away from my interface.

Any suggestions?
It depends on what you mean by "work with the tracks". Like I said above, moving items, changing faders, etc. is possible when you are not connected to an audio interface.

However, if you want to hear the changes you are making ... well, you need some type of audio interface/soundcard for that. You can go into the "Audio > Device" preferences and select the built-in soundcard on the laptop using WASAPI, DirectSound, WaveOut, or whatever (as Stella645 suggested) until you have your interface available. The quality/performance of the built-in soundcard won't be as good as a pro interface, but if you really want to play the project without your focusrite, you'll have to use whatever is available.
__________________
Best Regards, Ernie "lunker" Lundqvist
BDSM (Bad Dog Studio Musicians)
Windows 10 running on Z390 + i7-8700

Last edited by lunker; 01-23-2020 at 07:23 PM.
lunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2020, 05:02 AM   #6
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metalcountry View Post
For me, if the interface is not plugged in, or plugged in and not turned on, I get the error message.
It seems I have to have the interface plugged into my laptop and turned on to work. Even if I'm just editing tracks, moving items around etc.

Once everything is recorded, I'd like to be able to take my laptop with me and work with the tracks when I'm away from my interface.

Any suggestions?
I suggest you tell us why/how/if the suggestions already given didn't work??
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.