Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > ReaScript, JSFX, REAPER Plug-in Extensions, Developer Forum

Old 08-15-2016, 02:31 PM   #1
tenfour
Human being with feelings

Default "tenfour-step", a new way to step-record MIDI

I have written a set of custom actions that improve my MIDI-editing workflow. I am relatively new to Reaper for MIDI work, and I've recently posted a handful of messages recently asking for help adapting my workflow to Reaper, and my solution was to write a few scripts to smooth out the process. Maybe someone else would be interested in these scripts, maybe Reaper developers would be interested to see a different workflow.

The scripts are here, including up-to-date / official documentation: https://github.com/thenfour/ReaperSc...r/tenfour-step
And a video to demonstrate it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=07gs0X6StM4

Copy "tenfour-step" to the Scripts directory, so you end up with something like: /Users/tenfour/Library/Application Support/REAPER/Scripts/tenfour-step

--------------------------------------------------------
The core of this library is a bunch of scripts for entering notes (or chords):

* tenfour-insertHeldNotesAtEditCursor_Thirtysecond.lua
* tenfour-insertHeldNotesAtEditCursor_Sixteenth.lua
* tenfour-insertHeldNotesAtEditCursor_Eighth.lua
* tenfour-insertHeldNotesAtEditCursor_Quarter.lua
* tenfour-insertHeldNotesAtEditCursor_Half.lua
* tenfour-insertHeldNotesAtEditCursor_Whole.lua

Each of these takes the notes you're currently playing on your MIDI keyboard, and inserts them in the MIDI editor at the edit cursor for various durations. Velocity is preserved as you played it. It advances the edit cursor, and adjusts the grid size as well to a sensible value.

If you aren't playing any notes, then the cursor is moved & grid size adjusted without adding any notes. Basically, you're inserting a rest.

Existing MIDI notes are preserved. If you try to overwrite MIDI data, the old data will stay there.