Old 01-17-2020, 07:23 PM   #1
IDDQDSound
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 3
Default "Spot Mode" requires entering Colons

Hey everyone! I'm using the "spot mode" equivalent in Reaper a lot for video work, but when I type in a timecode I have to type in the colons as well. In Pro Tools you just type the numbers since the colons are always in the same place. Any way of having the same thing happen in Reaper?

So for example, In Pro Tools you type 01010307 and it goes to timecode 01:01:03:07 but in Reaper you actually have to type 01:01:03:07 including the colons. Would it be possible to auto-format the numbers since the colons are always in the same place, between every 2 digits?
IDDQDSound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 08:40 AM   #2
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 892
Default

HUGE +1 for this.
Klangfarben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2020, 07:59 AM   #3
mrlimbic
Human being with feelings
 
mrlimbic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 614
Default

The best implementation of timecode entry I've used is in FCPX.

It does more than just "jump to" (single click). It also has duration mode (double click) for altering length of any selected items. Also has +/- which toggles relative mode.

If you enter 50 on a 25fps timeline it shows 2:00 because that is 50 frames.

So doing something like make an item 50 frames longer or shorter is really quick, not only jumping to a position.

It wouldn't be hard to script something like this.

How about?

1. Jump to (nothing selected) & jump relative
2. Move selected items inpoint to position or relative amount
3. Alter selected item outpoint to position or by relative amount
__________________
Convert NLE XMLs to RPP.
http://vordio.net
mrlimbic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2020, 12:52 PM   #4
mrlimbic
Human being with feelings
 
mrlimbic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 614
Default

OK. Just knocked up a basic script for a timecode entry panel.

This is typing 12345678 with no colons. I'll do some more on it tomorrow.

It doesn't have any features yet as I haven't scripted anything with a GUI before so it took me a while to work out how to do that. The rest should be easier.

I want to make it dockable so it can always be there.

__________________
Convert NLE XMLs to RPP.
http://vordio.net
mrlimbic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 12:17 PM   #5
mrlimbic
Human being with feelings
 
mrlimbic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 614
Default

OK. Script now has a bit of functionality.

Now can do absolute and relative jumps..

Controls are arrow keys for relative forward/backward mode. Spacebar for absolute mode. Enter for jump.

Need to tidy some things up but can release the basic version soon. Then add more features in an update some time.

The demo may look a bit odd because you can type numbers that are too big for each field.

So typing 99 will show 4:03 because that is the actual length of 99 frames at 24fps.

__________________
Convert NLE XMLs to RPP.
http://vordio.net

Last edited by mrlimbic; 02-09-2020 at 12:22 PM.
mrlimbic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 01:26 PM   #6
mrlimbic
Human being with feelings
 
mrlimbic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 614
Default

Works nicely assigned to a key as a popup. Turns out not easily dockable.

Will release it soon..

__________________
Convert NLE XMLs to RPP.
http://vordio.net
mrlimbic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 08:53 AM   #7
mrlimbic
Human being with feelings
 
mrlimbic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 614
Default

OK. This timecode entry script now exists in my reapack repository.

Search for "mrlimbic's timecode entry"

https://github.com/mrlimbic/reascrip...ster/index.xml

You also need to install Reateam's "Scythe library v3" and run "Script: Scythe_Set v3 library path.lua" before my script will work.

It now looks like this. Here's a couple of relative jumps.

Usage instructions:

1. Install Scythe library v3
2. Run Script: Scythe_Set v3 library path.lua
3. Assign key to timecode script
4. Input accepted

a. <Digit> - enter timecode digit
b. SPACE - Sets absolute mode
c. ARROW LEFT - Sets relative mode backward
d. ARROW RIGHT - Sets relative mode forwards
e. RETURN - Jump to timecode
f. ESCAPE - abort
g. BACKSPACE - undo last digit

__________________
Convert NLE XMLs to RPP.
http://vordio.net

Last edited by mrlimbic; 02-10-2020 at 09:34 AM.
mrlimbic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.