Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Live Use

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2017, 05:54 PM   #1
eisenfarn
Human being with feelings
 
eisenfarn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: South Wales
Posts: 26
Default Anyone using Reaper with a live band?

Hi, I'm in a 5 piece band, part of our set includes some sequences running on a Yamaha Motif ES keyboard. The Motif is brilliant at this, ultra stable and of course the transport buttons are right in front of me. I would really like to include some audio such as backing vocals, sound effects etc to our gigs, the only way I am going to be able to do this is to link up a DAW such as Reaper via MTC to the keyboard.

Is anyone using this kind of setup?
eisenfarn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 06:01 PM   #2
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,881
Default

I think it's fairly common using Ableton or Logic, not so much Reaper, but it will work.

All you need to do is hook up the Motif via MIDI to the computer, where you can either use the computer to control patch changes / sequence starts or link those to MIDI so that you can stash the computer somewhere out of sight and control it from the Motif.

There are SWS action sets that will help to set up songs for you, I'm not savvy in that myself so I'll let someone else chime in - but essentially you can trigger a whole slew of patch changes and do things like set loop points on the fly so you can vamp sections.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 06:27 PM   #3
eisenfarn
Human being with feelings
 
eisenfarn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: South Wales
Posts: 26
Default

Hi, sounds good, I can sync up to reaper using MTC no problem, it's changing songs on Reaper will be a pain, if I can't do this smoothly I'll need to look for something else. Thanks
eisenfarn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 07:16 PM   #4
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,094
Default

http://pipelineaudio.net/reaper-live/
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 08:01 PM   #5
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,668
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eisenfarn View Post
it's changing songs on Reaper will be a pain, if I can't do this smoothly I'll need to look for something else.
I built my own custom script and web interface to help with this. It might be useful to you too: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=181159.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.