Old 11-07-2015, 10:03 AM   #1
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,809
Default REQ: Midi Editor: Select Chord under mouse.

Situation: Midi Item with several chords in it (triads or "bigger ones")

Hoover the mouse over a chord; be it the most upper note, the most lower, note, any note of that chord.

The requested action will then select all the notes of that Chord.
When the notes of a chord are not the very same in length, they still will be all selected, considering it is still a chord.

Maybe this action already exists .. but couldn't find it.
I am willing to pay generously !!
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 01:34 PM   #2
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,117
Default

For this kind of thing, I use this:
  • X-Raym_Select-Unselect all MIDI notes over mouse.eel
  • X-Raym_Select-Unselect all MIDI notes under mouse.eel
As shown in these screen capture:



Thread:
Script (EEL): Select-Unselect all MIDI notes with same pitch right of the mouse

Would that be ok ?
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 02:58 PM   #3
sambosun
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
For this kind of thing, I use this:
  • X-Raym_Select-Unselect all MIDI notes over mouse.eel
  • X-Raym_Select-Unselect all MIDI notes under mouse.eel
As shown in these screen capture:



Thread:
Script (EEL): Select-Unselect all MIDI notes with same pitch right of the mouse

Would that be ok ?
That looks great
sambosun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 02:22 AM   #4
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,809
Default

X-Raym_Select-Unselect all MIDI notes under mouse.eel


This one i was looking for : GREAT !!!!!
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 06:23 AM   #5
unmixed
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 142
Default

Was just going to ask you vanhaze how you were selecting all those chords & transposing them in your latest vid
unmixed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 06:26 AM   #6
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,809
Default

LOL, yeah, amazingly useful script !
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 06:34 AM   #7
unmixed
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 142
Default

Yeah i haven't got a full grasp of all these the scripts yet,there a workflow paradise
unmixed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 10:02 AM   #8
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,117
Default

cool that you like it !
The fun things is that they are not especially difficult scripts, but they do have a huge impact on the workflow.

I was wondering... is this behavior present in most other DAW ?
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 11:14 AM   #9
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,809
Default

I have worked with Logic, Cubase, Protools, still working with Ableton Live and as far as i know your script actions are not available in these DAWs as functionality.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 02:40 PM   #10
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,117
Default

Oh that's surprising.
So I'm glad this is in REAPER first :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 12:38 PM   #11
Halma
Human being with feelings
 
Halma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 281
Default

This one looks dang useful for me as I do mostly Midi editing. What a timesaver. Great job...again *sigh*.

Just curios: would it be possible to have something similar but this time with even/odd note position? Eg I wanna select the Root note and the third one but preserve the rest of the chord with the same elegance like your script. Any chance?
__________________
Underground Music Production: Sound Design, Machine Funk, High Tech Funk
Halma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 12:53 PM   #12
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,809
Default

As i come to think of it ; That would indeed be very useful indeed !

AFAIK , there are "only" X-Raym scripts for selecting root note of chord(s) or highest note of chord(s)

I find those 2 btw also pretty damn useful and i use them alot :0)
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 12:58 PM   #13
Halma
Human being with feelings
 
Halma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 281
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
As i come to think of it ; That would indeed be very useful indeed !

AFAIK , there are "only" X-Raym scripts for selecting root note of chord(s) or highest note of chord(s)

I find those 2 btw also pretty damn useful and i use them alot :0)
I spotted them a few minutes ago. Was not aware of them. Pretty nice scripts. Unfortunately I can't try them right now but will give them a shot tomorrow. Looking forward because I think those scripts alone will speed up my workflow even more.
__________________
Underground Music Production: Sound Design, Machine Funk, High Tech Funk
Halma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 01:09 PM   #14
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,809
Default

Sure they will !

I use alot of X-Raym's scripts ; they are just fantastic workflow improvements, which you can't find in other DAWs :0)
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 04:53 PM   #15
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,117
Default

@vanhaze
Thanks you so much for the support man :P

@Halma
Quote:
would it be possible to have something similar but this time with even/odd note position?
Without any doubt, it is scriptable, just by modding my scripts :P

Do you often need to select/unselect odd/even notes of a chord ?
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 01:45 AM   #16
Halma
Human being with feelings
 
Halma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 281
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
@vanhaze
Thanks you so much for the support man :P

@Halma

Without any doubt, it is scriptable, just by modding my scripts :P

Do you often need to select/unselect odd/even notes of a chord ?
Yup. In every single project. I am doing 100% of my midi stuff manually since the early 90s so you can say that I am used to it. Plus my 5 octave range keyboard is currently broken so this one would be a huge (!!!) timesaver for me. The only controller in my studio right now is my Akai MPD and it is a pita doing stuff like that eg playing chords with some transposed notes because of having 16 pads only.

