Old 01-07-2020, 01:44 AM   #1
ksor
Human being with feelings
 
ksor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ┼rhus V, Denmark
Posts: 500
Default MP4 instead of MOV when rendering ??

I have a lot of files to cut out an then render from bigger MOV files.

When I render the cur sequences they end up as MOV-files !

I would prefere they end up as MP4-files because they are smaller !

I know HandBrake can do that but I have 100's to do, so ...

How can I get Reaper to produce MP4 files when rendering ?
__________________
Best regards
KSor, Denmark

Last edited by ksor; 01-07-2020 at 07:59 AM.
ksor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 09:40 PM   #2
lachinhan
Human being with feelings
 
lachinhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Can Tho - Viet Nam
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ksor View Post
I have a lot of files to cut out an then render from bigger MOV files.

When I render the cur sequences they end up as MOV-files !

I would prefere they end up as MP4-files because they are smaller !

I know HandBrake can do that but I have 100's to do, so ...

How can I get Reaper to produce MP4 files when rendering ?
Pls See this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hxlb4PNCt7M

06:09 - Render: allow specifying .aiff extension for AIFF files, .mp4 or .m4v for videos, etc
__________________
NK Recording Studio
Email: lachinhan@gmail.com or admin@thuamninhkieu.com
Website:nkpro.top
lachinhan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 12:42 AM   #3
ksor
Human being with feelings
 
ksor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ┼rhus V, Denmark
Posts: 500
Default

Thx for your answer and I've seen the video there, BUT ...

I DON'T have that output format he chooses AFTER the AIFF ... that MPEG4/MOV !

I only have one where I can choose as shown in the attached file ... and it gives me MOV-file when finished !

I got it solved so I can attach now !
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Peaper.jpg (24.4 KB, 41 views)
__________________
Best regards
KSor, Denmark

Last edited by ksor; 01-08-2020 at 01:09 AM.
ksor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 05:41 AM   #4
lachinhan
Human being with feelings
 
lachinhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Can Tho - Viet Nam
Posts: 141
Default

Please name the file with the extension .mp4. You will export the mp4 file
__________________
NK Recording Studio
Email: lachinhan@gmail.com or admin@thuamninhkieu.com
Website:nkpro.top
lachinhan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 07:13 AM   #5
ksor
Human being with feelings
 
ksor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ┼rhus V, Denmark
Posts: 500
Default

No, you're wrong there - unfortunately !

I have just tried to render WITHOUT changing the extension - it results in a MOV-file with size 265Mb

Now I tried WITHOUT changing anything BUT the extension to MP4 - it results in a MP4-file with the size 265Mb = the same size as the MOV-file !

If I use HandBrake to reduce the MP4-file, I can reduce it to 53,9Mb !
So, just renaming the extension just makes a MOV-file in MP4-disguise !

How can I update my Video-formats in the Render.dialog so I can make a REAL MP4-rendering ?
__________________
Best regards
KSor, Denmark
ksor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 07:21 AM   #6
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 733
Default

Hi ksor,
it's because Reaper does not include all encoders, so what you have after installation of Reaper is MOV/MP4 container and only encoding option is MJPEG.
You have to install FFMPEG to have access to other encoding formats for MOV/MP4 container. Search forum for info where exactly to download which version.
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 07:57 AM   #7
ksor
Human being with feelings
 
ksor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ┼rhus V, Denmark
Posts: 500
Default

I have these posibillyties in my installation - see the attached files in sequence by number.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Video 1.jpg (41.8 KB, 40 views)
File Type: jpg Video 2.jpg (35.9 KB, 34 views)
File Type: jpg Video 3.jpg (30.3 KB, 35 views)
__________________
Best regards
KSor, Denmark
ksor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 08:07 AM   #8
ksor
Human being with feelings
 
ksor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ┼rhus V, Denmark
Posts: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
Hi ksor,
it's because Reaper does not include all encoders, so what you have after installation of Reaper is MOV/MP4 container and only encoding option is MJPEG.
You have to install FFMPEG to have access to other encoding formats for MOV/MP4 container. Search forum for info where exactly to download which version.
I've downloaded and unpacked "ffmpeg-4.1.3-win64-shared" in a folder - but it says nothing on how to install it !

