Old 04-16-2014, 11:54 PM   #1
godly
Human being with feelings
 
godly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium - Gent
Posts: 680
Default Reaper as live VST host with SWS

I know this has been asked a zillion times before, but it's still not clear to me. (me stuppido )
And I go crazy reading a 1000 forum posts again to find my answers.
So I give it a try here.

I'm looking at SWS for live use with Reaper.
I now tried Cantabille, Forte and Intone, but due to bugs I need to find better solutions.
You can't afford crashes on stage !

Cantabile has very good low latency (Forte very high on my system) but has some snapshot and settings bug, Intone is ok, but crashes after half our of use every time (I rebuild my presets but the problem keeps coming)

Some questions with SWS and Live Configs
- Can I save a track/song/setlist?
- Can I rearange them before a concert
- Can I select a list by: program change and/or numeric pad for quick selection on stage (or maybe assign keys for next, previous).
- Is there a playlist screen you can follow live?
- Can it remember de location of the plugins on screen (and on/off state)
- Can I show just the vsts, the playlist and maybe a very small resized reaper
- How about starting up? Fast or slow? Switching between songs?
- Reliable?

Sorry for the many questions, I've been going through the docs but it's not sure to me, and I've tried to many option over and over now with the other software to find a reliable live host.

Is there any easy setting or info to find for all this?
Any experiences?
And if so would somebody be so kind to share the config file as starters?

Last edited by godly; 04-17-2014 at 12:06 AM.
godly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 12:00 AM   #2
godly
Human being with feelings
 
godly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium - Gent
Posts: 680
Default

I'm digging in live configs now
Hope to find some answers
http://sws.mj-s.com/download/S&M_LiveConfigs_Ed2.pdf
godly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 03:28 AM   #3
godly
Human being with feelings
 
godly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium - Gent
Posts: 680
Default

I don't see any way to add keyboard split (zones) or velocity layers in Live configs?
godly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 05:35 AM   #4
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,782
Default

Regarding key splits, maybe this plugin is useful

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=138490
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 05:45 AM   #5
godly
Human being with feelings
 
godly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium - Gent
Posts: 680
Default

yes yes looks promissing
Pitty BloXpander doesn't cover my needs, I was very interested in it.
godly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.