But I am gonna try it on my own. Should be a good start learning to code. I have some other ideas that could benefit from it.

Cheers
Sebastian
__________________
Underground Music Production: Sound Design, Machine Funk, High Tech Funk
Halma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 02:35 AM   #17
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,809
Default

Good luck with learning !

Anxious to see your ideas as scripts !
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 04:44 AM   #18
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,117
Default

@Halma
Don't hesitate to ask if you need help !

Good luck !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 06:27 AM   #19
Halma
Human being with feelings
 
Halma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 281
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
@Halma
Don't hesitate to ask if you need help !

Good luck !
Thank you.

I already watched your Scripting Videos a few weeks ago. Wanna try LUA. I want to learn it for ages now (iirc when WOW came out 2004 I tried to script me an addon with LUA but utterly failed). I have some coding experience (Java while I studied some Bio Tech thingy 10 years ago and a lot of Basic in the 80s) so it´s not the structure or the fundamentals I am missing. It was more some kind of "missing passion" and a reason to start.

But after watching your videos I was so impressed (I really dig how you came up with the Console and all this GetItem and SetItem (iirc)) and already had some Ideas I wanted to try out so I think now is a good starting point in understanding and modding your scripts.

And if I am stuck I will ask for sure. Thanks for the offer.

Cheers
Sebastian
__________________
Underground Music Production: Sound Design, Machine Funk, High Tech Funk
Halma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 08:22 AM   #20
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,117
Default

Indeed, programming is better if it answers a need.
The MIDI scripts mentioned above are EEL, but you will have no problem to translate them into Lua, before implementing behavior modifications

Thanks for your criticism about my tutorial, it is nice to see they are useful !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 01:06 PM   #21
Halma
Human being with feelings
 
Halma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 281
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Indeed, programming is better if it answers a need.
The MIDI scripts mentioned above are EEL, but you will have no problem to translate them into Lua, before implementing behavior modifications

Thanks for your criticism about my tutorial, it is nice to see they are useful !
I already downloaded your script zip. Luckily I can open them on my iPad. Luckily because I have finally something useful to read while sitting on the couch with my girlfriend. I am tired of surfing the web and visiting the usual websites again and again without a chance going to my studio when an idea hits me. So I developed some kind of workflow what I can do while doing couchsurfing. And this one finally is some challenge.

Thx for such a clear and readable code and syntax and I already spotted some comments whoch is cool as well.

I will definitely get back to you soon because it looks more complicated at first than I thought of.

Have a nice evening.

Cheers
Sebastian
__________________
Underground Music Production: Sound Design, Machine Funk, High Tech Funk
Halma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 02:16 PM   #22
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,117
Default

@Halma
So you read my code on a couch just like it was a book ? I'm flattered :P

Quote:
Thx for such a clear and readable code and syntax and I already spotted some comments whoch is cool as well.
Code readability is important. I always imagine that I have to code for someone else, and that any script can be the template of another script, so I put a lot of comments. It also helps a lot during dev.
I also have some kind of implicit conventions (about indentations, case...).. but these evolves along my scripts.

Using a code editor that provides syntax highlight for Lua / EEL really helps to understand a code.

Quote:
I will definitely get back to you soon because it looks more complicated at first than I thought of.
Some scripts are more complex than others, and EEL is may not be not as readable than Lua.
Try to watch my scripting video, and it should already sounds more easy
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 02:33 PM   #23
Halma
Human being with feelings
 
Halma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 281
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
@Halma
So you read my code on a couch just like it was a book ? I'm flattered :P


Code readability is important. I always imagine that I have to code for someone else, and that any script can be the template of another script, so I put a lot of comments. It also helps a lot during dev.
I also have some kind of implicit conventions (about indentations, case...).. but these evolves along my scripts.

Using a code editor that provides syntax highlight for Lua / EEL really helps to understand a code.


Some scripts are more complex than others, and EEL is may not be not as readable than Lua.
Try to watch my scripting video, and it should already sounds more easy
It's not exactly "reading" but trying to get an overview about everything involved and how stuff is connected. So when I am sitting on my desktop the next time trying some stuff I can concentrate on more important aspects instead of figuring out what to do next.

Syntax highlight...thx for mentioning this. Totally forgot about that while taking a closer look at some of your scripts in "black and white" only.

And I will check out your videos again. I wont give up on this. Not this time. I want to customize my Reaper the way I need it when I need it.

And it is not bad in having a little bit of coding experience again.
__________________
Underground Music Production: Sound Design, Machine Funk, High Tech Funk
Halma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 04:42 PM   #24
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,117
Default

@Halma
Definitly find a code editor, pc or tablet, or web based, with syntax highlight color (or even use the build in reaper code editor)
No need to make it harder than it is :P
(note EEL would require ReaSyntax for Sublime text, but the Lua scripts could be colorized in any code editor which support Lua).
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.