Old 05-13-2019, 07:58 AM   #1
Olfdan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 16
Default Best way to remove tiny clicks

Hi!

I'm trying to find the best way to remove clicks from a 16 channel recording I'm in the midst of mixing. For some strange reason, new sound card..., there are clicks once in a while. I'm currently trying to figure out whats causing the clicks when recording.

But the clicks are there and I need to remove them. I have found several different ways to do that but they all seem kind of strange for me. I'm a long time Pro Tools user and in PT you just grab the pencil tools and rewrite the waveform if you want to remove a click.

So far I've found different ways of using volume controls to get rid of the click sound, or splitting the file and do a fade and so forth. Is this the best way of getting rid of clicks?

Are any way to just rewrite the waveform?
For me that would be the most straight forward way to do it.

Are there other ways to do it that I haven't found?

/O
Olfdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 08:07 AM   #2
Mottemania
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 79
Default

I think there was a script which opens the marked waveform and then you could "draw" clicks away like in PT. Don't ask me for a name

Otherwise I would try any De-Clicker?!
Mottemania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 08:08 AM   #3
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,437
Default

the 'best' way I have is in Adobe Audition which is one of my Ext. wav editors...

It has an autoheal function that just does it... fast and easy...

there are other plugins for click removal... and other noises cleaning... WAVES has a good set...

that pencil tool method is possible in reaper with this script:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=175701

you can get the lua here: [if you don't know what to do with it let us know]

https://github.com/EUGEN27771/ReaScr...mpleEditor.lua
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain

Last edited by hopi; 05-13-2019 at 08:17 AM.
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 08:35 AM   #4
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,179
Default

have you tried spectral edits in REAPER? It is non destructive.
It can be great for a few clicks here and there. But if you have hundreds, then a plugin solution may be faster
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 08:42 AM   #5
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,437
Default

this will get you started with various helpers:

https://www.google.com/search?client...10.3TZwOVHddaM

if you want an opinion, besides Abode Audtion which you can get on a per month basis rather cheaply, I'd say iZotope RX7 is the best there is.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain

Last edited by hopi; 05-13-2019 at 08:47 AM.
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 09:00 AM   #6
Olfdan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 16
Default

Thanks a lot for your help and suggestions!

I've tried to download the lua script but all I get is a document in plain text that Reaper doesn't load. I don't know why that happens.

I haven't tried spectral editing. I'll give that a try.

/O
Olfdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 09:10 AM   #7
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,437
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olfdan View Post
Thanks a lot for your help and suggestions!

I've tried to download the lua script but all I get is a document in plain text that Reaper doesn't load. I don't know why that happens.

I haven't tried spectral editing. I'll give that a try.

/O
Ok so you are not familiar with lua scripts it seems... a bit tricky but easy also... try this:

go back to that page... click on the link and click on the icon on that page until you see a page that is numbered on the left with lots of lines of text code...
Select all that text code... be sure to select ONLY the code... hit control+C to copy it...
Open a text editor... notepad will do
Paste that code into it and then do a Save As...
Name your saved file like this:
Wave Editor.lua.txt
...go to where you saved it... remove the .txt from the file name so it only says: Wave Editor.lua

Copy or cut and paste into your Scripts folder that is in your Reaper resources folder...

Open the actions list and find the button to load reascript... clk that and navigate to that file in the Scripts folder and tell it OK...
Now it will show up in the Actions list like anyother action... you can assign it a hot key if you like or just dbl clk it or select it and clk on Run

You have to have a wav file selected and a small time selection on that item where you want to edit it...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 09:16 AM   #8
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,850
Default

Zoom into the waveform where you hear a click.
If you see what looks like the waveform suddenly sliced off - like part of it was sliced out and the following audio butted up against it.
That's a digital dropout. It makes a click where the waveform is no longer continuous where the dropout occurred.

If on the other hand, you see continuous waveforms with the clicks superimposed on them - like the recording includes clicks.
Then it's some interference being recorded.

If it's the former (dropouts), you're going to want to investigate what's going wrong with your clocking. Do you have the master clock for the system selected properly? If you're connecting multiple digital devices, is everything in sync to the master clock correctly? If not operator error, start investigating any digital audio cabling.

