Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 01-01-2012, 02:10 PM   #1
jmmashi
Human being with feelings

Default Help new to Reaper - No Sound when connected to Midi

I am new to reaper, I have connected my Yamaha M08 as a a midi via my audio interface, when I try to record I get the red signal line moving but hear no sound I should see a green signal line which I do not can one help.

What I have realised is that I am not getting the sound when trying to play ther keyboard this is the problem.

Thanking You
Joe

Last edited by jmmashi; 01-01-2012 at 04:17 PM.
jmmashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 06:49 PM   #2
XonXoff

Forgive me if I'm wrong but I don't think you understand what midi is.

Midi contains no sound. Midi is a set of instructions to an instrument (either hardware or software) to play sounds. Think of the paper piano rolls of years ago that were fed into a piano which then played the tune. That's a kind of analogue pre-runner to midi.

So, either you need to route your midi input in Reaper out to a hardware synth (eg your Yamaha) or use a software instrument. You add those to a track just like any other effect. You may need to download one first though but there are plenty to try. I suggest something like "mda piano" to get you started.
XonXoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 01:25 AM   #3
ivansc

Read this answer in conjunction with your other thread - they are BOTH the same problem, which of course is good since you only have one issue to solve, not two!
Result!

Roland has a very good little booklet on MIDI which your friendly local Roland/Edirol dealer should be able to supply you for free.

If I recall it is called "the midi handbook"

I would offer you mine but I have lost it somewhere in the ocean of paperwork in the studio.

MUST have a spring clean.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 12:40 PM   #4
jmmashi

Quote:
Originally Posted by XonXoff View Post