How do I install it "into" Reaper ?
__________________
Best regards
KSor, Denmark
ksor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 08:25 AM   #9
FixItInPost
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: South Africa
Posts: 15
Default

Hi ksor,

Have a look at the following post:
https://forums.cockos.com/showpost.p...5&postcount=18

In short, if you're on Windows 10, you'll need to navigate to
%AppData%\REAPER\UserPlugins
or, from within REAPER, click on the Options men and select Show REAPER resource path in explorer/finder and then navigate to the UserPlugins folder.

From your downloaded ffmpeg-4.1.3-win64-shared.zip file, extract ONLY the .DLL files (from the ffmpeg-4.1.3-win64-shared\bin folder) to the UserPlugins folder.

Restart REAPER.

In the Render window you should now be able to export H.264 by selecting
Output format: Video(ffmpeg/libav encoder)
Format: QT/MOV/MP4
Video coded: H.264

Don't forget to include .mp4 when specifying the output filename e.g. Filename.mp4
FixItInPost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 09:06 AM   #10
ksor
Human being with feelings
 
ksor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ┼rhus V, Denmark
Posts: 500
Default

> FixItInPost

Thx for the posting - it seems to work nicely but still some strange things ... at least for me !

I did the same excersize as before:

Did the rindering with your settings an NOT changing extension - then it ends up with a MOV-file size = 46,4Mb

Then I tried render with extension changed to MP4 and it ends with a MP4-file size = 46.4MB - so again a MOV-file in MP4-disguise !

HandBrake can still reduce the MP4-file to 38.8Mb

So it seems HandBrake IS NEEDED to reduce the size - right ?

I still can't choose from all these formats as he do here - at about 07:45
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hxlb4PNCt7M&t=405s
__________________
Best regards
KSor, Denmark

Last edited by ksor; 01-08-2020 at 09:13 AM.
ksor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 09:38 AM   #11
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 733
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ksor View Post
> ...
HandBrake can still reduce the MP4-file to 38.8Mb
So it seems HandBrake IS NEEDED to reduce the size - right ?
You have to choose your quality settings for chosen codec (MP4) in Reaper's render dialog. The filesize will vary accordingly. In Handbrake it is set (bu default or depending on selected output ptrofile) to some value that makes smaller files.
So try different quality settings in Reaper and watch which are giving you the smallest size while still good picture.
That's it.
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 10:06 AM   #12
ksor
Human being with feelings
 
ksor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ┼rhus V, Denmark
Posts: 500
Default

Thx ... akademie !
__________________
Best regards
KSor, Denmark
ksor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 02:40 PM   #13
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,607
Default

MOV and MP4 are both container formats, and they are practically identical. So you can simply rename one to the other and it works. I do this all the time, even though it shouldn't really be necessary.

This also answers your (implicit) question about the file sizes. Yes, rendered from the exact same source with the exact same settings, MOV and MP4 will be the exact same size.

BTW... haven't we had this conversation before?
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 02:59 PM   #14
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 25,614
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
MOV and MP4 are both container formats, and they are practically identical. So you can simply rename one to the other and it works. I do this all the time, even though it shouldn't really be necessary.

This also answers your (implicit) question about the file sizes. Yes, rendered from the exact same source with the exact same settings, MOV and MP4 will be the exact same size.

BTW... haven't we had this conversation before?
Some things may have changed in newer reaper versions but in older V5 builds MP4/MOV were much larger files than they should be - I could render MKV then convert in handbrake to MP4 and end up with much smaller files with the same quality FWIW. Could be wrong though but it was the reply I received a couple years ago when I mentioned just renaming them. I don't render video from Reaper any longer so don't have a reference point now.
__________________
Clever is not the same as good, clever is from the head, good is from the heart. -Benmont Tench
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 08:35 PM   #15
ksor
Human being with feelings
 
ksor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ┼rhus V, Denmark
Posts: 500
Default

THX to all of you for your advices !

I now found a "Best practice" for MY SITUATION - by messing around with the settings I managed to reduce from "first try" 65Mb size to "last try" 17Mb for the same sequence of video ... anf I can't see no drop in quality - that's OK for my use !
__________________
Best regards
KSor, Denmark
ksor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2020, 08:46 PM   #16
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 733
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ksor View Post
Thx ... akademie !
You're welcome :-)


Quote:
Originally Posted by ksor View Post
THX to all of you for your advices !

I now found a "Best practice" for MY SITUATION - by messing around with the settings I managed to reduce from "first try" 65Mb size to "last try" 17Mb for the same sequence of video ... anf I can't see no drop in quality - that's OK for my use !
Glad you have it sorted.
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.