You don't want to ignore gross digital dropouts if that's the root cause. Especially because there's likely a solution involving sample rate clocking setup.


As for the corrupted recording...
I'll put in another good word for iZotope RX.
Especially if these are digital dropout related clicks, you'll be able to dial iZotope RX in to remove only the clicks pretty easily.
You might even be none the wiser that there was ever a problem with the final result.

Look into fixing the root cause of this though. If it's dropouts, there will be a jitter effect from the non linearity introduced in the flow of time. Depth of field and sweetness of the sound start to collapse with that kind of stuff.

And of course, only go after fixing something like this if there's no chance to rerecord. A special performance. A great night with a live show. A musician on a studio project who might not be easy to book for a redo session. Just nailed a part and you're not redoing it and that's final! That kind of thing.
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 10:03 AM   #9
Olfdan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 16
Default

Serr!

The waveform looks like this (see attachments), when it occurs. It's only once in a while. What happened was that I bought a Focusrite Clarett 4pre. I connected that to my RME Octamic D. I've used a RME Fireface 400 earlier and before that a DIGI003. Without any problems at all.

I usually let the Octamic D be the master and Fireface 400 slave. When connecting the Focusrite it didn't work to let the Octamic D be master. I only got 4 channels to work instead of 8. When I turned that around and made Focusrite master i got 8 channels, I recorded in 48khz/24bit.

Everything seemed to sync, no error messages anywhere. When I checked the Focusrite control software everything looked just fine. Both the Clarett and Octamic D indicated that they were in sync.

I have been in contact with Focusrite and there are some things that I need to investigate with my computer settings. I have since read that I'm not the only one that have experienced clicks with Focusrite Clarett and Scarlett.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot 2019-05-13 kl. 18.44.21.png (6.3 KB, 29 views)
File Type: png Screenshot 2019-05-13 kl. 18.44.42.png (5.7 KB, 22 views)
Olfdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 10:39 AM   #10
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,437
Default

you will easily be able to fix those you show with the lua script...

don't be afraid of my instructions or if they seem too hard send me a PM and I'll set you up with the script editor.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 11:28 AM   #11
Olfdan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 16
Default

Hopi!

Your instructions did the trick! I managed to download and install the reascript. I've tried the wave editor and it was very easy and straight forward to use. Thanks a lot!
/O
Olfdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 12:55 PM   #12
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,437
Default

oh great.... I'm happy that it works for you and your needs....

good to keep in mind that reaper is such an open ended creature and that many things you might want are there as scripts, and actions and combinations of the two as user made custom actions....

It is a different way of each user being able to add what they think is important to them.

I hope you do have the SWS extensions and also Reapack?

and then also that you know how to add things to both menus and toolbars...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 01:12 PM   #13
Olfdan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 16
Default

Hi!

Yes, I have the SWS extensions and Reapack. I have also managed to do some useful actions that helps my workflow, and also add those to the toolbar.

You are completely right saying "open ended creature". For me as a newbie it was overwhelming just to figure out the simplest thing. But I'm slowly getting the hang of it. I knew that the learning curve would be steep. I have no problems with that.

I must say that the Reaper community has been most helpful. Users like yourself and others who where friendly enough to help out.
/O
Olfdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 01:56 PM   #14
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,782
Default

maybe also useful:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=76320
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 05:51 AM   #15
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,850
Default

OK, not seeing waveforms in those examples that have obviously had a section of time sliced out like you would get from missing data from a dropout. Instead it's like the signal momentarily goes to zero (hard enough to click) but the time flow is still continuous.

I'd still look for digital clocking mayhem somewhere in the system. Those are still dropouts and digital in origin. If this were interference or static it would be a spike overlaid on the signal. Not little sections of zero.
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 09:31 AM   #16
Olfdan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 16
Default

Thanks Serr! That's what I suspected. As I mentioned I've read on forums that I'm not the only one that have had this issues with Focusrite Clarett and Scarlett. I think there must be something with the driver or the device itself. I'll investigate this further.
Olfdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.